We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, private, clean”
Review of Kitano New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kitano New York
Ranked #118 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Decent, private, clean”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Nothing amazing about the Kitano, I stayed a couple of weeks back after two nights at the Shoreham which was much nicer. I think the Kitano could just use a facelift... It seemed clean, and was fine, I just didn't love it.
I did order room service and the food was really good.
The rooms are a good size for NYC, it's a short walk to Grand Central Station, which I did love as my favorite coffee shop is there - Joe, the Art of Coffee.... If you are a coffee fan, it's worth the trip.
The weather was fantastic for mid March, we walked to Dos Caminos down the road and had a very good dinner - Mexican.
One thing I did not like, on arrival my bed was short sheeted with the bottom sheet not covering the last foot of the bed, I ended up having to strip the whole bed and make it over, then the next day after the room had been serviced I noticed (cos I checked) again, the sheet did not reach the bottom of the bed.... It was only by an inch or two this time, but when you climb in bed the last thing you want to feel is the scratchy mattress protector on your feet.... Annoying.
Anyway, overall I'd have to just say average...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    423
    106
    33
    17
See reviews for
243
431
80
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Park Avenue is gorgeous in the Spring with the tulips and magnolia in bloom along the median, and we had the perfect view from our bright and relatively spacious room at the Kitano Hotel. Mirrors, gold and glass along with a sweeping staircase in the foyer created an opulent and spacious first impression. Efficient and accommodating staff streamlined service and anticipated our every need. Within walking distance of all our destinations, the Kitano will certainly be our first choice of hotels the next time we're in NYC.

Room Tip: Park Avenue people-watching was perfect from the 4th floor on the East side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My boss sent us to New York for our Christmas present. Great boss huh!!!!!! Because he booked it so late there were not that many nice hotels available for that particular weekend so he thought because he was paying so much it would be really nice. It was ok. The room was very nice and the bathroom was clean. But for the money I was expecting something GREAT. It was an ok location if you are visiting for the first time or doing all the touristy things because you are close to grand central station.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Our stay was quiet and peaceful and definitely first class. The room was spacious, larger than most NYC hotel rooms, and the lobby was lovely. Everything about the hotel was clean and sparkling. Even the towels were plush. Good climate control. Very comfortable.The only thing we couldn't figure out was the Japanese coffee maker in the room!

Room Tip: Even a room on the third floor overlooking the street was quiet. No problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed one night and it was perfect for our stay. Short walk to Grand Central Station. We are very sensitive to noise and there was absolutely no noise. The view from our room was superb - we could see the Empire State Building from our window. Beautiful at night. Would recommend but it was expensive but all hotels in New York are expensive!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TresMusketeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dracut, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hotel was ok. Rooms average size, nothing special. It is a smaller hotel and not many amenities. But the location is good, rooms are clean, and the price from hotwire was a good deal. I would stay again for the same deal. Valet parking is crazy expensive 59$! I know nyc is expensive, but this last trip has made me re-think going to nyc anytime soon. Way too expensive, 150$ a person for a broadway show! 20$ for a taxi ride. Super expensive weekend.

Room Tip: High room, non smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinWyman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Nice clean room, they have all the little amenities you would expect in a 4 star hotel. Check in, bell service and valet parking were all quick and easy. The room was quiet, could be the quietest, especially in NYC. I was pleasantly surprised to hear live Jazz when we returned from dinner. The lounge had a small crowd, good service and the live jazz was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greengoblins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#77 of 468 in New York City
985 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 468 in New York City
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#198 of 468 in New York City
2,043 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#97 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitano New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitano New York

Property: Kitano New York
Address: 66 Park Ave, At 38th Street, New York City, NY 10016-3007
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Family Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kitano New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kitano New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitano New York Hotel New York City
Kitano New York City
Kitano Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing