We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #261 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank 222Margo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnthonyL865, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,026)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 2,026 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

This Hotel was so dirty when I got into my room I thought it looked like a great spot in Manhattan that was close-by and convenient...After a few hours I started scratching I couldn't quite figure out why..it got some bad i ripped the covers off of me and found PUBIC hairs in the sheets of my bed...WOW TALK ABOUT DISGUSTING!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Unique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyL865, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Unique M,

Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express, we are shocked by your review and disappointed to hear about your experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the accommodations your received, our team works hard to present an impeccable product and this tells us that we dropped the ball this time. We want to let you know that we are inspecting more carefully in order to avoid this event from ever happening again to any future guest. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, we hope to see you in the near future in order to change your view of our hotel. Have a wonderful day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The location of this hotel is great. The free breakfast had so many options (what a cost & time-saver!) They valet-parked the car for the same price as other garages for 24-hour basis which was so convenient at check-in. Note: Call in advance if you're in a hurry at checkout they told us it would be 40 min. to get the car - we walked the few blocks ourselves and picked up the car instead of waiting.

We were able to check-in at 1 p.m. which gave us a chance to freshen up and leave all our bags behind.

I also like that the hotel uses the sheets to cover the duvet - instead of a bedspread. You feel like you have a nice, clean bed.

One negative was that the toilet did not have a powerful flush, so that made me nervous with 4 of us staying in the room, but with a little patience it eventually worked.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosePetal1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyL865, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear RosePetal 1936,

Thank you for your review of our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden, we're happy to learn that your time with us was pleasant. Please come visit us again, we love to provide the best service in the city especially to our returning guest; It brings a smile to our face to see your smile. Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

A good location, near to 7th Avenue 28th Street subway which gets you to Times Square, Battery Park & 5th Avenue quickly. Tickets $2.50 per single ride. Reception was always very polite & helpful. Breakfast was fine with cereal, pancakes, fresh fruit, toast, cinnamon buns & 2-3 cooked items available, + coffee & juice. A bit crowded but there are tables outside assuming weather is fine. Rooms are more than adequate, huge beds which are very comfortable, t.v, air conditioning, shower & small bath. Road outside is noisy at all times - bring ear plugs! Choice of restaurants nearby, some better than others, we found 8th Avenue uptown has a reasonable selection. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor or at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PebblesBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is moderately priced (for NYC) and within 3 blocks of Penn Station. If you're riding the train into NYC and looking for a room close by, this hotel is very convenient, requiring no taxi or metro ride and just a very short walk from the station. It is even closer to Madison Square Garden.

The only negative was that my wife and I were put in a ground floor room beside the elevator and that meant there was more noise than there should have been. I suspect it was because I booked the room through hotels.com and we got one of the less desirable rooms.

But overall, a nice, inexpensive, safe, comfortable and easy place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The receptionist was no help to me. I asked if there was any possible way for me to check in a few hours early and the guy just looked at me and didn't answer until I asked again. He then decided that checking his text messages was more important than dealing with a paying customer. After a little while he just told me no and was extremely rude about it. I have stayed in other holiday inn expresses in ny but I will never stay in this one again.... Great way to treat your priority club members!! Stay at the ramada if the holiday inn near times square is booked.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Rdgon,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27729741

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

i have been to new york 5 times and stayed at the new yorker or pensylvania hotels.booked this holiday inn last july through british airways due to the unbelievable offer i got the flight & hotel for £560.my 2 daughters myself and 3yr old grandson arrived march 26th and boy we thought omg the street looks rough.but the hotel is spotless.rooms are small but hey you only sleep in them so what does it matter.we were at the back of hotel so no noise at night so we slept soundly until grandson woke us up at 3am due to his body still being on uk time.the free breakfast was a bonus and changed daily in the hot section.saved us a few dollars so we would recomend this hotel to all unless your the sort who moan about room size.if we can get the same deal again we will be returning again and again.oh and not to forget the check in gentleman.polite well dressed and so helpfull.well done holiday inn.

Room Tip: get a back one we were on 9th floor and no noise at all.get down early foor breakfast as space is li...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kath w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#157 of 468 in New York City
1,966 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#203 of 468 in New York City
2,040 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#330 of 468 in New York City
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#164 of 468 in New York City
1,904 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#116 of 468 in New York City
867 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#122 of 468 in New York City
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#190 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $218 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our recently refreshed 15-story high-rise hotel with amenities include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing