We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Mid-Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #9 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A Gem in Mid-Town”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Reservations: easy and great price through the TripAdvisor website.
Check-in: efficient, accurate, and very warm and friendly.
Room: spacious and quiet, with superb bath towels and linens, very comfortable beds, and a nicely appointed bathroom with excellent bath products. Nice flat screen TV. FREE internet!
Breakfast and Wine and Cheese Reception: free and just fantastic. Much more than your typical hotel continental breakfast, with bagels, cereal, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and juices. Lovely wine and cheese evening reception.
Check-out: fast, efficient, and friendly.

This is an awesome hotel with a great location just off of Park Avenue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,003
    682
    102
    33
    10
See reviews for
829
1,860
167
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Just great! Great location, great hotel. The best in NYC!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whimsical66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I've traveled to NY many times in the last 10 years, both for business and for family holidays, and I've been to several hotels, from 5 to 3 stars. None of them deserved repeating... until I found the Hotel Elysée.

Location is perfect, one block from 5th avenue, nice clean street and surroundings. Room was big for NY standards, bathroom conformable for two, enough closet and drawers, etc. Service was great, always with a smile, any problem fixed very quickly.

The atmosphere is so charming, with romantic touches and very cozy spaces, like the library were we took our breakfast and had a wine before dinner at the fantastic Monkey Bar and Restaurant on the first floor.

All of the above, including breakfast, wifi, wine and hors d'oeuvre, coffee, tea and cookies all day long at a reasonable rate, makes Hotel Elysée the perfect hotel for me.

PS - Two small areas of opportunity: noise isolation for rooms that face the street (though the earplugs helped) and a faster/more reliable wifi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have just returned from our first three-night stay at the Elysee. It was very comfortable, more like staying in a private club than a big city hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of Park, 5th and Madison Avenues, to MOMA and Central Park. We like to walk, so a 20-minute walk to and from Broadway theatres avoided the stressful pre and post-theatre search for taxis. We will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just the perfect spot with a great location for shopping Madison Avenue and museums. Staff couldn't be nicer and the rooms are very nice and very clean. The breakfast was also lovely and a nice surprise. We also found it amazing how quiet the rooms are from road noise and also hearing other guests in the hallways, we thought we were the only guests in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJB621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Hotel Elysee over Christmas. It is in an excellent location. The staff & service were very fine. It is a comfortable, welcoming place to stay & we recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island, new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Again, Angela and I spent an overnight at Hotel Elysee celebrating her birthday. This hotel has become our home away from home. As usual, we were treated like royalty and to our surprise and delight, we were upgraded to a suite. If you plan to come to New York, please look in to staying at this very charming and hospitable hotel.
As far as I am concerned, it should be ranked much higher than it is.
Oh, by the way, we were greeted with a bottle of wine and chocolates.

Room Tip: If you want very quiet, ask for a room in the back but there will not be a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drnodk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,549 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing