We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dream Downtown(New York City)
US$309
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$294
US$248
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$175
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$178
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (5,019)
Filter reviews
5,019 results
Traveller rating
1,210
1,887
1,093
476
353
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,210
1,887
1,093
476
353
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squaregreat locationnew yorkrooms are smallaround the cornerboutique hotelrockefeller centercentral parknycsubwayconciergebroadwayavenue
Filter
Updating list...
3,624 - 3,629 of 5,019 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2011

First impressions are good as the lobby area is spacious and well designed and our check in was easy and painless. There is a distinct lack of continuity between the lobby area and the rest of the hotel in terms of design and space. The feeling I had is that the lobby is for a higher grade hotel than the one actually upstairs. Its the generally dark decor of the rooms and hallways that give it a slightly dreary ambiance. Disappointing after the bright cheerful lobby so hopefully that's something the owners can address in the near future as potential is there.

We stayed in one of the cheaper room grades: a Standard One Double Bed Room. This had the bare minimum of room around the bed for 2 suitcases. No wardrobe or storage space at all. There was a small fold out clothes rail on one side which would be fine for a guy travelling solo but not a couple. The bathroom was clean, white tiled and minimalist with no heating, so it was like a fridge in the mornings. Obviously that's just a winter issue as it was below freezing outside when we stayed: the water heat and pressure from the shower was good. I really did not like the naff white plastic shower curtain. At this price level you expect a solid sliding door or partition.

The bed itself was spacious and very comfortable with nice linen and our room was well insulated from outside noise. A large flat TV and iPod radio modernised the room nicely. I would still recommend ear plugs to anyone staying here if you are a light sleeper, as the sound from doors opening and closing in the hallways is clear as a bell.

The hallways were often littered with breakfast trays and room service detritus, especially the stairwell areas which we were forced to use when the elevator broke down. Being on the 6th floor made this more of an annoyance than perhaps it would have been. I appreciate it must be hard to keep a hotel this small tidy all the time but nevertheless.

In summary: If being on the door step to Time Square is more important to you than a room with practical space and you plan on being out most of the time then I could recommend a Standard One Double Bed Room at this hotel. Ideally for solo travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norskTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayManager, General Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2011

Dear norskTraveler75, Thank you for sharing your experience with me and recommending Stay. to other travelers. We do offer several different room type sizes, so if extra space is important to you I would highly recommend booking the deluxe King room on your next visit. Please contact me at cmallon@stayhotelny.com , so that I can personally assist with your accommodation arrangements. Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes,
Christopher Mallon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2010

I stayed one night here.....on night too many. I have been travelling in the USA for 7 months in comparably rated hotels. This is by far the worst. Is there enough room in this review to cover all the complaints. The room was so dark I could hardly see, making it very difficult to sort clothes, etc. The shower arm was broken. There was no room service menu (they were being printed). It then took 30 minutes.... a mush of something which was tasty and edible, and a salad smothered in oil and squashed with plastic wrap. And a glass of wine. $74!!!......I also had a sick stomach for a week afterwards?? The air conditioner was very loud. The lifts are inadequate and very slow.
When I went to sleep I had the TV on a Public Television channel; next morning I switched it on to the next channel and was confronted with hard core pornography....for the next 3 channels as well. I was disgusted and insulted and was very pleased I didn't have a child with me. Is this legal? The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flitzaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayManager, General Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

Dear Flitzaround, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. We would like to apologize for your experience. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to improve the high standards of our hotel. In an effort to provide you with an experience that is memorable for the right reasons, I would like to invite you back to Stay. Please contact me directly, so that I can assist with your arrangements. I know that sincere words of regret and apology cannot make up for your disappointing visit. However, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Christopher Mallon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We cancelled our reservation at the Milford Plaza after sleeping there 2 nights in 2 different rooms... It was terrible... dirty and very old. So we decided to try the Stay Hotel. We got to see the room before booking and it was great. Because of the christmas holiday we got a free upgrade to a deluxe room. The room was good. Small for a deluxe but it looks nice and has a great Bose Wave as radio and alarm clock. At night it is a bit noise because it is located around the corner of broadway but it was ok. Subway across the street so that made our trip extra pleasant. All in all very nice place to stay in new york!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayManager, General Manager at Night Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2011

Dear Yshai, Thank you for your endorsement! We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Stay. We hope to welcome you back in 2011.
Best wishes,
Christopher Mallon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed in Stay Hotel NY between Dec 10th through 13th. The location was great. However, the reason I write this review is a single staff working in the hotel named Sally Garcia. She was always smiling, sincere, enthusiastic, kind and helpful. I would like to thank to her once more from here and sending my best wishes again. As long as she works in Stay Hotel, I would definitely consider to go and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BALPMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2010

First time in NYC, and we chose a place close to Time Square which it is only steps to the bright light. Very modern/attractive inside, don’t be discouraged from the outside.

We were expecting a small room (heard all of NYC hotel rooms were small), and boy was it small. The king bed we had to upgrade too was so small, I am 5'9" and my feet hung off. This was not a King size bed, but for some reason was really wide???

There is a club /restaurant/NIGHT CLUB downstairs and we were excited to check it out. At night on the weekend the club goes until 4AM!?!? We were on the 4th floor and the music kept us up, until about 2AM, we heard screaming, looked outside and a fight had broke out from the club. Luckily they closed down for the club for the rest of the night.

The other disappointing thing that happened was I accidently broke a bottle of nail polish in the bathroom sink (no cabinet space for anything in the bathroom) and did not have polish remover. I called downstairs to see if they had polish remover or would help me and they said "no, but you better clean it up or you will be charged for that, but go down the street to the market and buy some."

This was a little irritating since most hotel staff in other places seem to always want to help since you are the guest visiting. I assumed since we had paid a lot of money to stay there, they would of been more understanding, it's not like I did it on purpose.

Overall the location is great, and I truly enjoyed my first trip to NYC.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARS819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews