We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money and fit for purpose”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alexander
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great value for money and fit for purpose”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

this hotel was perfect for what we needed it for, basically a place to sleep after long days sightseeing and meals out.

My boyfriend and I visited New York for my birthday during December and we wanted somewhere cheap but in a nice area and that is what we got. the Upper West Side is a lovely place to stay, it was so easy to get into Times Square via the subway and I felt completely safe.

The hotel itself was pretty basic, however it was clean and great value for money. there was no need for us to spend double the price on a lodger hotel that we were going to spend so little time in.

There have been negative comments on this website regarding the reception staff however I found them to be very helpful, calling us taxi's straight away and recommending places to eat, particularly a little diner round the corner for a typical American breakfast!!

My only complaint would be that the pipes in the room did wake us up at times but It didn't put us off and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

I recommend anyone to stay here, particularly young people, just don't expect luxury for the price you are paying.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat6919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    151
    73
    18
    50
See reviews for
34
138
70
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed again in the Alexander Hotel. After two years, I had the same opinion. The location is very good. There are many restaurants coffees and grocery stores near the hotel. Besides, the metro station is very near and convenient. We agree that the room is small, but it is clean and comfortable. Besides, the price is very reasonable. I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I stayed there for one night with some friends of mine. I really like the hotel's location and the price was quite reasonnable.
The room was good size and beds comfortable.
Will probably go there again on my next trip to NY

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VLF1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Our stay was terrible! Looking for a bargain I booked this room, thinking it would be ok. The elevator was so slow it barely moved, the room was tiny and bed hard, the air conditioner sounded like a plane engine, the shared bath tub had dirty feet marks and to top it all off -- there was a FIRE in a room near ours because someone decided to cook bacon. The door on the outside also had a notice that said the building was being condemned by the city of NY. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DFMILES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

If you are ok with the idea of sharing a bathroom, this hotel is great. It's bare bones, no ammenities to speak of. But it is clean and affordable. It is also in a great area, very convenient to the subway.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

If you are not too picky and you are looking just for a place where to rest during the night, Hotel Alexander is a good choice.

The room and bathroom are clean (I had a room with a private bathroom).
The location is not so great but is close enaugh to the metro station.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Raluca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salerno, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Good Friendly Service, just have to find the right one at Reception Desk.
My rooms were nice, ensuite bathroom, big space for a solo traveller.
Clean Place, Internet free Wi-Fi at Reception Breakfast Room.
Bid LCD screen in room.
From the place you can easily reached , Central Park, Lincon Center...
Subway a few walking blocks. I used to walk in the morning and I almost reached every
central spot in Manhattan, than came back by Tub
You can shop for food nearby.
I wish they do have a microwave and water electric pot in the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coraat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#314 of 467 in New York City
1,528 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 467 in New York City
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
2,363 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
1,292 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#392 of 467 in New York City
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: 306 W 94th St, New York City, NY 10025-6828
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alexander 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel New York City
Hotel Alexander New York City
Hotel Alexander Nyc
Alexander New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing