We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 1/2 Stars really. Good location, nice atmosphere, pleasant staff, average food”

Playwright Tavern & Restaurant
Ranked #1,389 of 14,396 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Dropped by here on a Sunday night around 9 pm. Fairly busy but relaxed. We grabbed a table by the Broadway window and ordered drinks from a bartender a little too embroiled in chat with a group to serve me immediately. We sorted the drinks and food order. The food was OK. Nothing to dance in the streets about. The service continued to be friendly. We left happy. What more do you want?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spotbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hello,

We're glad to hear that you and your guests left happy! Thank you so much for your feedback. We would love to have you again so that you can sample more of our dishes and drinks!

Cheer,
Playwright Tavern Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

After a long day of walking, we ended up eating here more out of desperation than anything. There was a musician playing so entertainment was good. However, the food was expensive and AWFUL!! It is frozen food warmed up and they charge way too much for poor quality. Family of four paid $115 for an appetizer and three meals of chicken fingers and chicken sandwich. Worst meal we had in NYC. And the bus boy, or water boy, was very rude.

1  Thank Beachgirl6515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hello,

We are truly sorry to hear about your experience at the Playwright Tavern. We can assure you that our food is prepared fresh daily, with no frozen products. Our prices are on par with other establishments in the area. Nevertheless, we apologize about your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope that you will join us for live music on the weekends.

Sincerely,
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

I had a hard time choosing between the Irish stew and Shepard's Pie. The Irish stew won! And it was delicious just like I remembered the stew in Ireland. Large pieces of lamb meat, tender as possible, with veggies and stew served in a bread bowl. Delicious! And great service!

Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi Susan,

We're delighted that you enjoyed our Irish stew! It's definitely a hard decision choosing between that and the Shepard's pie, but either way you won't be disappointed! Thank you so much for your review. We'll be waiting for you until your next visit!

Cheers,
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

During my visit here in NYC, I visited Playwright Tavern a couple times for some good spirits & conversation with friends of mine. The Playwright Tavern atmosphere was chilled/relaxing without the LOUD crowd noise like the CLUB Scenes. Bartenders were very friendly & prompt serving drinks accordingly. I did not get a chance to eat the food their but it looked amazing when they brought out different dishes & smelled delicious. If you want a nice chilled atmosphere without the loud chaos of a club & still be able to enjoy some good spirits/food....this place is perfect. I will definitely come back to the Playwright Tavern when I'm back in the Big Apple :-)

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Yvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hi Yvette!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We pride ourselves for being a cozy, local establishment We're so happy to hear that you are satisfied with the drinks and the service time and time again at the Playwright Tavern. We hope that you will always visit us whenever you're in New York City!

Cheers,
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We went there after seeing Phantom & The Tree. Great end to a fantastic, cold day. It's on W. 49th St.
We were directed to go upstairs because the bar street level was packed. The second floor was packed but we did get a table. The tables are close together but it's just a fun place & you expect it. Our server Jackie was great. We ordered 2 Casey Burgers with fries @ $15.00 each, one iced tea & a draught Beer. Our bill came to $41.92, which I thought was a bargain for NYC. The bathrooms were up another flight of stairs & there was more tables up there & apparently yet another floor after that. They do private parties. I would go there again.
Burgers were great. Only downside was the steps. If you have a knee replacement, that's a lot of stairs to climb...would still go back again.

Thank Gra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hi Gra,

We're so sorry about all the steps, but we hope that doesn't stop you from visiting us again! Thank you for complimenting the burgers, and the Playwright Tavern in general. It really was a pleasure to serve you. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Until next time,
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playwright Tavern & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Playwright Tavern & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing