We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and Classic in the East Village”
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
Ranked #123 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Our stay at The Bowery was a wonderful experience. This classy place had everything I had hoped for - from a great corner room to great service to all the accouterments one should expect. While a bit pricey - but so much is in NYC - this place had years of magic stored in it and it is all there for their guests to experience. From their signature Teddy Bear greeting to the NY Times hanging on the door each morning, this place was my kind of hotel. I do recommend asking for a corner room with a view looking South at the Freedom Tower or North to the Empire State Building. The bathroom was luxurious for an older buiding with a bath tub that had to be used. The restuarant was also quite good for breakfast - few places I've seen where one could order soft boiled eggs with soldiers. I do like New York in June and I plan to go back to the Bowery.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room with a view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

Very much enjoyed my stay at the Bowery. The corner room was comfortable with a great view of the Empire State Building. Nice lobby with a fireplace. Walking distance to many great restaurants and bars but a bit pricey for my tastes. I would go back but may try something else in the same area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbulfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The thing that impressed me the most about this hotel, was that the whole thing was a new build. It's been done so well, with such attention to detail and high level of finish. The location is really great too. I can remember the area being pretty much no go several years ago.

The hotel has these really charismatic doormen, in dapper waistcoats and bowler hats, who welcome guest. The reception area is a bit too close to the entrance and can create a bottle neck with guests checking in and checking out.

We had corner room, about half way up. Fantastic views. The rooms have a industrial, converted factory feel, as do the bathrooms. All the usual knick knacks are included, such as iPod dock and robes/slippers. The signature red and white bedding is very covetable.  

The gym, in the basement, was ideal, but short on equipment if you happened to be there at a busy time.

The bar is open to anyone. It's tucked away behind a sea of antique looking sofas and armchairs. You feel like you are in a country pile. As guests, we just got a drink and sat down. A guy came over and demanded to see our door key card. Once we proved we were guests, he just turned and walked off. I called after him and asked if he'd like us to sit else where. He just shrugged and wandered off. It's odd how he thought that was an okay way to interact, given how charming and smiley all the other staff were.

I really enjoyed my few days at The Bowery Hotel, but there was nothing there to make me want to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrionUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We really enjoyed staying here for a long weekend in April. The atmosphere is old-world super cool, the service is excellent and the lobby and bar scene is remarkable - plus, as a hotel guest, they will literally ask other people to move over or leave to make room for you. Same goes for the attached always-crowded and excellent Italian restaurant where they will only take reservations from Hotel guests. It's a great location for exploring the Village, SOHO, Little Italy, Chinatown, NYU campus, Union Square area, etc. The only downside was the tiny(!) rooms - we stayed in a King on a corner - if you're not laying in the bed, it's hard for both of you to stretch your arms out at the same time. Still, we weren't there to hang out in the room.

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending the big bucks and you're there at the right time of year, go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Staying at The Bowery Hotel was a treat. It was pricey, but I enjoyed my visit immensely and recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. The room was immaculate: clean, bright and welcoming, with lovely views of the East Village. The hotel remains faithful to its period architecture and design, without sacrificing any modern amenities. It was so quiet in the mornings, but in the evenings the absolutely gorgeous main areas were bustling with activity. Every member of the staff I encountered was attentive and very friendly. The location is ideal for exploring the East & West Villages, NoHo, SoHo, etc. The only complaint I had was less than perfect service at adjoining restaurant Gemma: while the food and atmosphere was delightful, I felt rushed to order (brunch). Our waitress hovered, as if waiting for us to finish, but ignored our empty coffee cups. With so many wonderful eateries within a short walk, The Bowery should work a little harder to make Gemma their hotel guests’ dining destination.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apawamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Midtown Manhattan is for the first time tourist to NYC, who wants to stay near the Big Broadway theaters, Times Square, etc. Great place to stay if you want noise and to see tourists from every where in the world. But if you know NYC, or want to know it, you'll be staying down in SoHo or Lower East Side, or Bowery. This hotel is cool because it looks very vintage, but it is new construction, made to look old, and they pull it off just great. Really understated, the lobby is a great place to lounge around till very late (early) and there is nothing flashy here. Just a lot of class.

Room Tip: I asked for a room in the back, not facing the street. It looked out over a green yard, which is a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ourmanindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I selected the Bowery after reading reviews on TripAdvisor on the hotels located in the lower east side. I couldn't have been happier with our choice. It was such a refreshing change from other hotels in New York, which tend to be too modern and contemporary to be practical or comfortable. This hotel is welcoming, cozy, chic and original.
The staff was very friendly, and ll of them seemed "in character" (all the doormen had mustaches, like the Bowery's brand logo. Coincidence?) We had drinks and late night snacks in the cool bar area in the lobby, which seemed to be bustling most of the time and is dog-friendly.
We stayed in a king room, and were lucky enough to get a corner room, which had large windows with great views. The bed was extremely comfortable and it comes complete with a teddy bear that is dressed like the Bowery's brand logo. We were welcomed to the room with lovely treats on the table in front of the large windows, which I thought was a great overall touch. The bathroom was classic, with white marble, a lovely rain shower and a big, deep tub.
This hotel really pays attention to the details and the staff absolutely takes pride in their work. I truly loved it there and will be sure to stay there anytime we return to Manhattan.

Room Tip: We were fortunate enough to have a corner King Room, which had a fantastic view and was very spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#194 of 469 in New York City
717 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#70 of 469 in New York City
683 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#118 of 469 in New York City
619 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#89 of 469 in New York City
1,470 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 469 in New York City
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003-7138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $488 - $926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing