We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Beacon
Nearby Hotels
US$241
US$206
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Dream Downtown(New York City)
US$239
Dream Downtown
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$263
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (4,123)
Filter reviews
4,123 results
Traveller rating
2,546
1,313
180
56
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,546
1,313
180
56
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper west sidefairway marketcentral parkviand cafesmall kitchenettelevain bakerynew yorkstrawberry fieldsone bedroom suitestreet subwaytimes squarelaundry roomnatural history museumexpress trainlincoln centershort walkfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
2,575 - 2,580 of 4,123 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We booked this hotel purely on recommendation of Tripadvisor members and we were not disappointed. The location is so good, you won't regret it! Close to all amenities including subway, shopping, Central Park (so nice!), theatres, restaurants. The hotel itself is clean, the rooms are quite spacious and the people are nice, but nothing you wouldn't expect from a hotel like this. It was certainly not luxurious (bathroom especially quite small), but it had a homely feel to it. The sofa bed was not as good as described in some reviews, my teenage kids complained about it a fair bit. The kitchen was handy and being able to have some breakfasts there saved us a bit of money. All in all we were quite happy to have stayed there and for the location alone would stay there again :)
Some tips:
#1. I have never seen it mentioned but there is a great frozen yogurt place 2 minutes from the hotel (cnr 75th and Amsterdam Ave) called 16 Handles, we loved it!!
#2. Check out the cosy pizza place Patsy's Pizzas (cnr 74th and Columbus Ave) great affordable meals!
#3. If you visit the 9/11 Memorial book your visit online!! The Beacon will print the tix for free. The queues are enormous even if you have booked (security etc) but if you haven't booked, it's simply undo-able! We had to go back the next day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mhclm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our first trip to NY at this hotel. We loved the neighborhood and convenience of taking metro. The rooms are tastefully decorated, super clean and quiet. The only downside (and why I couldn't give it a 5 star) is the air-conditioning didn't seem to work even after mentioning it the first night (they did get the fan working). Normally I'd just open some windows but that wasn't an option due to the street noise (very quiet with windows closed). As other reviewers have mentioned the staff are friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from elevators and electrical rooms. Check air-conditioning on arrival so if there's a problem can be addressed prior to trying to sleep.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank afuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Last week we stayed one night at the Hotel Beacon and our visit was perfect. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The location is great, easy to get to, nice neighborhood, and right next to the Beacon Theather if you have show tickets. We will go to more shows there now that we found this hotel.

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank Fun2bblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and loved it! Only 2 blocks to central park, only a few more to Museum of Natural History. We walked into Town Square which is a great walk too, be aware it's a far way if you don't like walking. The hotel itself was clean, staff are very polite and helpful. Definitely would stay again :)

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank trippin_traveller_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have visited NYC a few times & have stayed in a different hotel each time, usually in the Midtown area. This one is now our absolute favourite and we would love to stay there again. The good reviews posted here played a big part in our decision to give it a try. New York is a fabulous, vibrant city and after a busy day, The Beacon is just a great place to come back to. The neighbourhood of the Upper West Side is stylish and safe. You feel like you’re part of the real New York. There are loads of lovely shops, restaurants & bars. We spotted the restaurant used in the movie “You’ve Got Mail” just a couple of streets from the hotel. We enjoyed having a drink at the Amsterdam Ale House after seeing a show on Broadway. It’s just round the corner from the hotel. Breakfast in the diner next door is a brilliant experience. The omlettes are fab. The hotel itself is calm and welcoming. The rooms are a great size with everything you need for a very comfortable stay. Our room had a kitchenette area with microwave etc. Everything is spotlessly clean. The desk staff/ concierge were always happy to help out with information. They have the right balance of friendliness & efficiency. The hotel is located a little way out of central Manhattan but it’s SO easy to reach the wonderful chaos that is Times Square etc. using the bus or subway. Both are really close to the hotel. All in all it’s a great place to stay in NYC. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as in this area you'll be able to see over the other buildings. We had a great view on the 16th floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FMMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews