We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #273 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Decent location”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed here with 5 other women from Feb. 17-19th, 2012. The room was small, but fit us and all our luggage and hair care products without any problems. The room had two double beds and a spacious bathroom. It was clean and comfortable. Staff was average. On a rainy evening, staff refused to call a cab for the 6 of us. We were told to "Just walk to the corner". In the rain. In dresses and heels. The room rate was a bit pricey, but splitting the cost between 6 people was helpful. The location wasn't too bad, but still quite a walk to Times Square, etc. I would stay here again, and recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: I do not remember if this hotel had a hair dryer. Traveling with this item is a hassle and very con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden, we know that your time is valuable and we appreciate you taking the time to share with all of us your experience. We’re happy that your time with us was a good one, and that you and your party had a great time in NYC. We apologize in regards of the yellow taxicabs, unfortunately the city of New York has special rules for the Yellowcabs in our city, they can only be called if anyone in the party is has a disability. For more information in regards of Yellow Taxicabs please visit: http://www.nyc.gov/html/tlc/html/home/home.shtml. In regards of the matter hairdryers, we are happy to inform that we have hairdryers in all our guestrooms. We thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    923
    317
    75
    61
See reviews for
640
542
136
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Was in NYC for Toy Fair. Hotel was close to event and Madison Square Garden. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with good variety each morning. It is great that it is a pet friendly hotel. I only wish there was a soda machine available. Overall though, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reaku68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden; we greatly appreciate the manner in which you have expressed your experience. We’re sure that future travelers will appreciate your recommendations while staying in our wonderful city. We wanted to mention that we do have vending machines for both snacks and drinks located in our lower level area. We hope to see you in the near future, please don’t hesitate to contact us if you would like to further share your experience with us. We thank you again for your great review, please have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
260 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I have stayed here just because my company is cheap enough to not put me in a better hotel. With that said, this hotel is not bad at all, but there are a few things to be aware of. The breakfast is extremely crowded in the morning, if you are in a rush, skip it and go somewhere else. People having breakfast are usually tourists which don't care about time. I have stayed in two different rooms at this hotel, both had stains on the carpet. The wi-fi is horrible and don't expect it to work with Android devices. You call the unhelp desk and they don't help you at all. I am an IT professional and they claim I don't know how to configure my device (yeah right).

The location is great, 5 minutes to Penn Station and accessible to a few subway stations. Do not, again, do not use their car service company. It is a total rip off and they charge you hidden fees that are only disclosed when you arrive at the destination and have no way to back out of the service.

The TV is LCD but no HD service, I don't understand why hotels do that.

In a nutshell.... if you are looking for cheap lodging in NYC which is close to everything and free breakfast, go for it. I would not come here in a business travel, unless your company is too cheap to put you somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get a high floor on the back of the hotel (odd numbers).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eduardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Eduardo F.
Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to write a review for our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We appreciate the manner in which you provide advice to our future travelers; they will most likely take advantage of them. I wanted to let you know that we are currently updating our complimentary Wi-Fi service in order to provide faster more convenient experience; our TV HD service will also have 90% HD channels. In the coming months we will be updating our look and we hope you get a chance to experience it. We thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with all of us; we hope you have safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

this hotel was excellent. very well situated for sightseeing in manhattan. very clean friendly staff, great b&b 24/7 tea and coffee. highly recommended hope to return again.

Room Tip: we stayed on 8th floor. but a holiday in new york the hotel is just for sleeping in but everything a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hello from the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden!!!!

WOW what an awesome review you have given us, we most greatly appreciate it. We thank you for sharing your experience with us and our future guest. We strive to provide the best possible service and most comfortable surroundings and we’re glad that you enjoy it. Please come visit us again whenever you return to our great city, we would love to have you again. From all of us at the Holiday Inn Express MSG we say thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Gap, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Room was clean and big enough for 4 people. We asked for 2 double beds but ended up with a queen. The hotel staff resolved this by giving us a roll-away bed which wasn't too bad. Hotel staff was friendly. They could keep breakfast open for a bit longer. By the time we got downstairs they were packing it up already (around 9:45) The heat was a little wacky as it kept blowing out cold air instead of warm air. We had it up to 78 and it was still a bit cool! Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay. Good location, decent price. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessy1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden, we’re glad that your time with us was pleasant. Please feel free to call us if you would like to further discuss your previous stay, or just give us a call whenever you find yourself returning to our area. From all of us here at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden we say thank you again, and we hope we see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, a family of four, we thought that this was an excellent location, breakfast was good, drinks availiable 24hrs. Reception staff were excellent quick check-in, helped with booking trips etc and good advice, would use again without fail

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Hello Andrew B.
Thank you so much for writing a fantastic review for our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden, we are really happy that your time spent in NYC was a satisfying one. I’m sure that future travelers will use your comments to a great degree and we will make sure to WOW them as well while there here with us. We thank you again for an amazing review, and we hope you future travels guide you our way. Stay safe!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Express before catching a train to Montreal. The nice ladies at the front desk upgraded us! The room was clean and comfortable and the location was wonderful! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Hello dear traveler,
Thank you for taking the time the share your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that in the near future, your time with us will be longer so you can enjoy more of our great city, the lovely ladies at our front desk are looking forward to it as are all of us here at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. Thank you for your recommendations, have a safe and wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#171 of 468 in New York City
1,894 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#330 of 468 in New York City
1,286 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#120 of 468 in New York City
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#112 of 468 in New York City
1,290 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#158 of 468 in New York City
1,846 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#289 of 468 in New York City
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing