We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Stop for the Train Traveler” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #216 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Stop for the Train Traveler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

If you arrive and leave New York City by train at Pennsylvania Station, you might enjoy the Chesea Hilton Garden Inn, on 28th street, which is just a short walking distance away, and in a developing area with a number of new hotels and right near a metro station. The rooms are small but they have everything you need, and we found our room to be very quiet. The staff of the hotel is exceptionally capable and friendly-- so we felt comfortable and welcomed coming and going.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 72goldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    779
    213
    63
    47
See reviews for
614
488
145
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I used to live in NYC, so we usually stay with friends when visiting. This time we deided we'd like our own space, and as I have never had a bad experience in a hilton family hotel, we chose the Hilton Garden in Chealsea based on location, price, and reviews. We could NOT have been happier. From the moment our friend dropped us off, the service was top-notch and sincerely friendly. Our room was a standard with King bed and it wasn't as if because we had a smaller room we were given smaller treatment. It was clean, smelled nice, great shower, nice bath products! We had a street view of 28th, so we could watch the people across the street lunch on their fire escapes and watch the flower vendors hustle and bustle below.
It bears mentioning to non locals how great this hotel is positioned for the train. The F stops at 23rd and 6th, and the 1 stops at 28th and 7th, so you are right in between two major lines. No need to stay in Times Square and deal with that choas and those prices!
We just really loved it and we agree we will always stay with Hilton Garden Chelsea when we visit New York.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilaGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and hotel amenities convenient. We also agree that our location is ideal and located on a beautiful street lined with fresh flowers each day. Our staff does a great job of welcoming and offering personal attention to each guest. Thank you again for your kind words, and we are looking forward to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was a very convenient location for us since I was coming in from the EWR airport and my sister was coming in from Long Island. Both the LIRR and the NJ transit arrive at Penn Station which was only a few blocks from the hotel.
The room was modern,clean,great shower, and with 2 queen sized beds,was certainly roomy enough for the 2 of us.
We were also impressed with the friendly/helpfulness of the staff! Everyone who saw us greeted us and asked how they could help us. I was especially impressed with the fact that they had a concierge in the lobby because in my experience most 3 **** hotels do not offer this service.The young man was right there looking up addresses and finding out if rooftop bars were open etc.
Our only slight glitch with service occurred with housekeeping. I suppose we got out of the room late in the AM and came back earlier in the PM than they expected so our room was not cleaned and we had to call to the desk to get it done. I WILL say that staff was sent up IMMEDIATELY withing about 2 min of our call and we were never without fresh towels or coffee/creamer etc. I did suggest to the front desk that perhaps something in the cleaning schedule should be adjusted for folks who want to linger in the room a while in the AM.
Despite that glitch I would definitely stay there again and DO recommend it to others!

Room Tip: high floors are always nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have now stayed here twice for visits to FIT, which is just at the end of the block. It is close to Penn Station, but even better has 2 subway stops very convenient on 28th St to lines that will get you almost anywhere you want to go. The doormen here are the most polite, helpful, and friendly, and I feel like I'm "home" when I walk in the doors after a long day of fun or business in NYC. The rooms are large for hotels in NYC with 2 beds available. Also, if we put the Do Not Disturb sign on our door for the day (because we have left our bags and clothes in disarray), the housekeeper leaves a bag of towels on our door without our asking. I cannot say enough good about this hotel. Our stays here have been positive in every way.

Room Tip: I like to stay around the 10th to 12th floors to overlook the rooftop garden across the street and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonB150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stays at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel convenient and spacious. We agree that our rooms are nicely sized in NYC. Our staff works diligently to bring personal attention to every guest interaction, and we are pleased you received that attention. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Took my niece as a graduation gift..originally reserved hilton but switch to different hotel to save over $ 200...checked my balance upon arriving to NY and discovered Hilton didnt cancel reservation and had already charged my card for the entire stay...went to hilton to correct issue and management apologized and agreed to let us stay at the rate the other hotel offered. This was a great deal because we received a much better room for a lower rate. Sservice was excellent from house keeping(who spoke no english) but she took good care of us to management who made or first visit almost perfect. The only thing I didn't like was the street worker who work all nite..but I think that's just NY.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheronda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was an excellent hotel - very convenient to Penn Station and an interesting section of New York City (flower district). People at the hotel were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thanks so much for the nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We agree our location is ideal for anyone traveling in and out of Penn Station. The entire staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed four days. Easy walk from Penn Station. We enjoyed our stay and will recommend it to our friends. Great selection of restaurant on 7th Av south of 28th St.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. I agree that our hotel is ideally located for anyone traveling in and out of Penn Station. Thank you so much for recommending us to your friends and making us your hotel of choice! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing