We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #11 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The room was a good size and thd bathroom was a little small but very clean and the service was outstanding. The hotel is centrally located and perfect especially if you are running around all over the city. The hotel has a second floor lougish/library area where guests can have hotel-provided tea/coffee sna cks all day long. This was an excellent perk!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,855 - 2,861 of 4,112 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

Dear John and all staff,

Well you certainly did your utmost to ensure we not only enjoyed our 8 day stay but it must be said it really left such great memories of a truly special moment in our lives despite Hurricane Irene on our last weekend. We cannot wait to visit again and would love to see New York at Christmas time. As you know we were on our honeymoon having got married in Dublin at Clontarf Castle (worth a visit) on the 17 August and really wanted to ensure the place we stayed at in New York was great. I had a few reservations about staying at the place we were originally looking at as trip advisor showed very poor consistent feedback and the manager comments seemed all the same. I want you and the other travellers to know why we decided to then stay at Hotel Elysee instead. In part it was due to mainly positive trip advisor comments and more importantly your authentic individual feedback to customers who offered constructive feedback. Your comments shows that you take what people say seriously and you obviously have a passion for customer service and to ensure lessons are learnt and improvements made. That I feel is to be commended.

Your instinct regarding our room was spot on and we were very grateful for the upgrade especially staying a full week. I noticed other people felt the noise of the air conditioners were a worry and I have to say whilst it is loud you only need it on for short intervals and we did not have it on at night and were very comfortable. The continental breakfast was really good, especially the fruit salad and the ability to have request a cappuccino was greatly appreciated being a coffee head and to read the array of papers on offer made for a great start to the day. My only suggestion would be to also offer soft boiled eggs in addition to hard boiled eggs on request as when staying a week it offers a nice change. The staff at breakfast and during the evening were always smiling and seamlessly and efficiently went about their job with what appears to be a real sense of pride. This pride can also be seen in the servicing of our room.

We also very much enjoyed the wine and hors d’ oeuvres in the evening. A large choice and again was well executed by staff. Thank you again for also taking such good care of all of those guests in your care during the Hurricane Irene. The extra touches were noticed and appreciated.

For future guests are room was 103 which was a suite on the 10th floor and I would definitely recommend this room. Although the room was not facing the street it did not matter to us as we were out everyday experiencing the New York experience and the location is just ideal.

Thank you again for making it such a memorable time and making a difference to the enjoyment of our stay.

Lynda and Greg

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Reservations: easy and great price through the TripAdvisor website.
Check-in: efficient, accurate, and very warm and friendly.
Room: spacious and quiet, with superb bath towels and linens, very comfortable beds, and a nicely appointed bathroom with excellent bath products. Nice flat screen TV. FREE internet!
Breakfast and Wine and Cheese Reception: free and just fantastic. Much more than your typical hotel continental breakfast, with bagels, cereal, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and juices. Lovely wine and cheese evening reception.
Check-out: fast, efficient, and friendly.

This is an awesome hotel with a great location just off of Park Avenue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Just great! Great location, great hotel. The best in NYC!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whimsical66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I've traveled to NY many times in the last 10 years, both for business and for family holidays, and I've been to several hotels, from 5 to 3 stars. None of them deserved repeating... until I found the Hotel Elysée.

Location is perfect, one block from 5th avenue, nice clean street and surroundings. Room was big for NY standards, bathroom conformable for two, enough closet and drawers, etc. Service was great, always with a smile, any problem fixed very quickly.

The atmosphere is so charming, with romantic touches and very cozy spaces, like the library were we took our breakfast and had a wine before dinner at the fantastic Monkey Bar and Restaurant on the first floor.

All of the above, including breakfast, wifi, wine and hors d'oeuvre, coffee, tea and cookies all day long at a reasonable rate, makes Hotel Elysée the perfect hotel for me.

PS - Two small areas of opportunity: noise isolation for rooms that face the street (though the earplugs helped) and a faster/more reliable wifi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have just returned from our first three-night stay at the Elysee. It was very comfortable, more like staying in a private club than a big city hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of Park, 5th and Madison Avenues, to MOMA and Central Park. We like to walk, so a 20-minute walk to and from Broadway theatres avoided the stressful pre and post-theatre search for taxis. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just the perfect spot with a great location for shopping Madison Avenue and museums. Staff couldn't be nicer and the rooms are very nice and very clean. The breakfast was also lovely and a nice surprise. We also found it amazing how quiet the rooms are from road noise and also hearing other guests in the hallways, we thought we were the only guests in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJB621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 470 in New York City
1,439 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#6 of 470 in New York City
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 60 E. 54th St., New York City, NY 10022-4642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#8 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#10 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#15 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $347 - $871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Elysée, you will find the warmth and charm of a countryside inn right here in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Like some of the most distinctive bed and breakfasts in the world, the Hotel Elysée offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a luxury hotel – all included in the nightly rate. At Hotel Elysee, guests are welcome to unwind in the clubroom with complimentary refreshments serviced throughout the day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fresh fruits are served all day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided upon check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel New York City
Hotel Elysee
Elysee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing