We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seafarers & International House
Ranked #359 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Pezenas, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location, but......”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We realize that getting a hotel for $100/night in Manhattan is phenomenal, but sometimes you get what you pay for. We both grew up in NY & we've read the glowing reviews of Seafarer's here on Trip Advisor, so we booked one week here. Granted, we perhaps waited too long to make the reservation because we were told we got the last available room, even though we book nearly a year in advance.

The location can't be beat, but I wish we could say the same about the hotel.

The room is clean, but barely big enought o turn around. There is one very small single bed & a fold-up cot that had to be the least comfortable bed on the planet. When the cot was open, it was an exercisein agility to move around the room. To make matters worse, we were on a n extend trip & were getting ready to move to France, so we had a fair amount of luggage with us which took up all the available space. Granted, we were actually given a single room, not a double, so the size would probably been OK for one person.

We had a room with shared bath, which didn't turn out to be so bad as we rarely had to wait for either the toilet or shower. Everything was clean, even though maid service was not every day.

It was handy to have a washer/dryer in the basement so we could have clean clothes for our arrival in France.

I don't think I would stay here again in the future. Maybe if I had a larger room with private bath I would consider it, but by the end of the week we were glad to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ortelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    108
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
39
59
73
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Our room was clean and simple and larger than many of the more expensive hotels. We also hd a small refrigerator. The staff was friendly and the amenities such as computer and internet access and library lounge were warm, available and free. The location is fantastic - just steps from Union square and the East village and the price was affordable. I will stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms with bathrooms are not that much more expensive and worth it I think. Our room which was south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank n_mcnaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I was put onto this gem 4 years ago, and it really is an amazing location at an amazing price.

Most rooms here are shared bathroom, however you can (as we have both visits) book a room with private bathroom. To stay in a decent location in New York City will cost you, but this is one place that is cheap, and in an excellent location.

We stayed this visit for 5 nights, the rooms are basic, but clean, the bed mattresses are vinyl so make a bit of noise when moving around, but are still quite comfortable (we had no complaints/loss of sleep after 5 nights there!) the shower/toilet are clean as expected. The price you'll find hard to beat approx. $130/night with private bathroom, compare this to one star hotels in bad locations at sometimes double that price!

But the location is what it's all about! 2 min walk from Union Square (features farmers markets, is lively at night), which has a central subway stop that connects to the majority of the main subway lines which means you can get all over Manhattan (and Brooklyn!) with ease. As with everything in NYC you can walk anywhere too, but close by are SoHo & The meat packing district (some of my favorite areas).

I love NYC and cannot see me staying elsewhere on future visits the price for the location is just too hard to beat!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Best location ever. Great hospitality. Clean, simple accommodations. We'll stay here again!

Room Tip: You can get a private bath with two twins or a single (or single & a cot) with bath down the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Fantastic location, friendly staff, great price. The rooms are very simple (know this going in and you'll be fine). The location (right near Union Square), price and the excellent staff make this place a great choice. I would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor - less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyzardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The advantages;
1 - Cheap.
2 - Safe.
3 - Clean.
4 - Central location.

The disadvantages;
1 - Rooms and bathrooms have seen better days. The furniture is looking tired.
2 - Unfriendly staff.

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank fatboytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The room was comfortable and just enough space. The basic amenities were more than adequate. Would be nice to have a small mini fridge in the room if budget allows the hotel to acquire, so that longer stay guests can keep some foodstuff, The room was a little musty - so maybe a spray of fragrance once in a while would help. The shared bathroom and toilet was excellent - always clean - maybe my fellow guests on my floor were cooperative. Reception was friendly. Location is great - the green line on the subway just outside the door gets you to the "important" spots for a visitor.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeiYin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#393 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
East Village
St. Marks Hotel
St. Marks Hotel
#391 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafarers & International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafarers & International House

Property: Seafarers & International House
Address: 123 E 15th St, New York City, NY 10003-3594
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Seafarers & International House 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seafarers & International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafarers & International House Hotel New York City
Seafarers And International House
Seafarers International Hotel
Hotel Seafarers International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing