We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,560)
Filter reviews
1,560 results
Traveller rating
906
442
110
55
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
442
110
55
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand central station scott fitzgerald front desk new york boutique hotel view of the empire state building bryant park great boutique around the corner two blocks room was spacious small hotel continental breakfast great room times square enjoyed my stay convenient location
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 1,560 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2018

Just came back from a 4 night stay in this hotel . The hotel was in a good location within easy walking distance from Time square and Empire State. The hotel was clean and rooms was comfortable with complimentary water everyday . The housekeeping staff don’t start until 9 am to clean rooms which is another bonus if you don’t want to be disturbed. The staff were helpful and Friendly . My only thing I would of like is a kettle in the room even if you have to supply your own coffee this was available in the lounge area between certain times in the am . Free WiFi was available which was another bonus. I did phone the hotel before I arrived for info for taxi but the person I spoke with couldn’t help however reading the complimentary book in room it does say they do but probably this is for your return.
TIP if you have manage to find you way around the city you would definitely be able to get a train back to JFK WHICH is a lot cheaper and very straight forward .

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 1964jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Dear Jan,
At The Renwick Hotel New York our goal is to impress all our guests, so it's gratifying to know we succeeded during your visit. We're so pleased our clean, comfortable rooms were the perfect place to relax and that our friendly staff made you feel welcome throughout your visit. It's also nice to know that our location was ideal for your trip and that you appreciated the WiFi and complimentary water. Thank you for the suggestion about providing a kettle in the room. We'll keep this in mind for future updates and hope you'll come stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

Got an excellent deal thru Travelzoo. The room is very nice, albeit on a smallish side. The bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately we got a room facing another building just a few feet away, so had to keep the curtains down pretty much the whole time. Fortunately they had a NY skyline pic on them, so not too bad. But it was dark in the am, while in reality it was sunny. Staff is nice. They have a restaurant on site. Our reservation didn’t include breakfast. We ate at a very cool Matto espresso bar next door, where all Pastries and coffees, as anything else is $2.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BK122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Dear BK,
Our friendly staff truly enjoyed hosting you and will be glad they were a highlight of your visit. We're happy our comfortable beds and cozy rooms were perfect for your needs, however, we're sorry you'd have preferred a room with a view and will be happy to accommodate this request during your next visit. It's also nice to hear you had a wonderful breakfast at a neighboring espresso bar. Please come stay with us again the next time you're in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2018

The location of this midtown hotel is excellent. Very close to Grand Central Station as other reviewers have noted. Additionally, 40th Street is definitely a little quieter than some of the other main streets we have stayed on in the past.

However, our room on the 17th floor was tiny and for 2 people for 9 days and all the associated luggage that comes with it for a 1 month vacation (and we travel relatively light), it was just too small. For one person for 1-2 days is would be bearable but any longer and with two people, nup. Everyone says you spend little time in your room which is absolutely true but who wants to live in a place that looks like a laundry for 9 days and struggling to find space for anything?
There is nowhere to store luggage, the closet (which I struggle to call a closet) for hanging clothes is a tiny nook behind the full length mirror that is difficult to access.
Being winter, there was nowhere to hang coats. The design of the room, which some may call 'quirky', is impractical for a hotel and an extended stay. The house keeping was spotty at best.

I am a Hilton Diamond member but felt my loyalty was in no way recognised at this property whatsoever - I tried to change to a bigger room on 3 occasions (and I would have paid) but every time was given the 'check back tomorrow' line or 'see Fred in the afternoon' - I gave up in the end, it was too hard for a simple request and no one took any ownership of my request.

The associated restaurant was pleasant enough for breakfast but it was heated to an unbearably hot temperature so spent as little amount of time there as possible. The service however, was very good.

Overall, we wouldn't return despite the good location. I'd return to the Westin on 42nd Street or the Hilton Midtown on 6th for our extended stays. The Renwick is an awkward 'fit' in the Hilton portfolio of hotels

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jove99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Thank you for taking some time out of your day to share your review. While we are happy that our calm, central location was ideal for you, we are sorry that you did not find our rooms to be up to your standards for an extended stay. Although its size did not match your tastes, we hope that you were able to rest comfortably. We also apologize that we were unable to transfer you to another room. Our service should have been more proactive. With our variety of accommodations, we know that we have something that is perfect for you, and we hope that we have the opportunity to demonstrate that to you on a future stay. Please come back and see us here in New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018

Stayed here for 3 nights in August. Staff very friendly, good location, very small rooms but got it at quite a cheap price so that is to be expected for NYC.

5 minute walk to Grand Central station
Amazing diner down the road called Scotty's - Family run and very typical New York :)

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rbay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Dear Rachael,
Thank you for paying us a visit! We are so happy to hear that you had a positive experience with us here in the heart of the city. Our team believes that everyone can feel right at home at The Renwick Hotel New York and we are thrilled that our value was a highlight for you! We'll pass along your dining recommendation to our guests. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Great hotel very close to Grand Central Station. They were very nice and let us check in early. They also gave us extended checkout which help prolong our fun!

Great staff, including Jasmine at the front desk. The restaurant attached is awesome! Dhin, Victor & Jasmine were phenomenal servers & bartenders.

We will stay here again!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Dear Joe,
It is phenomenal to read that you enjoyed a fabulous visit! Thank you for your specific recognition of some of our team members. We are delighted that our warm and welcoming reception could help you feel right at home here in the center of the city. It would be a delight to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews