We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the Hilton on 6th!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than the Hilton on 6th!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I've stayed at quite a few Hiltons internationally and Hampton Inns in the US (sign up for Hilton Honours points, it's worth it). The Hampton Inn Soho is definitely in my top 3.
First is service. Everyone from the maid to the manager Jay (who is amazing) wanted to help. After we arrived Jay called to make sure everything was satisfactory. I have never had that in any other hotel, upscale or budget. It's really hard to get superior service. The Hilton on 6th where my family normally stays has gotten too busy. No one cares, everyone is a diamond member, it's impossible to get good service. Next time my family is in NYC, they're staying here!
Second hotel itself. Clean, yes basic but you're getting a steal for NYC. No sign of any bugs (I'm very paranoid about bed bugs), new mattresses. Free delicious breakfast (I have celiac and there was eggs! Awesome!) The noise from the street can be a bit loud from the tunnel, so if you're a light sleeper ask for a room on the opposite side. However, you're in NYC, it's going to be loud!
Third, location. A minute from the Canal St. subway, a minute from China town, you're in Soho. It's really nice to not have a huge trek after a night out downtown.
I will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayKumar54, Klein Vergara (Senior Agent) at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Wanderlust,

We’d like to thank you for sharing your experience with the Hampton Inn Soho. It makes our entire staff proud to hear that we are doing a good job. You are more than welcome to return anytime you wish and we look forward to hosting your family’s stay in the future. Feel free to call us directly if there is something we can assist with in your plans to return.

Kind Regards,

Klein Vergara (Senior Agent)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    666
    229
    77
    45
See reviews for
394
531
97
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
JERSEY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is very basic and the walls are very thin. Rooms are small and very basic. Breakfast not the best and staff are little too relaxed as in they don't pick up the phone. Not a nice place for a chic city

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brendanJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayKumar54, Klein Vergara - Senior Agent at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Brendan,

First off we’d like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn Manhattan Soho. We are truly sorry that your stay didn’t go according to your desires. Your feedback is greatly appreciated in that it allows insight on how we should better improve for the future of our guests. Our staff strives to welcome and treat every guest with the hospitality they deserve and at moments, things pick up where we might not be as quick to attend every guest as rapidly as they wish. My sincere apologies that we did not get to your phone call on time. We’d like to mention to you as well that standard city rooms may not always be as spacious as most would prefer but that we do carry other room types that may work out for you. We hope you allow us another opportunity to host your stay where speaking to a desk agent can detail any of your inquiries as far as requirements before you book.

Kind Regards,

Klein Vergara (Senior Agent)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Easy check in/check out: check! Friendly staff: check! Breakfast and coffee upon awakening: check! Clean: check! No bed bugs: check, check! Easy access to train...what more could you want?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schellyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayKumar54, Senior Agent at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We greatly appreciate the time you took to comment about our hotel. We are glad that our location along with our hotel accommodations served you well. We hope to see you in the near future, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Manhattan Soho.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

It was in a good location and best thing was the free breakfast, rooms very small but clean

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shahow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayKumar54, Senior Agent at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Bumom,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you felt the particular room you were in was small. We do carry certain rooms that are indeed a bit bigger and perhaps in the future you can request one. We hope to see you return and are glad the rest of your stay was positive.
Kind Regards,

Klein Vergara (Senior Agent)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Super hotel about 2 blocks west of West Broadway (if you know Soho) on quiet side street. Do not be worried about the entrance to the Holland Tunnel about 3 blocks away. The hotel is quiet and serene, and the traffic is well controlled. Very comfortable beds. Stylish bathroom has shower only and you may need to either spend a minute figuring out how the control dial on it works (or ask reception). Powerful water pressure and plenty of hot water. Helpful, friendly, pro-active staff. Nifty lobby bar with decent drinks and no attitude (hi, Brandon). 19th floor has roof terrace with stunning views. Great restaurants (all price ranges), coffee shops, bakeries, etc., all within 1-2 blocks. You're close to everything: West Village is maybe 1/4 mile by foot. 1-2-3 and A-C-E subway lines are right close by. Cab to mid-town runs $10-12 with tip (peanuts by New York standards). Yet you're in Soho at a fraction of the usual Soho cost. I don't know how they do it, but it's fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_in_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayKumar54, Klein Vergara (Senior Agent) at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking time out to express your experience at the Hampton Inn Soho. It appears everything served you very well, we are more than glad to hear that. I hope this means we’ll be seeing you return in the future. Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Klein Vergara (Senior Agent)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it was exellent. The rooms were clean, and the added value offered to the guests was outstanding. Free wifi is perfect to help plan your days and look up reviews and "must do's" as well as a great selection for breakfast, well beyond the typical continental that hotels usually offer. There were a few hot dishes, fruit, yogurt, cereal and an assortment of pastries, bread and muffins.

The location is perfect, only a few blocks from the Canal street subway and excellent nightlife and restaurants of SOHO.

The staff are lovely and extremely helpful. If you have any questions or need recommendations they always come through and if they don't know the answer, they will happily jump online and look things up for you. The Manage we dealt with Junita Kumar was excellent, he was personable, polite and always ready to help with anything.

They offered everything we could have asked for and more, we were thoroughly impressed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I was skeptical about staying here. Small hotel just west of SoHo, but was extremely pleasantly surprised at how perfect it was - especially for the money. The front staff, no matter the shift was always pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and useful (small, but nothing unusual for NY). You can't beat free breakfast in NYC. This is a hot (and cold) breakfast with eggs and waffles, etc. etc. Also, free WIFI in the room. The breakfast room itself has a lovely area that feels like it is outside. I spent hours working there (with WiFI). Even late in the day, the breakfast room has juice, coffee and fresh fruit. There is also a small bar off the lobby for an evening cocktail. The hotel is a block away from the start of SoHO and a couple of blocks from the west village, so very well situated. All in all perfect hotel for a business trip. My only complaint (given the low price of the hotel) is that the ice machine in the hallway sounds like a plan landing. Extremely loud all night long.

Room Tip: My room was across from the ice maker which makes a terrible racket all night. Highly recommend aski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthurcheung, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Bumom,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad to see that you did enjoy stay. I do apologize for the loud ice machine that you had to experience. We are working on a solution to correct that issue. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Arthur Cheung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#344 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
SoHo
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
Sheraton Tribeca New York Hotel
#307 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Address: 54 Watts St, New York City, NY 10013-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#175 Business Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
#218 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Soho Hotel New York City
Manhattan Soho Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing