We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seafarers & International House
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$262
US$235
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$179
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$271
US$229
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ace Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$319
US$271
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$299
US$269
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
The Plaza(New York City)
US$1,104
US$895
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
80
118
50
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
118
50
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squareprivate bathshared bathroomsingle bedwhole foodsrooms are basicoccupancy taxirving placesmall flat screengreat locationnew yorkeast villagetoilet and showerfellow guestsper nighthave stayed here many timesdesk and chair
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Our room was clean and simple and larger than many of the more expensive hotels. We also hd a small refrigerator. The staff was friendly and the amenities such as computer and internet access and library lounge were warm, available and free. The location is fantastic - just steps from Union square and the East village and the price was affordable. I will stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms with bathrooms are not that much more expensive and worth it I think. Our room which was south facing was quiet. Our room had a small fridge - worth requesting when booking
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank n_mcnaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I was put onto this gem 4 years ago, and it really is an amazing location at an amazing price.

Most rooms here are shared bathroom, however you can (as we have both visits) book a room with private bathroom. To stay in a decent location in New York City will cost you, but this is one place that is cheap, and in an excellent location.

We stayed this visit for 5 nights, the rooms are basic, but clean, the bed mattresses are vinyl so make a bit of noise when moving around, but are still quite comfortable (we had no complaints/loss of sleep after 5 nights there!) the shower/toilet are clean as expected. The price you'll find hard to beat approx. $130/night with private bathroom, compare this to one star hotels in bad locations at sometimes double that price!

But the location is what it's all about! 2 min walk from Union Square (features farmers markets, is lively at night), which has a central subway stop that connects to the majority of the main subway lines which means you can get all over Manhattan (and Brooklyn!) with ease. As with everything in NYC you can walk anywhere too, but close by are SoHo & The meat packing district (some of my favorite areas).

I love NYC and cannot see me staying elsewhere on future visits the price for the location is just too hard to beat!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Best location ever. Great hospitality. Clean, simple accommodations. We'll stay here again!

Room Tip: You can get a private bath with two twins or a single (or single & a cot) with bath down the hall.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Fantastic location, friendly staff, great price. The rooms are very simple (know this going in and you'll be fine). The location (right near Union Square), price and the excellent staff make this place a great choice. I would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor - less street noise.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyzardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The advantages;
1 - Cheap.
2 - Safe.
3 - Clean.
4 - Central location.

The disadvantages;
1 - Rooms and bathrooms have seen better days. The furniture is looking tired.
2 - Unfriendly staff.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank MrTomBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews