We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the second time I have been to Playwright Tavern and Restaurant on visits to NYC. The food is simple, well-prei”

Playwright Tavern & Restaurant
Ranked #1,409 of 14,316 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Reviewed 8 May 2017

I love the multi-level building with bars everywhere and a cozy tavern atmosphere with the open deck on top.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hi Leslie!

Thank you so much for writing this review. We're glad you could return to the Playwright Tavern! We appreciate it. We hope to see you again!

Cheers!
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2017

Stopped in for a late lunch and enjoyed the quietness of the bar which provided some much needed respite from the hustle and bustle of Times Square. The food was tasty and not too over priced (it is Times Square so expect to pay more no matter where you go!) would definitely eat there again and they have live music late nights.

Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hi Heather!

We're so happy that you enjoyed your meal with us! Times Square can be quite overwhelming, so we're be happy to provide an oasis! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to your next visit!

Cheers,
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stopped off here a number of times on our 4nt break to whet our whistle. It also plays sports on the tv which was great for the hubby. It always had a good crowd in it, I reckon a mixture of locals and tourists. The bar food was very tasty and great for lunch or snacks in the evening. Also the Irish bar man was good craic and attentive with service.

Thank Misswoo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Hello!

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself at our establishment. It always makes us happy to hear that our customers left the Playwright Tavern happy. We would love for you and your husband to visit us again soon.

Cheers,
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Dropped by here on a Sunday night around 9 pm. Fairly busy but relaxed. We grabbed a table by the Broadway window and ordered drinks from a bartender a little too embroiled in chat with a group to serve me immediately. We sorted the drinks and food order. The food was OK. Nothing to dance in the streets about. The service continued to be friendly. We left happy. What more do you want?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spotbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hello,

We're glad to hear that you and your guests left happy! Thank you so much for your feedback. We would love to have you again so that you can sample more of our dishes and drinks!

Cheer,
Playwright Tavern Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

After a long day of walking, we ended up eating here more out of desperation than anything. There was a musician playing so entertainment was good. However, the food was expensive and AWFUL!! It is frozen food warmed up and they charge way too much for poor quality. Family of four paid $115 for an appetizer and three meals of chicken fingers and chicken sandwich. Worst meal we had in NYC. And the bus boy, or water boy, was very rude.

1  Thank Beachgirl6515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCRestaurant1, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Hello,

We are truly sorry to hear about your experience at the Playwright Tavern. We can assure you that our food is prepared fresh daily, with no frozen products. Our prices are on par with other establishments in the area. Nevertheless, we apologize about your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope that you will join us for live music on the weekends.

Sincerely,
Playwright Tavern Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playwright Tavern & Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Playwright Tavern & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing