We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced!”

Foxy John's Bar & Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Foxy John's Bar & Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #459 of 14,911 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Description: Foxy John's in Midtown Manhattan Features Delicious Handcrafted Cocktails, Mouth Watering Steaks, Burgers, $1 Oysters, Seafood, Daily Beer Specials, Happy Hour and more!
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We were walking by and decided to stop for a drink and maybe a snack. Our waitress seemed inconvenienced by serving our table. The flat bread I ordered didn't have some ingredients that were mentioned in the description.
Pros: $1 oysters, good drink selection and fun atmosphere!
Cons: Overpriced compared to other pubs nearby, average food selection and nothing special about the experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KeriannG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 154 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Burgers were reasonably priced and gorgeous tasting. Staff were kind and helpful. Lovely happy and fun atmosphere with music and dim lights. A bar but not rowdy. Highly recommend!!

Thank looba_183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Stopped in here after a mediocre dinner at Blackwell's and glad we did. Manager set us up with two chairs at the bar. Bartenders were attentive and quick. Drinks were served well. Prices were reasonable. Plus...the joint was hopping.

Thank Bret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Public Relations Manager at Foxy John's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hey Bret, thank you for the feedback and we hope you guys had a great time here at Foxys! Take care and we hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

We stumbled across Foxy Johns which is just near the Lex Hotel off 47th street and Lexington. At first the loud bar gets you but walking through it to the restaurant is quite pleasant on the other side.
Happy hour is 4pm till 7pm and you can get a beer for 5 dollars and vodka for 7.
We ordered a Caesar salad with chicken and the following night had a teriyaki chicken all is good. The burgers look good and you get the normal stuff with that including fries.
Quite reasonable in price about 60 dollars including drinks. That did include a dozen oysters at 1 dollar each. Beautiful!

Thank garyparker231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Public Relations Manager at Foxy John's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hi Gary, thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review! We are so thrilled you came to see us and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip here in NYC. Make sure to come back and see us next time you're in the city and take care for now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018

As a lone traveler it is great to find somewhere were you feel very welcome and relaxed.

The staff here are supper so friendly and happy to give advice, help and good conversations, as well as the drinks.

The food is consistently great too. It has such a great vibe.

I have spent a lot of time there in the last few weeks, and will continue to.

See you there

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scotty2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura F, Public Relations Manager at Foxy John's Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Hey Scotty, it's always a pleasure to have you here with us!! Thank you for taking the time to review us and we're looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foxy John's Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Foxy John's Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing