We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't bother - they don't seem to care” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gramercy Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
Ranked #89 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother - they don't seem to care”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

It started with the arrival. After a long transatlantic flight you would hope that your room is ready by 2pm. Clearly it was not, which happens but the real disappointment was the incompetent approach to managing this situation. All the girl behind the reception offered was to take my mobile number and give me a call when the room was ready, but she wouldn't say if this was going to be 15min or 2 hours! They only offered to store our luggage after we suggested it and it was put onto a luggage trolley and left in lobby until I insisted a couple of times for it to be removed to a safe area. Never were we offered a drink or a table at the bare or any other form of courtesy and they effectively showed us the door by suggesting that the neighbourhood offered nice walks.

The room could not make up for the poor experience we had upon arrival, actually it amplified our dissatisfaction. It is not the small size of the room or the lack of natural light that threw me - I have been in NYC hotels before after all. It was the shabby, stained furniture, with marks all over them, the lack artificial light, that really surprised me (I am a regular traveller and stay in hotels 1-2 nights a week), as it did not even reach 4-star level in my view. Further, I am the only guy in the world travelling with appliances such as mobile phones, tablets and PCs? The room did not have a spare socket, other than in the bathroom. So I had to choose whether I wanted to use the lamp on the desk or the charge my phone and camera and I found myself moving furniture and tracing cables and leads to their origin. The worst however was the noise coming from the AC - if you want to cool your room it is like a 747 is landing in the room. I don't believe that I have ever experienced so much ambient noise in any hotel I have ever stayed in.

There are also a number of small details, which to me demonstrate that the hotel staff does not seem to care. Such as blinds which do no longer role down, a king bed-room where there is only one bathrobe in the bathroom etc.

On saturday morning we where up early, clearly jet-lagged and kept awake by the AC, which we never managed to turn-off completely, and we arrived at the restaurant at 7.20am, to find out that the 5-star Gramercy Hotel does not provide for guests before 7.30am. I hoped that the staff, who seemed to have the restaurant ready, would be able to let us sit already and have a cup of coffee, but they turned us away - we were clearly an inconvenience for them.

And did I mention that the roof terrace was closed for renovation during our stay? Clearly nobody bothered to tell us during the reservation nor during check-in. We were really glad to leave on Monday morning and at the check-in the girl did not even ask if I had enjoyed the stay - clearly they don't care.

Do yourself a favour and send you money with people who do.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    250
    98
    49
    31
See reviews for
235
460
90
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Beautiful hotel, greatly decorated with wonderful art. Amazing terrace where breakfast is served, really cozy rooms with top quality beds. A bit uninspired staff, not really giving a damn when we had complaints about a 'complimentary breakfast' being nothing but coffee in a paper cup. That would be my only real complaint, it's quite low value (Internet is being charged for, usd20/day! In a five star hotel, with five star pricing), and the service is not at the level you'd expect, but we might return anyways, just enter the lobby, the way it smells.. the feeling of that great room, the whole hotel has that feeling and it's something you'd want to return to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I just stayed at the Gramercy Park Hotel for one night. I have to say I enjoy the small Boutique feeling this hotel offers. From the Minute I check in I was greet with warm welcome feeling from the staff at the front desk.

I do plan to return to this hotel next month end of May thur June 7 2012
I am sure I will have another great experience and top service.

My room was facing the park and enjoy the comfort from the bed to the food offered

I would suggest this hotel to friends and family

Room Tip: Park View is the best !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale8695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

As a couple who'd been missing each other this was the perfect place to spend a long and lazy weekend. The suite was fantastic, well appointed and decorated with good lighting and environment.

Certainly expensive but worth it for the experience. Location is great and the staff were extreamly professional and friendly.

Room Tip: You may not want a higher floor as the view of the park is great if you're nearer the ground (st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore,MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I've been looking at this hotel for a few years and finally found a great deal though my travel agent. My wife and I do not like staying in Mid Town or Times Square for several reasons mainly due to tourists and the crowds. We like to stay in neighborhoods that feel like you can become a part of time while traveling.

We pulled up the hotel at 4:30pm on Thursday and their was no one to help us with our bags or point us to check in. Not the end of the world, but not what I was expecting. Check in was pretty simple, my request for a high floor was granted and then some computers issues we where put on the 3rd floor. I would suggest a high floor like other reviewers have mentioned to get a way from the street noise and get a better view.

The room was decent size for NYC standards. Great black out blinds, good size bathroom and the AC was really good.
Our room 305 looked worn in places, not what you would expect from a hotel of this nature.
I took a shower and immediately noticed that the shower head was spitting water and really dripping on my head. Again, not would I would expect from this hotel.

We did try Maialino for drinks and snacks. It was very good. You can go grab coffee which is very good at the bar anytime. It's Coffee Culture which is fantastic if you have not had it.
The food was solid, we only had snacks. Service top notch.
Room service was really a downer. We had complementary continental breakfast each day. This was nice to be able to grab coffee and OJ while getting ready. The baked goods where bland.

The concierge was super easy to work with and made every effort to book reservations and provide suggestions when asked. If you are not familiar with NYC, I would ask then for help and ideas.

Overall, I loved the convenience to lower Manhattan. We really did enjoy the hotel and if it had not been sold out, we would have switched rooms. Each hotel has a few rooms with some problems, I felt 305 was that room. Both my wife and I agree we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a high floor to avoid street noise and get a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captpablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

A gem of a hotel! Classic in styling with superior room amenities- you'll love the mini bar and bath products. We love this neighborhood and have stayed at several nearby hotels- this one is best for luxury hotels as far as comfort, quiet rooms, and private Gramercy Park access- a nice treat after an exhausting day of touring the city. Concierge was helpful with business transactions adn the Maialano Restaurant is a must do for Sunday brunch.

Lighting is a little dark for reading in bed but otherwise- awesome!

Room Tip: Dont worry about the courtyard view- such a great nights sleep- nice and quiet- no sirens! The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Good if your going to sleep!! The rooms are SO dark - rubbish for anyone who is there for business and rubbish for getting dressed!!!

Nice rooftop area for breakfast
Nice restaurant in the hotel and
Nice bar

Cute overall...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#46 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#146 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#48 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#114 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#128 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Property: Gramercy Park Hotel
Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-5487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing