We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL VIA PRICELINE/AGODA”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #396 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 21 December 2015

My daughter booked this hotel via PriceLine for a New Year's treat for herself and girlfriend, months in advance. She got a written confirmation by email.
A week before she was due to go Agoda, who did the booking for Priceline, said the hotel had cancelled the reservation. They only offered alternative accommodation in the business district, a long way from where they wanted to be.
The hotel still has rooms available, but now it's the end of December, they want a much higher price and will not honour a booking which was made and paid for earlier. Tried to call the hotel, but they refused to deal with the issue by phone.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank JOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Blue Moon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2015

This is an attractive, comfortable hotel in a restored tenement with a 1930's theme.
The area is perfect for foodies with its proximity to Chinatown, Little Italy and the Lower East Side. It's across the street from Russ & Daughters Cafe and around the corner from Katz's Deli.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

Very pleased with our overnight at the Blue Moon Hotel! In a great area- away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square section. Check in was easier than most hotels and they allowed us to check out a little later than checkout time.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank maryhogan2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Stayed one night in the LES so I wanted to be in the midst of the LES atmosphere. This hotel was just the place I needed- smack dab in the middle of Orchard Street. It is a sympathically converted tenement house, now a boutique hotel The owner/developer saved as much as he could of the authentic building and incorporated all mod cons. The staff, especially Alexander at the front desk was extremely helpful with luggage storage and directions. This is a great hotel to explore this area. There are many walking tours available nearby as well .THE TENEMENT MUSEUM,which is just across the street from the Blue Moon has more than 4 tours an hour. Booking in advance is recommended. One drawback----the rear of the hotel overlooks a bar/nightclub, and on Saturday night the rave music stopped at 4 a.m. I understand front rooms are much quieter, but don't have the balcony.

Room Tip: The rear rooms over look a bar/nightclub which has loud music til 4 a.m.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JerseyGirl2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

We stayed here in August and they charged us twice for the same room. We still can't get our money back!! We paid through hotels.com and then when our credit card came we found that the hotel had also charged us for the same room.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank mangello2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Girlie trip to N Y for four. We arrived on different flights had 2 rooms floor 7 and the penthouse. Jay who met us at the reception was pleasant and polite and told us all we had been upgraded! We were very happy with this quirky little hotel and enjoyed our stay. Spotlessly clean, friendly and helpful. always a welcome whenever we came back and helpful re taxi ordering and with local information.Local restaurants are good value, breakfast basic but sufficient and plenty to start the day. Good location out of the madness of Times square. Walkable to several attractions and a handy nearby subway station. Coffee and tea available all day, we sat in reception and ruminated over the day every evening. Obviously we highly recommend this hotel and want to plan to return. Jay with our upgrade :-)

Room Tip: Al Johnson penthouse and Micky Katz
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mollycob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

This hotel could best be described as "quirky". The artworks are great and the rooms are massive. It's great to have a fridge and a real coffee maker in the room. The rooms were spotlessly clean and were serviced daily.

There were a couple of maintenance issues when we arrived - the safe did not work and the plug would not come out the sink. Both of the items were dealt with very promptly.

The downsides? Well, the air-con did not appear to work (but we didn't report it). The breakfast was non existent. Breakfast is served between 7 and 9 allegedly. Our first morning we were downstairs at 8:45 and there was not a crumb to be had. We complained to the surly female on reception and were given some lies about the manager bringing more food because they had run out. The said surly female (who was unpleasant the next day too) was the only person behind reception who wasn't a great help.

So, would we stay again? Yes, it was in a marvellous position and there is a Starbucks across the road for breakfast.

This was nearly a three star review - and would definitely be a three and a half if I could - but the positives really did outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#222 of 468 in New York City
4,921 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#219 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#294 of 468 in New York City
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#382 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,481 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#350 of 468 in New York City
18,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $95 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing