We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
469
116
19
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
116
19
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen wall street the financial district battery park subway station black fox executive studio art deco building apartment style well appointed kitchen brooklyn bridge new york stock exchange lower manhattan walk in wardrobe one world observatory an extra bed
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 614 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2016

Perfect stay from all points of view.
Friendly and helpful staff. Really nice apartment, clean and equipped with every comfort, kitchen with all implements, comfortable and wide doublebed.
Hotel just renovated and located in front of the Wall Street subway line, inside in the heart of Downtown life.
The breakfast needs to be improved but nothing more.
I'll definitely return here.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kris_ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna_QAHotel, General Manager at Q&A Residential Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2016

Hi Kris,

We appreciate your review! Thank you. We're always happy to hear when a guest has a "perfect stay" and we're excited for you to return. We'd made a note about the grab-and-go style morning treats. You feedback is very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2016

The rooms are very large and comfortable! The only disadvantage was that at night the constructors kept working ....but the friendly staff made everything ok! The gym was free and pleasant. The breakfast is very basic, perhaps that could be al little bit better, but for the price whe payed we cannot complain!! Staff very helpfull at al times!! Thank you again! Nicole and Maxime

Room Tip: Ask a room with a vieuw at the Pinestreet, the noice was less there
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna_QAHotel, General Manager at Q&A Residential Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2016

Hi Nicole!

We appreciate your positive review! We're so happy you enjoyed the large, comfortable suites along with the fitness center and helpfulness of our staff. Your feedback regarding the grab-and-go style morning treats is important to us--we've made a note. Thanks again for your review and we'd love to have both of you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2016

The rooms are very spacious (we had a 109 m2 room) with high quality equipment (eg. bose soundlink box), good beds and very clean. Location is also perfect. Although it is in the centre of financial district the street is not very crowdy and there is not a lot of (traffic) noise. Also very nice gym in the basement. Free Wifi in all rooms. Only small disadvantage is that the breakfast consists of some fruit and muffins and croissants and not much more. Final conclusion: perfect place to stay!

Stayed: March 2016
3  Thank Ikbenron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna_QAHotel, General Manager at Q&A Residential Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2016

Hi!

We're pleased to hear you found Q&A the perfect place to stay. It was our pleasure to host you and we'd love to see you again. Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2016

Although my stay at The Q&A hotel was all of 9 hours it was excellent. When I checked in I was informed that I was upgraded to a Loft which was a huge room with high ceilings and a full kitchen with a stove, oven and microwave along with a refrigerator. I could have stayed there for weeks. The bathroom and shower were top notch although the sink was a little small I then used the gym in the morning which was also huge plus I had the entire room to myself. I will be back. The only downside was I had forgotten toothpaste and they did not have any at the front desk What hotel does not have toothpaste? Thanks. Pete

Room Tip: Bring toothpaste.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna_QAHotel, General Manager at Q&A Residential Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2016

Hi Pete!

Thanks for your review. We're very glad to hear you had an excellent stay with us. We've made a note regarding toothpaste supply. We appreciate your feedback and would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2016

I personally think, the hotel is in a great location. A little quite as near the financial district, but the metro just 50 m away from the hotel. You have to know, that the hotel is in a residential building which is not yet finished. So you will search long time to see an entrance from the street, as it is only a door to the building without flags or and big entrance area. Once in the building, it is a labyrinth to reach to the reception. Had a great check in and were shown to the room directly. Have to say, for the price you probably have the biggest rooms in NYC. That was actually a reason why we choose it, as we travelling with four suitcases. You have a big room, with cooking stove and lots of other amenities. We booked it via booking.com and it said breakfast included. But the breakfast is actually some muffins and a coffee to go. But next door is actually a good place where you can get some breakfast to go. After two nights, our temperature in the room dropped to 60 and we had no hot water. Called the reception and they said, they have a problem with one of the pipes and if we would like to move. We did move to a little smaller one, what that was our decision, as we did not want to wait for the same room category to get ready. The room was warm and hot water was running. Same night, the temperature again dropped as a pipe broke. In the morning then fire alarm as more pipes broke and not heating at all anymore. Funny story, as i met the chief engineer/maintenance guy for the building, he told me that is mother nature. However, you don't really want to hear this when paying for a hotel room. I think, the biggest thing the hotel team is struggling with, is that the hotel is in the residential building and they have there own maintenance department. So difficult to communicate with, as they don't understand the hotel guests needs. Have to say, for the last night i got some refund as a good gesture. Also would like to mention Johanna who is the GM and Tomasz the operations manager for the great support. Will maybe try it again, once the building is complete finished.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanna_QAHotel, General Manager at Q&A Residential Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2016

Hi Thomas,

Thank you for your review—all feedback is very important to us. We hear your concerns and are glad we were able to reach a resolution privately. A significant drop in temperature that particular weekend caused the pipe burst, with other buildings in Manhattan encountering the same issue, but we do apologize for this rare, yet unfortunate occurrence. We’d love to see you again and can’t wait for guests to enjoy exciting new additions to the property in the future. Please let us know if you have any additional questions or comments that we would be happy to discuss with you further.

Johanna B, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews