We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Irish”

Playwright Tavern & Restaurant
Ranked #1,366 of 14,911 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile

I had a hard time choosing between the Irish stew and Shepard's Pie. The Irish stew won! And it was delicious just like I remembered the stew in Ireland. Large pieces of lamb meat, tender as possible, with veggies and stew served in a bread bowl. Delicious! And great service!

Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi Susan,

We're delighted that you enjoyed our Irish stew! It's definitely a hard decision choosing between that and the Shepard's pie, but either way you won't be disappointed! Thank you so much for your review. We'll be waiting for you until your next visit!

Cheers,
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 316 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2017

During my visit here in NYC, I visited Playwright Tavern a couple times for some good spirits & conversation with friends of mine. The Playwright Tavern atmosphere was chilled/relaxing without the LOUD crowd noise like the CLUB Scenes. Bartenders were very friendly & prompt serving drinks accordingly. I did not get a chance to eat the food their but it looked amazing when they brought out different dishes & smelled delicious. If you want a nice chilled atmosphere without the loud chaos of a club & still be able to enjoy some good spirits/food....this place is perfect. I will definitely come back to the Playwright Tavern when I'm back in the Big Apple :-)

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Yvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2017

Hi Yvette!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We pride ourselves for being a cozy, local establishment We're so happy to hear that you are satisfied with the drinks and the service time and time again at the Playwright Tavern. We hope that you will always visit us whenever you're in New York City!

Cheers,
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2017

We went there after seeing Phantom & The Tree. Great end to a fantastic, cold day. It's on W. 49th St.
We were directed to go upstairs because the bar street level was packed. The second floor was packed but we did get a table. The tables are close together but it's just a fun place & you expect it. Our server Jackie was great. We ordered 2 Casey Burgers with fries @ $15.00 each, one iced tea & a draught Beer. Our bill came to $41.92, which I thought was a bargain for NYC. The bathrooms were up another flight of stairs & there was more tables up there & apparently yet another floor after that. They do private parties. I would go there again.
Burgers were great. Only downside was the steps. If you have a knee replacement, that's a lot of stairs to climb...would still go back again.

Thank Gra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2017

Hi Gra,

We're so sorry about all the steps, but we hope that doesn't stop you from visiting us again! Thank you for complimenting the burgers, and the Playwright Tavern in general. It really was a pleasure to serve you. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Until next time,
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017

This was a multi visit venue during our stay in New York. As walk-ins we were not sure what we were getting into but venturing upstairs to the generous dining area we calmed ourselves and grabbed a table for 6 near the till. Business was brisk and New York passed by through the picture windows onto the street below making the city buzz more real. We all ordered burgers of one variety or another and we were all absolutely blown away by the quality and presentation. Fair play guys that food was excellent. Toilet accommodation is a little mean and queueing outside trying to look nonchalant was not easy with the Christmas tree and staircase down o the bar in close proximity.

But would recommend all day long as a great spot for lunch for a hungry group of travellers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Hi John,

"Burger Heaven" is exactly how we'd like to be known! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We're so happy that you and your friends were satisfied with your meals. We do apologize about the wait for the restroom. Thank you all for doing us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2017

when we first went to new York about 6 years ago this was one of the first irish places we went to for drinks and food and go back each time drinks food lovely staff very friendly and helpful

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pamelairwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Hello there!

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for visiting the Playwright Tavern time and time again. It's always a pleasure to have you!

Sincerely,
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playwright Tavern & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Playwright Tavern & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing