We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Hotel Beacon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Beacon
Ranked #58 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in the Beacon Hotel as part of our honeymoon in October 2011, we spent a total of 4 nights here on our way back from Mexico. When we checked in we were delighted to find out that we had been upgraded to a corner room on the 25th floor. Wow - what a view! It was amazing. We had a small suite which was like an apartment with a bathroom and a small kitchen. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The location was great - the Fairway supermarket over the road is open late had everything you could want. We also found a great Irish pub called P. D. O'Hurleys just a short walk away where we were given a great welcome and made to feel right at home. We would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateM1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,118
    1,152
    143
    45
    22
See reviews for
1,368
991
119
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We booked this hotel purely on recommendation of Tripadvisor members and we were not disappointed. The location is so good, you won't regret it! Close to all amenities including subway, shopping, Central Park (so nice!), theatres, restaurants. The hotel itself is clean, the rooms are quite spacious and the people are nice, but nothing you wouldn't expect from a hotel like this. It was certainly not luxurious (bathroom especially quite small), but it had a homely feel to it. The sofa bed was not as good as described in some reviews, my teenage kids complained about it a fair bit. The kitchen was handy and being able to have some breakfasts there saved us a bit of money. All in all we were quite happy to have stayed there and for the location alone would stay there again :)
Some tips:
#1. I have never seen it mentioned but there is a great frozen yogurt place 2 minutes from the hotel (cnr 75th and Amsterdam Ave) called 16 Handles, we loved it!!
#2. Check out the cosy pizza place Patsy's Pizzas (cnr 74th and Columbus Ave) great affordable meals!
#3. If you visit the 9/11 Memorial book your visit online!! The Beacon will print the tix for free. The queues are enormous even if you have booked (security etc) but if you haven't booked, it's simply undo-able! We had to go back the next day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mhclm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our first trip to NY at this hotel. We loved the neighborhood and convenience of taking metro. The rooms are tastefully decorated, super clean and quiet. The only downside (and why I couldn't give it a 5 star) is the air-conditioning didn't seem to work even after mentioning it the first night (they did get the fan working). Normally I'd just open some windows but that wasn't an option due to the street noise (very quiet with windows closed). As other reviewers have mentioned the staff are friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from elevators and electrical rooms. Check air-conditioning on arrival so if ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank afuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

Last week we stayed one night at the Hotel Beacon and our visit was perfect. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The location is great, easy to get to, nice neighborhood, and right next to the Beacon Theather if you have show tickets. We will go to more shows there now that we found this hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Fun2bblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and loved it! Only 2 blocks to central park, only a few more to Museum of Natural History. We walked into Town Square which is a great walk too, be aware it's a far way if you don't like walking. The hotel itself was clean, staff are very polite and helpful. Definitely would stay again :)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank trippin_traveller_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have visited NYC a few times & have stayed in a different hotel each time, usually in the Midtown area. This one is now our absolute favourite and we would love to stay there again. The good reviews posted here played a big part in our decision to give it a try. New York is a fabulous, vibrant city and after a busy day, The Beacon is just a great place to come back to. The neighbourhood of the Upper West Side is stylish and safe. You feel like you’re part of the real New York. There are loads of lovely shops, restaurants & bars. We spotted the restaurant used in the movie “You’ve Got Mail” just a couple of streets from the hotel. We enjoyed having a drink at the Amsterdam Ale House after seeing a show on Broadway. It’s just round the corner from the hotel. Breakfast in the diner next door is a brilliant experience. The omlettes are fab. The hotel itself is calm and welcoming. The rooms are a great size with everything you need for a very comfortable stay. Our room had a kitchenette area with microwave etc. Everything is spotlessly clean. The desk staff/ concierge were always happy to help out with information. They have the right balance of friendliness & efficiency. The hotel is located a little way out of central Manhattan but it’s SO easy to reach the wonderful chaos that is Times Square etc. using the bus or subway. Both are really close to the hotel. All in all it’s a great place to stay in NYC. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as in this area you'll be able to see over the other buildings. We had a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FMMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had a 1 bedroom on the 11th floor with a kitchenette. I stayed here with my family and it was very clean and comfortable. Can not fault the service at all. The hotel staff were very courteous and very helpful. Warm and friendly. 15-20 minute slow paced walk to Times Square. The fresh food market across the road was excellent. Picking up the last minute items late at night, it was ideal!. I will definitely be back again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luvtravel029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#129 of 468 in New York City
2,352 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 468 in New York City
4,841 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 468 in New York City
3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#197 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 468 in New York City
2,052 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beacon

Property: Hotel Beacon
Address: 2130 Broadway at 75th Street, New York City, NY 10023-1724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beacon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Beacon NYC, a haven of comfort amid the bustling excitement of New York City. Located on the historic Upper West Side, amid tree-lined streets and landmark buildings, the hotel is a beacon for relaxation. Friendly and accommodating, we offer handsomely decorated, oversized guestrooms and suites. With wonderful views of Central Park, the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan, the Beacon is the perfect vantage point from which to venture anywhere in New York. And when your busy day is done, you'll have a perfect place to come home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Beacon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel New York City
Hotel Beacon New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing