We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop over and location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #347 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stop over and location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Good room. Clean, cheap, very helpful front desk personnel. Would definitely stay again. The location can't be beat, 1 1/2 blocks from subway to take you anywhere. Get a room away from renovation noises, another guest complained about it in the elevator but we had no noise what so ever. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for upper room away from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLHickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    1,801
    1,134
    348
    236
See reviews for
1,400
996
225
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Wanted to be close to the Theatre District, so this filled the bill! Usually the rooms in NYC are small for the price that you are paying....so if you want larger, and in this area, then this is the place to be. Yes...the plumbing in the hotel is something to be desired! Very loud flushes and crazy loud banging of door!! The bathroom is very small and the FLUSH from the toilets will almost suck you in! WOW!! The splash it creates is CRAZY!! Also, the bathroom tiles on the floor are sooooooooooooo very slippery! The Trip was with "the girls" and all of us almost went down due to the slippery tiles! This was true in shoes, socks or bare feet! Very dangerous! We also HATED the handicap shower....UGH!! That said...it was in a GREAT location with very accessible restaurants and bars in a very close walking distance. Try Bello and the Eatery...blocks away on 9th! We stayed in the South tower....less noise than North Tower. I am not sure we were in a newly renovated room....sure didn't seem like it!! But...we weren't in NYC to stay in a hotel room for long periods of time!!

Room Tip: South Tower is quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stamfordnortheastgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Best holiday... great base to stay. No noise, no fuss.. rooms are all pretty small in NYC but these were fine, great shower, nice big TV loads of channels, the reception staff were really pleasant and helpful if you needed them! Really comfy bed after a day walking around the big apple was just what we needes! About 10 min walk from Times Square but there is loads to do and see on the way and it was perfect setting to our NYC break! 5 nights - really affordable would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michaela_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed at the holiday in with a girlfriend for 5 nights, the staff was very friendly and helpfull the hotel room was very big (we were on the 7th floor).
A bit old but very comfy the biggest issue we had was the plumbing that was very noisy we could here it through the walls.
we recived a paper every morning and the room was clean and organized when we got back in the evening.
Great location as well vey close to the subway with the A train arriving direct from JFK.
Close to central park and a few stops from Time sq.
Just remember that you are paying for the holiday inn and not the Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KNGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel in February 2012 and thought it was awful. In the hallway on the seventh floor the wallpaper was falling off the wall and had been taped back on with masking tape. The wallpaper under the sink in our bathroom had peeled off and there was serious mold there. The room was only moderately clean. I spoke with the hotel staff who did offer us a new room, but we where there for only two days (Thank God!). Regarding the hallway, I told several staff but no one seemed to care to much. Food was edible, but not much more. I WOULD NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL AGAIN!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Christina H,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Thank you,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one week. I chose it because of its location and because of the price. I doubt you could find a better priced hotel in the area. If you want to spend an extra 100 then you could probably stay at another hotel in Manhattan but this hotel is fairly priced and not overpriced like the other 3 star hotels in the area. I asked for a newly renovated room when I checked in. I also checked in at 6 in the morning so I am very grateful to the clerk who checked me in early with no hesitation. I was staying on 10 floor. The room seemed to have new bedding and curtains. The carpet did not look new but it was not dirty. The bathroom was small but very clean. There was some rust on the toilet but nothing to complain about. Remember that this is an old property in New York city. Because of all the bed big reviews I took the time to inspect the room before settling in. I ripped the bedding apart and moved furniture and looked behind picture frames. I came up with nothing. Not even a dead cockroach. It was very clean! When staying in a hotel in midtown I only have two requests. No bed bugs and the rooms needs to be clean. You can't expect much else for the price. 150 a night in New York will buy you a high class room in a Motel 8. That's how far 150 goes in the area. Know what you are buying before you complain. That being said I am disappointed that I wasn't told at check in that the AC was not working. I called down later that night and the desk clerk told me they didn't turn on the AC until April. Which is fine. If that's how they run their hotel I have no problem with that but I would have appreciated being told at check in. They quickly offered an electric fan for the room. I asked for two and they brought the fans quickly. The fans helped a lot and because it was not hot outside I didn't really need AC. This would be a big issue in the summer time. I would suggest calling to make sure the property has AC. My only other complaint is that the smoke from the room upstairs came down into our room from the bathroom vents. I'm not smoker so it did bother me. I was not in the room very often so I did not complain. I would stay at this property again. The rooms are not the best but they are the best that I could afford. There are plenty of cheap hotels in NYC if you are willing to commute. Overall, they have nice clean rooms. Great housekeeping staff. Friendly front desk. Great location. Great prices. Could use some updates but I felt like I got what I paid for. If you have an extra 100 a night to spend then spend it! There are nicer properties. Either way. It's NYC. Enjoy your time and save your money for the city!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubyWick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just got back from a six night stay in New York and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Midtown. I was in the north tower on the 9th floor and the room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly at check in but the bell staff was the friendliest and most helpful. All the staff responded quickly to our needs and questions. The hotel is near subway stations, central park, Times Square and was in a convenient location. Walked around at night and I felt safe. The room was large but the bathroom is small but it served its purpose. The bed was comfortable and clean.

I would stay here again if I go to New York. I would recommend this location to my friends too. It is not a resort, just a clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveling2funxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#335 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#312 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,702 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#286 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#383 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,870 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#298 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing