We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money hotel in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #272 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
County Antrim, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money hotel in Manhattan”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I booked this hotel on Hotwire as a 'secret hotel'. By doing some 'detective work' on the Hotwire site I was pretty certain I was booking this hotel. Sure enough it come up and I saved approximately £100 over the named hotel rates.
Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights. Hotel is well located just a few blocks from Penn Station. Room was adequate size and was spotless. Bed was very comfortable. Room service was very good (plenty of soaps, shampoo, conditioner, lotion provided). Front desk staff very very friendly and professional.
Complimentary breakfast was provided but you do need to get down early to get a table. Food was a reasonable standard and there was a good selection.
Hotel close to subway - recommend a 7 day pass for $29 - it is well worth it.
Although hotel doesn't have a bar or lobby it completly satisfied our needs as we were out all day seeing the sites of this amazing city.
We have previously stayed in one of the Hampton Inn hotels in NYC and this hotel is a very similar standard but at a much lower cost.
For tourists who spend their time site seeing, this hotel is ideal and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluteplayer1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyL865, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear tripadvisor member,

Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden, we are excited to learn that your time with us was enjoyed by you and your loved ones. We hope that your suggestions are well received and that everyone utilizing them will have the best time in NYC. We hope to get to see you soon and provide you with the best that the “Big apple” has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    915
    316
    74
    61
See reviews for
638
538
136
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I booked a room in this hotel through Hotwire for a one-night stay in Manhattan on the way home from a conference in New Jersey. Originally I booked it for one person, but then discovered a friend would be in the city at the same time and we decided to share the place. I called a month in advance of our stay to request two beds, which the hotel staff said they couldn't guarantee, but put the request in.

When we arrived for check-in and asked about the two beds, the front desk staff laughed at us and shook his head. No explanation was given as to why two beds weren't available. Our room, which had a king bed, was not only in the basement, adjacent to the laundry room, fitness centre, kitchen and staff bathrooms, but it also had no wall separating the bathroom from the bedroom. Instead, there were two sliding shower doors. You could see and hear everything that happened in the bathroom from the bedroom. Not exactly private for two people who are not in a relationship.

The noise levels in the basement level were also unacceptable. We were awoken at 6 am by the staff shouting good morning greetings to one another down the hallway. There are much nicer hotels than this in the area, with vastly superior service, for not much more money. I will not be going back.

Room Tip: Request to not be put on the basement level, if you value sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyL865, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear guest,

We are sad to see that your time with us was less than satisfying; we work hard to provide the best possible service day in and day out. On occasions we find ourselves unable to accommodate all requests as we are limited to certain items; if you would like to further discuss this matter with us, feel free to contact us to discuss your concerns. We thank you for providing a review for our Holiday Inn Express, and we hope that this will not defer you from giving us a second chance. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel was convenient to Madison Square Gardens/Penn Station as well as the shopping district. The subway system is awesome; get a 7 day pass for approx. $29. well worth it. The continental breakfast had a great selection, although very busy, we never had a problem getting a table to sit at. Front desk staff were very friendly and the room was clean and very quite (if you don't open the window).
Only negative thing was the bathroom fan ran all the time; had to keep the door closed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grussell12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyL865, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for a great review for our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden, we are really happy to learn that your time with us was enjoyed by a person like yourself. Our team strives day in and day out to provide the best possible service we can provide. We’re confident that the suggestions you have provided will be well received by future travelers and that they will remember they fantastic time in New York City. We hope to see you soon and that you get to experience our great city again. Thank you again for the review, have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This sad hotel has a very nice staff, very small rooms, and lumpy pillows. Room rates include a decent breakfast served in a very crowded room where you must vie for a table. It was full to the brim with bus loads of students on holiday. There is no bar, no restaurant, no lobby and there are no cabs out front so prepare to walk to the avenue to catch one. The television channel list was completely irrelevant-none of the numbers were a match. Who knows how old that was.

If you need clean, small, unexciting accomodations this might be just the place for you. If you prefer a big city hotel experience.. keep looking. I suppose this is a case of "you get what you pay for."

Room Tip: My tip would be book somewhere else if you want a good room............
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotchnSoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyL865, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for taking the time from your busy scheduled to write a review of your stay at our Holiday Inn Express. We noticed that your time with us was not up to what you’re expecting; our location makes it very popular to all travelers alike, especially to first time visitors and business travelers. The complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free local calls with 1800 numbers are some of the amenities that we hope attract many travelers and we would like to offer our services to all. We hope that will not defer you from visiting us in the future as we strive for perfection. Thank you again for your review, we hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This Hotel was so dirty when I got into my room I thought it looked like a great spot in Manhattan that was close-by and convenient...After a few hours I started scratching I couldn't quite figure out why..it got some bad i ripped the covers off of me and found PUBIC hairs in the sheets of my bed...WOW TALK ABOUT DISGUSTING!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyL865, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Unique M,

Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express, we are shocked by your review and disappointed to hear about your experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the accommodations your received, our team works hard to present an impeccable product and this tells us that we dropped the ball this time. We want to let you know that we are inspecting more carefully in order to avoid this event from ever happening again to any future guest. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, we hope to see you in the near future in order to change your view of our hotel. Have a wonderful day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The location of this hotel is great. The free breakfast had so many options (what a cost & time-saver!) They valet-parked the car for the same price as other garages for 24-hour basis which was so convenient at check-in. Note: Call in advance if you're in a hurry at checkout they told us it would be 40 min. to get the car - we walked the few blocks ourselves and picked up the car instead of waiting.

We were able to check-in at 1 p.m. which gave us a chance to freshen up and leave all our bags behind.

I also like that the hotel uses the sheets to cover the duvet - instead of a bedspread. You feel like you have a nice, clean bed.

One negative was that the toilet did not have a powerful flush, so that made me nervous with 4 of us staying in the room, but with a little patience it eventually worked.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosePetal1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyL865, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear RosePetal 1936,

Thank you for your review of our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden, we're happy to learn that your time with us was pleasant. Please come visit us again, we love to provide the best service in the city especially to our returning guest; It brings a smile to our face to see your smile. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#331 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our hotel is a new 15 story high-rise hotel with amenities to include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing