We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Solita Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solita Soho Hotel
Ranked #353 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The Solita Soho is a great place to stay. The staff is always so helpful and courteous, the location is amazing, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. For my needs there could not be a better place to stay in lower Manhattan. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonsigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    203
    70
    34
    22
See reviews for
103
111
38
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Be it your first time, or a regular visitor, the Solita is a wonderful place to stay for location alone. This little boutique is modern, clean, and staffed by some very friendly knowledgeable people genuinely interested in the seeing that you have a great time on your visit. Transportation between the airport and hotel is relatively easy, the check-in and check-out were a breeze, leaving you relaxed and focused on whatever brings you to New York.

Located in Lower Manhattan, it sits at an apex of several areas of the city putting the Lower Eastside, Greenwich Village, Meatpacking District, Broadway, Canal Street, Little Italy, East Village, West Village, Chinatown, WTC, Financial District,etc. all within walking distance. Several subway lines make stops at Canal Street and within the general vicinity of the hotel, leaving you with basically the entire city at your disposal in a matter of minutes.

Rooms are clean and reasonably priced, cleaning staff unobtrusive but prompt, and again the staff - who were very helpful arranging transportation, providing directions or suggestions for sight seeing, shopping, dining and night life.

I definitely have the Solita in mind for my coming return visit to New York.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OscarTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed at the Solita SoHo for the first time. The staff at the front desk was more than helpful with sights to see, subway help for 1st time users and where to eat. The location was incredible ! Loved walking into Little Italy and Chinatown at night after a busy day uptown and getting a Gelato and coffee. The downsides to this hotel we found was the size. For a family of 4, two being teenage girls that love to "pack" a different outfit forevery occasion, there wasn't enough room for our lugguge. We were ontop of each other while in the room getting ready to go out. My husband spent ALOT of time waiting in the lobby or standing in the hallway. We had a room fasing Grand street on the 2nd floor. It was very noisey with traffic, hearing ppl talking outside and you feel the subway running underground.....Alot ! The staff said you can feel the vibration clear to the 11th floor. Now cleanliness, in our case was not good. we arrived to our room with a used plastic cup on the windowsill, girls noticed lipstick "kiss marks" on a wall, doors and light switches were dirty. I just think it really needed a GOOD wash down. We didn't mind it only having one elevator. Since we were just on the 2nd floor we used the stairs. If the staff wouldn't of been so nice I probably wouldn't reccomend this hotel. I would definitely return, if they clean the rooms better and I take just one other person with me.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I stayed in the Solita Soho Hotel in November 2011. It was an excellent choice. The location is very convenient to the subway. The hotel is only a block from all the shopping on Broadway (where all the typical clothing outlets have a branch.. Guess, Banana Republic, Old Navy, Victoria's Secret, Hollister...). The hotel is also just one block from the most charming neighbourhood in New York. Prince Street, Spring Street and the surrounding area encompass countless bars, restaurants, clothes boutiques, jewellery shops... There is so much to see and explore in this area that really captures the charm and varity of new york. Two blocks the other direction bring you in to the sights and sounds of Little Italy and China town.

The hotel itself is relatively small (40 - 50 rooms). We asked for 2 double beds. The beds were not large enough to be called a double, but they were certainly larger than a single bed. The beds themselves were quite simply the most comfortable I have experienced. The mattress, bed linen etc was such that you felt like you were sleeping on a cloud.. There was adequate room in the room for two people (a desk and wardrobe were comfortably faciliated). The staff in the hotel were lovely, very accommodating (organising a car to the airport for us at the end of our trip and assisting us with directions. The shower/bathroom facilities were faultless (hot water available at all times).

The location was quiet and with only 3 - 4 rooms on each floor, you are unlikely to be woken by your neighbours.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Booked through ChoiceHotels.com and prepaid for lowest rate.

Located at the edge of SoHo. About a 3 minute walk to subway at Canal Street. We walked to 9-11 Memorial - about 20 minutes down Broadway.

Front desk was friendly and easy check in. Hotel is very, very small. Two full beds with down comforter (not the highest quality, but sufficient). Heater worked well. Black and white modern decor. Small flat screen TV (we've never once used a TV in NYC). Room is quite small, but adequate for sleeping, which is all you should be doing in a NYC hotel. Small desk. No closet, but small wardrobe. Iron & ironing board. Hair dryer. WONDERFUL dual large, adjustable shower heads and curved shower rod. Sink is located in the bathroom. No fan. Spa-type toiletries. VERY HOT water. Coffee maker in room.

Elevator. Our room was street view, which we love. Yes it is noisy. The only window coverings are Roman shades, which do not block all light.

We were able to check baggage upon check-out. My only concern with the hotel was regarding this. They do not have locked storage. Our bags, including shopping bags were stowed in a back hallway. There is no foot traffic in this area, however, anyone could take them if the one-person front desk staff was distracted.


Excellent diner across the street for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarfishandSeashells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

What an amazing place. Perfect location! Little Italy, Chinatown, Subway and even Battery Park all within walking distance. Great dining and shopping in SOHO right outside your door. Yes, the rooms are small like most NYC hotels,but I was quite satisfied with the bathroom and counter space.

Truly what sets this place apart is the staff. I wish I rememeber all their names, but Jaimie in particular and the young man during the day were exceptional. We had taxis, car service to the aiport, reservations. directions, dining suggestions all handeled by the staff without any bother. They followed up with us several times to ensure our special requests had been met.

Thank you Solito Soho for a comfortable, safe and memorable experience.

My only negative is that their needs to be some deep cleaning-corners, vents, but otherwise rooms were clean and beds were VERY comfortable. We will return!

Room Tip: ask for a room on an upper floor ,for both a better view and further away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CObear719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed at the Solita for the second time this past weekend. Such a nice little hotel. The beds were very comfortable. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the place was very clean. Great shower and water pressure. The rooms are small like most NYC hotel rooms but they come with a safe and free wii fi. The neighborhood has great restaurants and shopping, Little Italy and Chinatown. There is a wonderful little Chinese bakery about a block away on Centre St. called the Fayda. We had great coffee and pastries there every day for a very small price. There is a nice little French restaurant right next door (Paragot) and a great Thai place (Thai Angel) a block west on Grand St. that serves lunch specials until 6:00 p.m. Subway stations are close and convenient. Compared to other places we were looking at, the price was very good as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VBPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
CITY ROOMS+ NYC Soho
CITY ROOMS+ NYC Soho
#354 of 466 in New York City
111 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#222 of 466 in New York City
888 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#167 of 466 in New York City
2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#79 of 466 in New York City
873 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#321 of 466 in New York City
1,922 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#130 of 466 in New York City
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solita Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solita Soho Hotel

Property: Solita Soho Hotel
Address: 159 Grand St, New York City, NY 10013-3119 (Formerly Clarion Collection The Solita Soho Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solita Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Solita SoHo is a boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown New York City. The hotel is just steps away from traditional New York areas such as Little Italy, Chinatown, and the famous SoHo shopping.The Solita puts you right into the heart of SoHo where you get the true New York feel with its eclectic restaurants, nightlife, museums, shopping, and culture.We invite you to try this area of New York City out with us and let us know what true New York feels like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Solita Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection New York City
Clarion New York City
New York City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing