We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“AMAZING room, overpriced food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #143 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING room, overpriced food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This set a new standard for me in terms of a suite. Incredibly room, elegant design. Had to stay in a double twin, but ended up not minding because the bed was SO comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and a great rain-style shower head. My only regret was not staying longer to enjoy the room. Ordered room service for breakfast and paid an outrageous $56 for continental breakfast with hot chocolate.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottyeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,981
    842
    263
    113
    78
See reviews for
682
1,283
141
717
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Although I had the higher room, my room didn't have the view, but my co-worker did. His room looked straight in the center of Central Park! The staff was friendly. A really happening and posh kind of hotel. Saw several celebrities!
I did notice a few stains on the couch of my room and the room upon entering the first time was quite warm.
Other than that, a beautiful hotel. Even the bar staff was great!
Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing north (Central Park).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
345 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is on 54th Street between 6th & 7th, a great midtown location between the park and the theater district. Subway stops are also nearby. The room was large (as promised) and we enjoyed having a living room as well as a bedroom. (Our last NYC hotel room was like a shoebox.) The bathroom soaps, shampoo & conditioner are especially nice and were replenished daily whether we used them or not (more to take home). The buffet breakfasts/afternoon tea are good with lots of choices. But if you have drinks or order something on your own, be prepared to pay a steep price, even for New York. We would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: American Express had a '4 nights for the price of 3' offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Rooms in NY can be tiny - like cruise ship rooms. Not here. The rooms are spacious. Our room opened to a short entry with hospitality area (tabletop and minibar) which leads immediately to a very nice living room area (big I-Dream-of-Genie couch) with desk and reclining chair and big window, and then mirrored french doors to the bedroom and bathroom. Big closet area.

Right now this place looks great - I love the decor, but in a couple of years might look a bit dated.

The bed was super comfortable. A small (too small) TV in living room and bedroom area. Bathroom is well done (modern) and well appointed with robes and slippers. Everything very clean.

Booked the London through American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts and had breakfast and afternoon tea included. Breakfast was complimentary breakfast buffet, which was like a European breakfast with lots of breads, sliced meats, and yogurt. Restaurant is very nice looking and bustling.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatsLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I have stayed at London's in LA and New York 15-20 times in the last year, tonight is my last stay ever. I asked for a specific room with awesome views of the city and I booked it. At check in they gave me a room with half the view at the same price. I have been told the manager Sofia Candaele will call me shortly for the last 2 hours. I know of no business that can get away with selling you half the product at the full product price. Do not book a vista room at the London. They will screw you. Stay at the Pallace if you want great service and great rooms. This is New York and you get what you pay for, unless you stay at the London here you get half of what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed at The London for the Easter weekend. The reception staff were welcoming and efficient, the room was large, clean and well furnished. Housekeeping were just fantastic.

I would definitely recommend The London for overall service, location and facilities provided you don't order food at the hotel (except in the Gordon Ramsey restaurant).

I ordered a coffee on room service which arrived weak lke warm at best.

The waiting staff at breakfast were dismissive, didn't make eye contact or offer a table until I flagged one down, the breakfast was unappetising and service was awful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pfepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a great experience in NYC. lovely and efficient staff. The restaurant, by Gordon Ramsay, must be more carefully with the breakfast.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaku S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#45 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#165 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#106 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#95 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#35 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,100 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#88 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing