We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Terrace Suite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plaza
Ranked #111 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
san antonio, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Terrace Suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I've reviewed it before and I still think it's the best location in the city for families and shopping. The plaza is my go to hotel in NYC. I've tried others but always come back here. For me the plaza is the center of the city.

This time we stayed in a Terrace Suite. We were supposed to have an edwardian suite but when we checked in they asked if we wanted to upgrade to the terrace suite and we decided to do it. It was not a complementary upgrade, I am never the girl who wins the hotel room lottery. We paid a lot more than we were going to for the edwardian suite but you only live once.

The suite was beautiful, two stories, with the one bedroom upstairs. The downstairs had a living room, an office, a small kitchen area and a full bathroom. The terrace was off the bedroom and overlooked 58th street. For the most part the suite was super clean and the bathrooms are spotless. The only exception was the couch in the living room. It was borderline yucky. I could have complained but we just grabbed some of the big bath Towels and put them down over the cushions.
While I loved the room, for a family with small children this suite would not be ideal. We have a 4 year old and I was very conceded about him falling down the large set of wood stairs. If you have kids younger I would say this is not the room for you.
The best part of the room aside from the very large terrace with a great city view was the master bathroom. It was beautiful and had a heated floor. Which was perfect for feet that were tired from the endless amounts of walking you do in NYC.
The plaza is a great hotel for families , the service is good, It's clean, it's safe and the location is ideal.

Room Tip: Terrace suite is beautiful but not for families with toddlers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suitestayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for choosing The Plaza as your home in New York City. Your feedback and loyalty to our hotel is greatly appreciated. We are pleased to share that we are currently working on improvements to our Terrace Suites which include carpeting the staircase and putting pull-out couches in the study to better accommodate larger families. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,328
    388
    191
    115
    82
See reviews for
619
765
103
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our family group travelled from the UK and stayed in New York and as a special birthday treat for my mother and her best friend, I decided to take them for afternoon tea at the Plaza on the 08th April, Easter Sunday.

I reviewed the Plaza Hotel website before we travelled, and although the afternoon tea menu was very expensive ($50) I convinced myself that it was an experience that they would thoroughly enjoy.

I booked through the Open Table link and received a confirmation that our table for 5 was reserved on the Easter Sunday. So far so good.

The sandwiches selection detailed on the publish menu was not what I would call typical, and so I emailed the Palm Court on the 02nd April to see if they could provide us with a more simpler sandwich choice.
I received a reply on the 5th stating that a note would be made on my reservation and that they received special requests on a daily basis and try to accommodate all their guests. Again so far so good.

We all arrived in plenty of time and proceeded to the Palm Court to be told by, who I assume was the lady in charge of the Palm Court that they weren't serving afternoon tea, and that they were serving Easter Brunch for $95.00 per person!!! and that they had tried to contact me on my mobile but the number was not recognised. It's a UK number.

I was totally bemussed and said that I would have to speak to my party and explain the situation.We agreed somewhat reluctantly to take our seats and review the bruch menu. There was nothing that appealled and for the $95 for the privalege it was even less appealing.

It was a that point that my partner went over again to the employee and said that we weren't interested in the bruch menu and wanted afternoon tea for our special occassion. The manager was called for and we were then told that our tea could be served in the Rose Club to which we left our table and were directed to a dark corner in what appeared to be the main hotel bar.

For the next 10 miutes the staff were frantically proceeding to set up our table (we put the small tables together to give us more surface area to use) Our tea order was taken and that arrived first and by the time the food arrived we had drunk most of it. The scones were cold, even though they were wrapped in a napkin and the sandwiches were not touched by my mother because no staff member enquired about the special request.

I received the bill and left the table to discuss the service shortfalls and said that I wasn't willing to pay the service charge which equated to $37.00. The employee in charge ( Andrei, who was overstrectched ) asked what the problem was with the service and so I explained that I wasn't happy to pay it and wished it to be removed from the bill. He was not authorised to do it and would have to get the Manager.

The Manager promptly arrived and we entered a conversation, human error was given as to the email response to my special request, and that the person doing so did not recognise the date I had booked was a date that afternoon tea service was suspended. She was very apologetic and as recompense I was refunded $150 for three of the teas which I accepted.

I did get an email on my phone on the 8th stating that the Plaza had cancelled my reservation but at that point I was already in the hotel with my party beginning this fiasco.

A wonderful looking hotel ruined by a horrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Markuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

its a very nice hotel, the rooms are spacious and very comfy, though the service was so bad, it took us 30 minutes to check in, and the reception desk employees were so laid back! too bad for such a great location!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elyias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Brookville, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Had beautiful Edwardian suite to sharewith my mom for her birthday with partial park view - king size bed in bedroom and a rollaway in the living room that was actually wonderful. The room was over 1000 sf and the bathroom was gorgeous with separate entries to beautiful shower stall and toilet. The dressing and bath area were large and lovely - tiles were elegant. Concierge service excellent. Bar drinks ridiculously expensive even for New York. But the room price for space and glamour beat other comparable properties. Beware, not a get away from it all hotel. Not low key. Not boutique hotel ambiance. Hustle and bustle with tour groups winding around the Palm Court dining room while we were having lunch because it is that grand and pretty.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCFNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelManagement, General Manager at The Plaza, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback on your recent stay. We are very proud of the exceptional room product we offer - our suites are among the largest in New York City and our bathrooms are truly spectacular. The entrance of the hotel is a bit busier than most being that we are a New York City landmark, however we are glad that you weren't inconvenienced and are understanding of our unique situation. We will share your review with our hotel team-- we all hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
159 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We just stayed at The Plaza for three nights. The hotel is opulent and the sevice stellar.We got a free upgrade to a Rose Suite for beiing Fairmont Presiedent Club memebers.I highly recommend doing this before you go.The membership is free.

The Palm Court is wonderful!We enjoyed breakfast everyday.

It is right across tne rosd from FAO Schwarz and the Apple store.They have house cars - BMW - which takes you to shows and dinner within 12 miles.

One caveat- the fitness club has pool which charges 50$ for a half day and 100$ for full day?!? I have nevef had to pay to swim in a hotel where I was paying almost 1000 $ night.
Theynalso charge 75 $ for a rollaway bed per night.

Despite it I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Become a Fairmont Club Member fro free upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I brought my wife to NYC for her birthday and surprised her with a stay at the Plaza. It was the first visit for both of us, so all we knew about the place was based on Home Alone, episodes of Seinfeld, and the like. Check in was smooth, and we were on our way to the room within minutes.

-The Room

The room was an average sized hotel room, but the bathroom was huge. The room controls and other features controlled by the iPad were a nice gimmick, but the proprietary interface was slow and frustrating at times. Our room faced 58th street, so we had no view to speak of. The TV is a bit small for the distance from the bed, but it was tolerable. The bathroom was well appointed, but it took a while to find the single power outlet (it was hidden behind the bagged hair dryer). The TP was surprisingly single ply.

-Food and Drinks

We enjoyed breakfast at the Palm Court each morning (thanks to American Express), which included a variety of pastries, bagels, fruits, meat, cheeses, well you know what continental breakfast is. The coffee was quite good. We also had lunch there one afternoon when we were in a bit of a rush and didn't care to look around for anything. The burger and the chicken club were quite good, but also rather expensive. However, the Amex food and beverage credit made it reasonable. Soft drinks are served from 8.5 oz aluminum bottles, so we're not sure if they included refills. Iced tea flowed freely. We had drinks at the Champagne bar one evening, which was expensive even by NYC standards.

-Service

The service overall was fine. Nothing spectacular, but certainly took care of everything we needed them for. Ordering ice to be delivered by a butler seems like an unnecessarily complicated process, but I eventually got my ice. It was delivered in an un-insulated metal can, so do not expect it to stick around long.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Plaza, and do not have any serious complaints. As may be gleaned from my review, we do not usually stay at hotels like this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadMaxEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My daughter had wanted to have afternoon tea at the Plaza (in the Palm Court) for years. We went this year in March and were treated like royalty (for a price). We got dressed up and made it a real occasion. The new ceiling is beautiful, the chandeliers sparkle, and the service is top notch.
Afterwards we took photos of ourselves with the huge photos of stars who have visited in the past: Marilyn Monroe, the Beatles, Brigitte Bardot and others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank watsonkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#74 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#17 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#54 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#35 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza

Property: The Plaza
Address: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#87 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the balance between its storied past and limitless future, The Plaza is the ultimate New York City luxury lifestyle destination - an iconic urban resort with a new and contemporary spirit. While traditions remain, such as the opulent grandeur of the Beaux Arts decor and the iconic Afternoon Tea in The Palm Court, exciting new offerings at this legendary hotel include the elegant Champagne Bar, the stylish Rose Club, and The Plaza Food Hall. The Plaza Hotel offers 282 distinctive guestrooms, including 102 luxurious suites, which boast the largest square footage of any luxury hotel in New York City. From the sumptuous decor to the impeccable white glove service, The Plaza is an extraordinary hotel that offers every indulgence. For our suite guests, The Plaza is pleased to offer Butler Service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Fairmont Hotels so you can book your The Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza New York City
Plaza Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing