We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to shake the dust off.....”
Review of The Watson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Watson Hotel
Ranked #351 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Need to shake the dust off.....”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very good location near Central Park. They have begun some renovations......and it needs it. Nothing bad, but it just feels well worn. The AC/Heater unit in my room sounded like a jumbo jet. A general face lift will help.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traderjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    1,844
    1,169
    365
    244
See reviews for
1,450
1,031
229
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our first visit to NYC, and we expected more for the price. As other reviewers have stated, the room was a good size, the beds were comfortable, and the area was quiet. Our room, however, wasn't very clean. We moved the nightstand and bed to find an outlet and discovered LOTS of dirt and a few used tissues. The doors had dirty hand film on them, and the sheers hanging over the air conditioner unit were gray with dirt. The shower had mold in it. You should be able to expect much more for over $300 / night! You don't even get breakfast for that rate! Our main complaint, though, was with the bellman staff. We wanted to store our bags after check out, since we wouldn't be leaving the city until later. We were hastily directed by the front desk to stand at the door to the side, where we stood in line with another family for about 5 minutes, before someone noticed us and told us to go to another door across the lobby, where someone would meet us. This employee had no idea what the SERVICE industry is about. He was condescending and very rude, and when one of us snapped back in frustration, he told us not to be rude! We noted this same employee earlier literally ripping a luggage cart from a guest's hands, stating "there are ours"(indicating the bell staff). He didn't even ask he if he could help her with her bags!
As for the parking garage...it was very convenient. Although this was a private company,we were told by Holiday Inn reservations personnel and this hotel's front desk that it would be $27 for the first 24 hours and then a pro-rated per hour rate after that. When we picked up our vehicle, we were told we had to pay "overtime" and pay for the whole next 24 hours! There was a sign in the garage showing the rates, and it showed partial day rates. We would have paid less if we had paid for the first 24 hours and drove out and then back in. How absurd! Holiday Inn should get their story straight on this...we feel like we were lied to.

Room Tip: Close the drapes so the afternoon sun doesn't heat the room. The AC is not very efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KWScooterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in a couple of double/double rooms in April and were there for 12 days. In spite of asking for quiet rooms we were given ones by lifts which ding-ed all the time and people used the area as a meet and greet. Constant noise with door banging (they have no softly, softly door returns) and you could hear all the plumbing and external traffic noise was bad too. We were on the 4th floor.
It was clean and a reasonable size, but overpriced Hotel for what you actually get in terms of service. You could do much better elsewhere. Carpets grubby and curtains grubby though housekeeping kept everything else up to scratch. The staff were nice and pleasant but I feel they are badly let down by the poor standard of the Hotel. They were doing up the pool area and we also got daytime drill noise. The restaurant on site does an adequate breakfast but it could do with menu varying from time to time. We ate out mostly down 8th or 9th Ave - lots of eating places and varied choices. Hotel was conveniently located but think other Hotels wouldn't have to do much to exceed this one. They hire out Conference rooms for parties and we got alot of noise from this as well. They are a large Hotel with loads of big tour groups and is ok if staying for a short time and you don't mind noise. We had hoped that a nice ambient Hotel would add to our fun stay in NY, but sadly this Hotel didn't cut it. We would stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Stay on opposite Tower to the pool Tower and away from Rooms that face the Road. Make sure you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abby058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Abby058,

Thank you for your feedback, and choosing our hotel. I'm sorry the ambient internal, and external noise of the hotel had such a negative impact on your stay. We are always working to be the best we can be, and feedback like yours will help us to work on areas that need improvement. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Me and my sister stayed in this hotel in febuary for my 21st. The staff were lovely and the rooms where what to expect but they charged us money every day and told us this was incase we broke anything but charging us £60 a day for a weeks visit and then being rude about it made our trip rather unpleasent

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cremona91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisville, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed in room #1500 2 dbl beds, great size room for NYC. Comfortable beds, clean and spacious. Nice lobby with excellent concierge service. Subway at Columbus about a 10 minute walk. Hells kitchen restaurants on 9th ave about a 5 min. Walk. We ate Uncle Marios around 4 blocks down on 9th. Reasonably priced and very good food. We ate breakfast at the hotel which was adequate and somewhat reasonable considering it was a hotel restaurant. I would definitely stay here again when visiting the city, loved the area and the hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This decor in this hotel is a bit "tired" but the place is clean, the staff are so helpful and the location is great. We spent one week in New York with a list of things to do and places to see. There is a diner on the next block which we visited for breakfast. The bus stopped outside the hotel, we buy a pass and enjoy travelling on the buses. Not the quickest way to get around but we meet some characters. We had a fabulous week and would return to this hotel on another occasion.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank picassoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I chose this hotel for it's location, amenities and it's price. It's one of few hotels that offer on site parking with a bar and restaurant in lobby. I booked 4 nights and 5 days. I took a gamble ..After reading reviews I was scared of what I would find upon arrival but once I got there I felt right at home. This hotel was above my expectations. Room was big, bed was verry comfy air conditioner was a bit weak. Location was exceptional . Subway less than 5 mins away and never more then a 30 minute walk to anywhere. battery park to catch the ferry to Ellis island/statue of liberty felt like a 20min walk. The streets have short blocks and much to look around at which makes every walk feel like it's half as far. Hotel staff was very nice and housekeeping did a great job tidying up the messes we made in our room. Id stay there again without question. Only thing, I'd advise to go for breakfast outside the hotel. Breakfast is decent but over priced. 30$ without tax for two people only ordering simple eggs with coffee. There's a breakfast place called route 66 around thee corner I recommend. All in all I give it 9/10. Perfect for couples or family! Thang for making our experience a good one holiday inn! :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweet_stefy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#267 of 466 in New York City
2,491 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#291 of 466 in New York City
128 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#329 of 466 in New York City
5,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#391 of 466 in New York City
6,206 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 466 in New York City
5,054 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 466 in New York City
6,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Property: The Watson Hotel
Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing