We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the Hilton on 6th!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Ranked #307 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I've stayed at quite a few Hiltons internationally and Hampton Inns in the US (sign up for Hilton Honours points, it's worth it). The Hampton Inn Soho is definitely in my top 3.
First is service. Everyone from the maid to the manager Jay (who is amazing) wanted to help. After we arrived Jay called to make sure everything was satisfactory. I have never had that in any other hotel, upscale or budget. It's really hard to get superior service. The Hilton on 6th where my family normally stays has gotten too busy. No one cares, everyone is a diamond member, it's impossible to get good service. Next time my family is in NYC, they're staying here!
Second hotel itself. Clean, yes basic but you're getting a steal for NYC. No sign of any bugs (I'm very paranoid about bed bugs), new mattresses. Free delicious breakfast (I have celiac and there was eggs! Awesome!) The noise from the street can be a bit loud from the tunnel, so if you're a light sleeper ask for a room on the opposite side. However, you're in NYC, it's going to be loud!
Third, location. A minute from the Canal St. subway, a minute from China town, you're in Soho. It's really nice to not have a huge trek after a night out downtown.
I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayKumar54, Klein Vergara (Senior Agent) at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Wanderlust,

We’d like to thank you for sharing your experience with the Hampton Inn Soho. It makes our entire staff proud to hear that we are doing a good job. You are more than welcome to return anytime you wish and we look forward to hosting your family’s stay in the future. Feel free to call us directly if there is something we can assist with in your plans to return.

Kind Regards,

Klein Vergara (Senior Agent)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is very basic and the walls are very thin. Rooms are small and very basic. Breakfast not the best and staff are little too relaxed as in they don't pick up the phone. Not a nice place for a chic city

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brendanJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayKumar54, Klein Vergara - Senior Agent at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Brendan,

First off we’d like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn Manhattan Soho. We are truly sorry that your stay didn’t go according to your desires. Your feedback is greatly appreciated in that it allows insight on how we should better improve for the future of our guests. Our staff strives to welcome and treat every guest with the hospitality they deserve and at moments, things pick up where we might not be as quick to attend every guest as rapidly as they wish. My sincere apologies that we did not get to your phone call on time. We’d like to mention to you as well that standard city rooms may not always be as spacious as most would prefer but that we do carry other room types that may work out for you. We hope you allow us another opportunity to host your stay where speaking to a desk agent can detail any of your inquiries as far as requirements before you book.

Kind Regards,

Klein Vergara (Senior Agent)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Easy check in/check out: check! Friendly staff: check! Breakfast and coffee upon awakening: check! Clean: check! No bed bugs: check, check! Easy access to train...what more could you want?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schellyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayKumar54, Senior Agent at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

We greatly appreciate the time you took to comment about our hotel. We are glad that our location along with our hotel accommodations served you well. We hope to see you in the near future, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Manhattan Soho.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

It was in a good location and best thing was the free breakfast, rooms very small but clean

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shahow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayKumar54, Senior Agent at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Bumom,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you felt the particular room you were in was small. We do carry certain rooms that are indeed a bit bigger and perhaps in the future you can request one. We hope to see you return and are glad the rest of your stay was positive.
Kind Regards,

Klein Vergara (Senior Agent)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Super hotel about 2 blocks west of West Broadway (if you know Soho) on quiet side street. Do not be worried about the entrance to the Holland Tunnel about 3 blocks away. The hotel is quiet and serene, and the traffic is well controlled. Very comfortable beds. Stylish bathroom has shower only and you may need to either spend a minute figuring out how the control dial on it works (or ask reception). Powerful water pressure and plenty of hot water. Helpful, friendly, pro-active staff. Nifty lobby bar with decent drinks and no attitude (hi, Brandon). 19th floor has roof terrace with stunning views. Great restaurants (all price ranges), coffee shops, bakeries, etc., all within 1-2 blocks. You're close to everything: West Village is maybe 1/4 mile by foot. 1-2-3 and A-C-E subway lines are right close by. Cab to mid-town runs $10-12 with tip (peanuts by New York standards). Yet you're in Soho at a fraction of the usual Soho cost. I don't know how they do it, but it's fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul_in_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayKumar54, Klein Vergara (Senior Agent) at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking time out to express your experience at the Hampton Inn Soho. It appears everything served you very well, we are more than glad to hear that. I hope this means we’ll be seeing you return in the future. Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Klein Vergara (Senior Agent)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it was exellent. The rooms were clean, and the added value offered to the guests was outstanding. Free wifi is perfect to help plan your days and look up reviews and "must do's" as well as a great selection for breakfast, well beyond the typical continental that hotels usually offer. There were a few hot dishes, fruit, yogurt, cereal and an assortment of pastries, bread and muffins.

The location is perfect, only a few blocks from the Canal street subway and excellent nightlife and restaurants of SOHO.

The staff are lovely and extremely helpful. If you have any questions or need recommendations they always come through and if they don't know the answer, they will happily jump online and look things up for you. The Manage we dealt with Junita Kumar was excellent, he was personable, polite and always ready to help with anything.

They offered everything we could have asked for and more, we were thoroughly impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I was skeptical about staying here. Small hotel just west of SoHo, but was extremely pleasantly surprised at how perfect it was - especially for the money. The front staff, no matter the shift was always pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and useful (small, but nothing unusual for NY). You can't beat free breakfast in NYC. This is a hot (and cold) breakfast with eggs and waffles, etc. etc. Also, free WIFI in the room. The breakfast room itself has a lovely area that feels like it is outside. I spent hours working there (with WiFI). Even late in the day, the breakfast room has juice, coffee and fresh fruit. There is also a small bar off the lobby for an evening cocktail. The hotel is a block away from the start of SoHO and a couple of blocks from the west village, so very well situated. All in all perfect hotel for a business trip. My only complaint (given the low price of the hotel) is that the ice machine in the hallway sounds like a plan landing. Extremely loud all night long.

Room Tip: My room was across from the ice maker which makes a terrible racket all night. Highly recommend aski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthurcheung, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Bumom,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad to see that you did enjoy stay. I do apologize for the loud ice machine that you had to experience. We are working on a solution to correct that issue. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Arthur Cheung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#167 of 471 in New York City
1,508 reviews
TriBeCa
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#309 of 471 in New York City
2,062 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#149 of 471 in New York City
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#321 of 471 in New York City
973 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Seaport-Fi...
#268 of 471 in New York City
1,094 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#199 of 471 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Address: 54 Watts St, New York City, NY 10013-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Business Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $151 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing