We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #218 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

LOVED this hotel! Great location, 5 minute walk to Times Square, Madison Square Garden, subway right on the corner or short walk to Penn Station. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was small, as you expect from NYC, but not cramped, very clean and fresh decor. Handy to have the microwave and mini fridge.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozza428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and hotel amenities convenient. Our staff does a great job of welcoming and offering personal attention to each guest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    784
    216
    64
    47
See reviews for
619
494
146
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

For a NYC hotel in the middle of the action (a few blocks from Penn Station), you get pretty reasonably sized rooms for a pretty reasonable price. The cookies in the evening at the front desk were a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bryce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and hotel rooms convenient and spacious. We definitely agree the cookies are a nice touch! Thank you for your kind words, and we are looking forward to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On a holliday in my head
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed with my niece and nephew at Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea for a week during Easter, and we were met with a very friendly welcome! I was a bit jetlagged and not entirely on my best awake behaviour then, but the excellent people in the lobby took it in stride. When I booked the stay, I asked for a room with a view because it was my niece and nephews first time in the US, which we got!

The location is good, close to two subway stops. The street isn't very noisy, no heavy traffic below.
The lobby have a concierge, no less friendly than the doormen or receptionists.

About the room, it were not as big as the other Hilton Garden Inns I've stayed at, including the Times Square Garden Inn, but it was big enough for three adults to crash. The housekeeping was up to the normal good Hilton standard I have come to expect.
On the negative side, there's room for improvement on the bedside light. Only one big lamp on a nightstand between the beds isn't very good. Smaller lights on each separate bedside would be a lot better. As it was, I couldn't be reading in my bed without having lot of light shining on the other bed. So I didn't.

Doorman Mikhail from Nigeria, thank you for a fun last good impression of the good people working at the Chelsea Garden Inn!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ornamental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you and your neice and nephew had a great NYC experience. We find our location and room amenities to be very convenient for our guests. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. Thank you again for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We hope to see you next time you are in the US!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

If you arrive and leave New York City by train at Pennsylvania Station, you might enjoy the Chesea Hilton Garden Inn, on 28th street, which is just a short walking distance away, and in a developing area with a number of new hotels and right near a metro station. The rooms are small but they have everything you need, and we found our room to be very quiet. The staff of the hotel is exceptionally capable and friendly-- so we felt comfortable and welcomed coming and going.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72goldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I used to live in NYC, so we usually stay with friends when visiting. This time we deided we'd like our own space, and as I have never had a bad experience in a hilton family hotel, we chose the Hilton Garden in Chealsea based on location, price, and reviews. We could NOT have been happier. From the moment our friend dropped us off, the service was top-notch and sincerely friendly. Our room was a standard with King bed and it wasn't as if because we had a smaller room we were given smaller treatment. It was clean, smelled nice, great shower, nice bath products! We had a street view of 28th, so we could watch the people across the street lunch on their fire escapes and watch the flower vendors hustle and bustle below.
It bears mentioning to non locals how great this hotel is positioned for the train. The F stops at 23rd and 6th, and the 1 stops at 28th and 7th, so you are right in between two major lines. No need to stay in Times Square and deal with that choas and those prices!
We just really loved it and we agree we will always stay with Hilton Garden Chelsea when we visit New York.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilaGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and hotel amenities convenient. We also agree that our location is ideal and located on a beautiful street lined with fresh flowers each day. Our staff does a great job of welcoming and offering personal attention to each guest. Thank you again for your kind words, and we are looking forward to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was a very convenient location for us since I was coming in from the EWR airport and my sister was coming in from Long Island. Both the LIRR and the NJ transit arrive at Penn Station which was only a few blocks from the hotel.
The room was modern,clean,great shower, and with 2 queen sized beds,was certainly roomy enough for the 2 of us.
We were also impressed with the friendly/helpfulness of the staff! Everyone who saw us greeted us and asked how they could help us. I was especially impressed with the fact that they had a concierge in the lobby because in my experience most 3 **** hotels do not offer this service.The young man was right there looking up addresses and finding out if rooftop bars were open etc.
Our only slight glitch with service occurred with housekeeping. I suppose we got out of the room late in the AM and came back earlier in the PM than they expected so our room was not cleaned and we had to call to the desk to get it done. I WILL say that staff was sent up IMMEDIATELY withing about 2 min of our call and we were never without fresh towels or coffee/creamer etc. I did suggest to the front desk that perhaps something in the cleaning schedule should be adjusted for folks who want to linger in the room a while in the AM.
Despite that glitch I would definitely stay there again and DO recommend it to others!

Room Tip: high floors are always nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have now stayed here twice for visits to FIT, which is just at the end of the block. It is close to Penn Station, but even better has 2 subway stops very convenient on 28th St to lines that will get you almost anywhere you want to go. The doormen here are the most polite, helpful, and friendly, and I feel like I'm "home" when I walk in the doors after a long day of fun or business in NYC. The rooms are large for hotels in NYC with 2 beds available. Also, if we put the Do Not Disturb sign on our door for the day (because we have left our bags and clothes in disarray), the housekeeper leaves a bag of towels on our door without our asking. I cannot say enough good about this hotel. Our stays here have been positive in every way.

Room Tip: I like to stay around the 10th to 12th floors to overlook the rooftop garden across the street and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonB150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stays at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel convenient and spacious. We agree that our rooms are nicely sized in NYC. Our staff works diligently to bring personal attention to every guest interaction, and we are pleased you received that attention. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 467 in New York City
1,808 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
702 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#190 of 467 in New York City
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#316 of 467 in New York City
1,896 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#123 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#165 of 467 in New York City
3,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing