We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value, brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Ranked #360 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Essex, England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“very good value, brilliant location”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

this hotel is right on fifth ave, about 10 min walk from time square. such a good spot to stay, as everything is in walking distance - apart from Statue of Liberty of course! hotel was clean, quiet and delicious breakfasts!! the rooms a modest, but exactly what you want from a hotel in NY, as you won't be spending much ime there due to shopping and site seeing

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qotsa_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    542
    212
    71
    60
See reviews for
396
325
75
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel. The best thing about it is the location. The only complaint we have is that we (my wife and me) were sent to Room 702, 7th floor, and the rest of the rooms were occupied by young dutch people which were extremely noisy.
They spent the whole night running from one room to the other, talking loud, slamming doors, etc.
We called the front desk and they remained silent for a while but as soon as security took off, they went back to the same behavior.
This nightmare could have been prevented by sending us to stay at another floor but the staff did nothing.
Be aware that being so close to Times Square means that people will be staying there til late at night and when they return to their rooms, they'll wake you up since you can literally hear anything that goes on in your floor, at least that's the case on the 7th where we were staying.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golflover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel is in an ideal location.
We were there around the 7th Feb and yes there was a little bit of construction going on but not enough to make me think about not going there.
This is a fine hotel, clean and we thought the employees were friendly and considerate.
The breakfast is also ok. You cant expect the hilton when you only pay medium prices.
I would be quite happy staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetravelling51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night (thankfully!) on our trip to NYC this past February. When we arrived, we weren't sure if we were in the right place because there was scaffolding all around the front entry and the lobby was under construction. It would've been nice to have been notified that the hotel is under construction because we probably would've avoided it. I couldn't believe when the staff member told us our room was on the lower level (AKA...the basement!!). I thought...this has to be a joke! We went down one floor to what we ended up referring to as "the dungeon". There are 3 rooms down there, and it is ICE cold! The rooms are teeny, which we didn't really care about, but the window was looking out to the ground level which meant anyone could go back there and look through our window! I happened to look at the fire escape directions...which are completely inaccurate and don't make sense. When I mentioned this to the staff member they said that in order to get to the stairs in case of a fire, we had to go through a door marked "staff only". The only good part of our stay was the location (2 blocks from times square!), and the continental breakfast was really great! If we ever went back, I would have to request a room NOT in the basement!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We travelled to NYC for my partner's 21st birthday, finding the hotel to be in a good location, only a couple of blocks (lengthways) from Times Sq. and Broadway (plus Subway access), with a decent deli down the street and a range of dining and drinking options very close by: Everything from italian and spanish restaurants to classic Irish pubs to adequate takeaways, all within 2 minutes walking distance.

The room was basic, and quite small, but comfortable, with easily operatable heating and air-con (however it was hard to avoid making it too hot or too cold without a bit of fiddling around). The showerroom facilities were fair, with the usual amenities of soap and shower gel, as was the tea and filter coffee tray, and the tv.

Outside of the room, however, the hotel failed to maintain its quality. The reception staff were frequently disinterested, and the room safes advertised were not available for any of the full fortnight we were there, despite placement on a waiting list for the key at the beginning of our stay. Unfortunately, they still held by their policy of non-liability for theft of personal belongings not kept in the safe.

This would not usually concern me too much, had it not been for the receptionist initially giving me a room key for an occupied room, where I walked in and immediately saw personal belongings and cash on the table. Security in the hotel seems very lax, especially as one guest i got talking to said the same thing had happened when they checked in.

The breakfasts were mediocre, in a fairly cramped space, with a small self-service selection of lorne saussage, low quality cheese omlette, various iced buns and pancakes. There was no continental or healthy option apart from a mushy (perhaps canned) fruit salad.

After hearing about the referbishments going on in the lobby area, all I can hope is that they are extending the kitchen area to accommodate a better quality of dining experience. However those hopes are fleeting.

For the location, I would reccommend this hotel. As long as you intend to eat elsewhere, i would suggest considering it if you could get a reduced price for room-only. However based on the security issues alone I would avoid it entirely, and I reccommend you do the same.

Room Tip: Higher floors get less noise from streets below, and rooms on the opposite side to the main entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeddicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Holiday Inn Express 5th Avenue offers small but clean rooms at a reasonable rate in a great location--two blocks from Times Square and the theatre district. The front desk staff were cheerful and helpful, the room rate includes a buffet breakfast at a deli up the street. In all, it was easy and convenient and I will check for a room here first the next time I am heading up to NYC for the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdave91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed on Saturday in mid February. The price is good for NYC and it's in a pretty good location if you want to be near Grand Central Station (which we did because we wanted ot get to a number of other places both uptown and in Brooklyn). The rooms are small - but if all you need is a place to sleep they are fine - clean and comfortable. Currently the hotel lobby in under construction so they were providing breakfast at a cafe down the road. For me the breakfast was good - eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, sweet rolls - but for my wife who likes fruit and yoghurt it was barely adequate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#293 of 467 in New York City
2,114 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#180 of 467 in New York City
1,146 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#79 of 467 in New York City
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#256 of 467 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#265 of 467 in New York City
2,003 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York

Property: Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Address: 15 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express New York City)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York Located in the heart of New York City, Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York is perfect for one who wants to experience the best of Manhattan and Times Square. You will be spoilt for choices by the wide range of activities surrounding the hotel, from musicals at the Theatre District to exhibitions at the Modern Museum of Art, shops at the Fashion District to strolls in Central Park or Bryant Park. If business is what brings you to the city, you will find major commercial buildings often just a short stroll away from the hotel. The Grand Central Station and subways are also easily accessible, seamlessly connecting you to the rest of the city. Stay productive in our 24-hour business center which offers wireless internet access and a range of business support services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing