We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location. Friendly staff. Spacious apartments with kitchens!”
Review of AKA Central Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AKA Central Park
Ranked #249 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at AKA Central Park for 2 weeks at the beginning of October and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Initially we were in a room with no balcony, but after requesting a change they accommodated immediately and without hassle. Having the balcony was lovely!

The staff are really friendly. The location is great (really central to getting anywhere in Manhattan).

If we are ever in New York again... this is absolutely where we will stay!

I really liked the kitchen... it meant we could arrange an easy meal for either breakfast or lunch... which saved us having to 'eat out' three meals a day.

Good wifi too! & it was nice to be able to use the laundry facilities... (rather than pay any exorbitant hotel laundry rates). It's those little things that count!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappilyMarriedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed at AKA Central Park for six days at the beginning of October. My experience was exceptional - central convenient location, spacious one bedroom apartment which was well equipped, clean, with lots of amenities and stylish decor.
The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful with arranging tours, car service to and from JFK and concert tickets. The cafe served great coffee and fresh food, the fitness center was well equipped and clean. A bonus was having access to laundry facilities - washing machine and dryer at no cost, in good condition and clean.
I would definately recommend the AKA to others and will stay again when in New York.
The AKA exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: One Bedroom apartment is very spacious and accommodation at the back of the hotel quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brook50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed at aka central park by the end of september on a business trip. I dont think you can beat the duo location/price on this one. Nice studio, not great, but perfect for what it was, clean, good space , nice bathroom and tiny kitchen. I think it could have a better fridge, the one i had was too small and didnt handle the ben and jerrys that i bought. That said, everything else was perfect and the hotel staff were always helpfull and very nice. Lots of restaurants, subway and groceries nearbuy, walking distance. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I've stayed 4 nights at AKA central park with my wife and 3 year-old girl. The location could not be better.
The staff is friendly, the room was spacious and clean with a full kitchen which was ideal for those who are traveling with small children. Also, they provided me a late check-out with no further charges. The negative point is some noise during the night, that could be prevented with acoustic windows.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henrique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We couldn't fault this place. Perfect location, close to Central Park, Broadway, Times Square, 5th Avenue. Across the road from The Plaza Hotel. Lovely fresh food in the cafe downstairs - great breakfast and fairly decent coffee (for America). All staff were very friendly and professional. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaz747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed for 10 days with a one bedroom suite. The location for shopping (5th ave) and central park cannot get any better. I always come to NYC and stay in hotels, first time in a serviced apt. The space in much more than any hotel room, the service is far better. I highly recommend the AKA, was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dubai5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Our stay here was absolutely wonderful. The hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful. It has a great location just 1 block from central park and only a few blocks from 2 great subway stations that can get you pretty much anywhere. Our room was a Deluxe Suite Room on the 9th floor. We had freshdirect.com deliver food too our room the day we were going to arrive and the hotel staff put it in our room prior to our arrival. They offer free laundry self-service. It is downstairs in the lower level and you just bring your items down there, put them in the wash (soap is provided by hotel) and then in about 20 min they are done washing. Drying takes about 30 minutes. This is so handy! We had no problem leaving our wash down there while we were getting ready in the morning, there are staff members and camera's throughout the hallway area so we felt that we would not have anything stolen. All in all this was the best hotel experience I've ever had. The beds were so comfortable! Our room was very quiet and we never heard any street noise. Even that being said during our stay they had a company going around and measuring the windows for installment of soundproof windows, so if there were rooms that did have noise they shouldn't for too much longer!

Room Tip: Book through the hotel website. Communicate with the hotel staff and they will help you with just ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#148 of 471 in New York City
612 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 471 in New York City
3,001 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#262 of 471 in New York City
6,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
AKA Wall Street
AKA Wall Street
#220 of 471 in New York City
113 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#131 of 471 in New York City
1,471 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#106 of 471 in New York City
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Central Park

Address: 42 W 58th St, New York City, NY 10019-2505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $281 - $752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Central Park 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of one of Manhattan's most vibrant neighborhoods, just steps from Fifth Avenue, AKA Central Park offers both short and long term stays, and is home to 134 superbly-designed hotel residences with spacious living rooms, gourmet kitchens, and spa-like baths with amenities from Bulgari. Sophisticated amenities and services include a Technogym fitness center; European-style cafe; private screening room; exclusive evening resident lounge; complimentary wifi and business services, and a gracious 24/7 Resident Services Team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your AKA Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Central Park Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing