We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Large room and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
Ranked #149 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Large room and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Hospitality House on March 4-6. We stayed in a two bedroom suite and it had lots of room for a New York hotel! The room was decorated nice and the bed was comfortable. The welcome basket was a nice touch with bottled water and chips. It was cold those days and I liked that the room was nice and warm. But near the windows it was cold. If that hotel were to replace the windows with insulated ones I bet they would save a tremendous amount on their utilities. We were on the sixth floor which was not too noisy but the second night when I used earplugs, I slept much better. I would definitely stay here again! You just can't beat this location and quality of room for the price!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shopper35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for this nice review. We lok forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
At your service..
Warmest Regards,
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    367
    69
    19
    16
See reviews for
621
107
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Excellent hotel for a group weekend away. Stayed in a two bedroom suite, which more than spacious and ideal for a group of four. Very clean hotel, with an exceptional front desk staff, and all the comforts of home (including fully equipped kitchen and dining room).
Be aware the hotel can be a bit loud at night if you are in the front and on a lower floor; but the hotel provides ear plugs and after a day of exploring New York City you will be too tired to care about the noise. Breakfast can be crowded, and food runs out quickly; but you can take breakfast up to your room with the trays provided. The waffle maker saves the breakfast experience.
Great hotel in an ideal location in New York City. Thanks to the hotel staff for giving me a cake on my birthday, and for all of the dining and walking directions!!! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by noise choose a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Lady B..

Thank you for your patronage and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were made to feel warm and comfortable by our staff.

We are working to better replenish the depleted items at the breakfast when we are busy with a rush of guests. We are glad you liked the fresh waffle maker!!

We hope to see you again soon!! Thank you again!!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel is well maintained, the room my family and I stayed in (Penthouse B on the top floor, 10th floor) is a nice room, although the view from the balcony (yes the penthouse rooms, PHA and PHB, have balconies) overlooks the backs of other tall buildings. I'm sure PHA balcony views are much nicer as they overlook the city streets.

The room was in great shape, furniture in great shape and the kitchen well equipped. We got into our room in the evening and discovered a hot room - radiator type heating with the valve on full output. So after figuring through it, was able to lower the temp.

Breakfast is so-so, only because me and my family weren't crazy with this cheesy sauce they put into their egg omelets. If they did away with the cheesy sauce and maybe served scrambled eggs, breakfast would have been more enjoyable. Also, the staff were kind of slow to replenishing the supplies. The eating area is small so we just took our food up to our room so no big deal.

The only major issue/problem I had with this hotel (being on the top floor) is a water pump that lives up there on the top floor in the walls to support water pressure for the building. The first night there I got no sleep as this water pump kept cycling on and off every 30-40 seconds and as it cycled it would make this huge loud banging (almost explosion) sound that would keep me awake. After speaking to the maintenance guy the next day (he was very helpful) he was able to work out a solution - the solution was to put this water pump in manual mode and thus keep running all night which then it would make a constant humming sound. But it worked, I was able to sleep through the humming and was happy for it. Since I've left the hotel, I did fill out a survey for Best Western and mentioned this as a bad experience for me, I heard back from the Hotel manager and he apologized and said something was wrong with their system as typically this pump is cycled off at nights and should not have been running at all. So if you stay there and happen to be in the top 2 floors, you may want to remind the front desk to cycle the pump off at night.

Oh and I feel it is important to note the hotel's internet connection (WiFi and wired)....IT WAS AWSOME. The WiFi connection I had in my room is super fast, just as fast as my home Cable internet connection. The best I've ever had staying at a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for top room. The rooms are still going to be noisy but the higher up you go will be a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveinABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Steve,

First of all thank you for yur review and for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and we appreciate your feedback.

We offer regular scrambled egg patties at the breakfast and change to cheese omlette alternately. The breakfast attendant has the scrmbled egg option available as well and they can be requested. The food does run out quickly when we are busy and our staff does try hard to keep everything fully stocked at all times. We are working to improve that as best we can. The pump you describe was having a problem and has since been repaired.

We appreciate your positive review and your feedback about the things we can improve on for your next visit..

Thank you again!! We hope to see you soon!!
Warmest Regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Sam, the guy at the front desk, is the BEST. He is totally awesome, and is super kind and friendly! When choosing a hotel in New York City, please please please choose the Best Western Hospitality House! Sam recommends the best places to eat and will do anything for his guests! He is the Man! He is so kind and greets you every time you come back to the hotel. Sam isn't the only nice one, EVERY employee was so friendly. We had a great stay!

Room Tip: pull out couch was a pain to sleep on, and the noise from thecity was loud, but the hotel provides e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avery q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for your stay and your review!

Sam is definately the Man! Sammy is a star indeed! We greatly appreciate that he made your stay memorable!

We do have memory foam toppers on request for the sofa beds and are replacing the sofa bed mattresses even though they are forly new.

Again, thank you for staying with us!

Warm Regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I was very skeptical of hotels in NYC because of all the bad press. The hotel was the cleanest that I've been in of ALL hotels. There was no mold in bathroom or kitchen! MADE MY DAY!!! We had a suite with 2 bdrms/liv area/kitchen and it was SOOO comfortable. Our concierge, SAM, was the BEST. He took care of all our needs, cabs, restaurants, trains info, shopping and food. The ONLY complaint I have is the elevator. One little bitty elevator for all 8 floors! Not only was it slow moving but in the mornings, sharing with the cleaning staff, was a nightmare. Lucky for us we were on the 4th floor and were able to walk the stairs most of the time. I will definitely recommend to my friends. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank athomedebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your review and stay with us. We love our Sammy I will let hiom know how much he is appreciated by guests and management. He is our most wonderful !!

We hope to see you again someday soon!

Warmest Regards,
Robert Gaeta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Really enjoyed our trip to NYC. Only made better by the great hotel and staff at the BW Hospitality! Sam the night concierge "aka "Sam the Man" was very helpful with getting around, restaurants and even arranged a limo for our Broadway show. I hope BW will award him with his own hotel, he really cares about his guest having a great experience. All the staff were polite and personable. Room was huge for NY, two room suite was perfect four family of four. Breakfast was good and complimentary w the room. 5 star!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Collen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for your patronage and feedback! We are very happy you had a memorable experience and that Sammy was able to take such good care of you. I will thank him for his efforts. Sam is super!

Once again, thank you!

We hope to see you soon!

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The good: we had a 1 bedroom suite, which was very spacious, especially for NYC. There is an excellent breakfast included and the room has nice wood floors, area rugs, and nice fixtures in the kitchen and bath. The bed in the bedroom was very comfortable, with a nice comforter. The location is outstanding and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

The bad: our room (2c) had no exhaust fans whatsoever; the bedroom windows leaked enough outside air into the bedroom to chill the room (it was in the 30-40 degree range overnight); the heating system was not regulated in our room (no thermostat or control) and heat only flowed when they sent steam through the radiators. Finally, our room, which faced the back of the hotel was very noisy.

As a result, it felt cool all the time, especially in the bedroom. Showers produced the usual amount of steam, but it did not clear quickly. Opening the bathroom window to clear the steam exposed us to traffic fumes, without benefit of a tightly fitting screen to keep out insects. Cooking smells linger due to lack of a true exhaust fan (there is a hood, with fan, but the output is directly back into the kitchen). My wife had difficulty falling asleep due to the outside noise.

If the bad things don't mean that much to you, you will be very happy at this place. We are used to a higher standard and will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Californian382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robg64, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your stay and honest feedback about our apartments and hotel. I apologize that your stay was not 110% perfect as we had both hoped.

I understand that the temperature fluctuations this time of year between winter and spring can be somewhat uncomfortable. There is a way to regulate the heat by opening and closing the radiator valves in the room, and there are independent AC units we have in each room for cooling. Opening and closing radiator valves for heat is usually done by our engineer as needed.

The bathroom window does open as mentioned to release steam from long showers and most rooms have a screen there so I will double check that. Perhaps a bad smoker knocked it off. I will look into adding exhaust ducts and hoods there and in the kitchens. Newer buildings do have those. We are a pre war building something highly sought after here in NYC by apartment hunters and real estate people because of the thickness of th plaster walls , large rooms, the real oak wood floors and 11 foot ceiling height.

The one bedroom apartments are off the street hearing noise there must have been from then parking garage which is normally quiet at night. Ear plugs are provided to help with any noises. We are also trying out very thick drapes which would solve both problems once in every room. The drapes will help with both drafts and noise.

Perhaps we could have another chance at having you stay with us once we are able to address some of your concerns.

Thanks again for your kind consideration.

Warmest Regards,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#109 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#44 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#87 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#145 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House
Address: 145 East 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#227 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting one of the most extraordinary cities in the world, we invite you to live like a New Yorker in the center of it all at the award winning BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House. Relax in your very own exclusive Manhattan apartment-style suite designed with all the comforts of a large home without sacrificing any of the benefits of hotel amenities and services. Imagine yourself stepping out of your front door and being in the center of it all, with all New York's spectacular major attractions just a short walking distance away. While resting in your suite all of the fantastic sights and sounds that make New York City so great are just outside your window. Hotel guests especially appreciate spreading out in their very own apartment suite after a full day out in our thrilling city. No other New York City hotel can compare to our oversized rooms and great location. We're ideally located near Times Square, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and any number of subway and transportation hubs. Our expansive apartment-style suites are designed to make your experience convenient and comfortable. As you enter one of our luxuriously appointed suites, you are warmly welcomed with a large living room, full kitchen, dining area, separate private bedroom(s) and a well appointed bathroom(s). The apartments all come complete with oak wood flooring, 11 foot ceilings, and noise reduction windows. All of our oversized suites are three and four room full apartments designed for luxury living. This property is designed to be a home away from home with fully outfitted kitchens, stone counters, stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, and kitchenware for up to six people. Pillow top mattresses and full bathroom botanical amenities are offered to all our guests. Both of our Penthouses have beautiful outdoor balconies in addition to all the rest. And it doesn't end there, The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality house dishes up complimentary breakfast daily. Enjoy piping hot eggs and made to order waffles, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, (delivered daily), juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi and a local fitness center access that keeps you connected and up with your fitness routine. Free fitness facilities and classes like yoga, kettlebell, and Pilates, basketball court, weights, machines, aerobics, sauna, steam room, and two swimming pools are all available to our adult guests. Free local telephone calls from your room and free newspaper at your door every weekday are just a few additional perks. Our award winning world class multilingual service team stands ready to anticipate anything you might need 24 hours a day. Read the variety of free newspapers or use our free computer/printers or just to come mingle with the other guests in our public lobby hospitality suite. Enjoy free tea or coffee there throughout the day. Take a break on our outdoor public deck that offers a quiet peaceful area during warmer months, complete with flowers and benches. Book your ideal New York City dream experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hospitality House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hospitality House Hotel New York City
Best Western Hospitality Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western
Best Western Hospitality House New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing