We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“More than 2 nights? Upgrade your room.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel
Ranked #176 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Torrington, CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“More than 2 nights? Upgrade your room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

All the reviews about a great value and amazing location are true. We had the cheapest room, a Superior Double, which was more than adequate. Immaculate, and loved the vanity. Really didn't need anything else and we will book it again.

Still, if you need to be there more than two nights I'd suggest upgrading to a room with either more space, OR MORE IMPORTANTLY, a window looking out over the street. I needed to checkout or have some daylight shining in by then.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ski_Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    591
    160
    48
    26
See reviews for
243
504
107
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The room is very big, and fairly nice. The bathroom is lovely. The staff in the breakfast room ignored us for 30 minutes while chattering amongst themselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Waverley Place -- it's quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTNHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Lovely little room newly refurbished and luxuriously decorated with taste. Extremely quiet because on the back. The corollary is that there is not much wind or light, despite the fact that I was on the 8th floor out of 9, so I had to leave the airconditionning on at all times, but you can’t have it all. Free WiFi in the room. Big enough safe in my room to store my small Vaio laptop. Sumptuous breakfast. They call it modestly: “complimentary continental breakfast” but nowhere on the continent you would find such a great breakfast. Everything you need is there: OJ, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, toasts and several kinds of breads, croissants… And of course the location, in the heart of the Village, straight at the corner of Washington Square.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cham0is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We've just returned from a 4 day stay at the Washington Square Hotel and cannot sing its praises enough. The location is simply excellent. As first-timers in NYC it was great to stay in an area as laid back and lovely as Greenwich/West Village. You are a stone's throw away from endless bars, restaurants and of course the beautiful Washington Square park but still within walking distance or a cab/subway ride to the major sights. We actually walked the entire length of 5th Avenue from just outside the hotel, which was a great way to see New York by foot.

In terms of facilities, the room price included a continental breakfast which consisted of fruit, bagels, croissants, biscuits and muffins, plus yoghurt and cereal. We only ate the breakfast twice as we were spoiled by numerous diners, brunch venues, but it's adequate and will set you up for the day. Our room was admittedly tiny, but we spent very little time in there. It was immaculate in condition and very comfortable. A nice touch is a coffee machine and crisp white bathrobes. We didn't use the hotel bar but it looked lovely and the hotel is equipped with a gym (if you have the inclination, but I'd recommend pounding the streets to get your exercise).

The staff were also incredibly attentive and helpful. Always polite, the door staff were particularly friendly, offering shopping, eating and transport advice on our way out every day.

Things to do in the area that I'd recommend:

Walk along University Pl. (turn left out of the hotel and walk along Waverly Pl. till you see it) - loads of nice shops and cafes. We had brunch at Jacks outside in the sunshine, great menu and good service.

Go to Bleecker St. If you like live music you'll love it there, there's tons of live music bars, most with singers/bands/open mic nights on nightly, most free entry.

Eat at the Good Stuff Diner: a short walk along 6th Avenue. Simply the best breakfast I have ever eaten and a must for those wanting the quintessential NYC brunch experience. I'm still disappointed I only got to go there once.

I can't think of any negatives with this hotel, perhaps except the size of the rooms, but that's New York. All in all, great value for money, fantastic location and brilliant staff. I will be recommending the Washington Sqare to everyone I know who's planning a trip to New York, and I hope to go back there soon myself!

Room Tip: The smaller cheaper rooms are tiny and have no view, but this is typical of NYC and you really shoul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmaclarekidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel more than 5 times during the last few years. If you want to be part of the West Village, I know of no better choice. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are typical NY-size. The entire facility is clean. There's a lot going on in this unique, central area, and the Washington Square Hotel makes you feel like part of the neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here for nearly a week at the beginning of March and had an excellent stay.

Never having been to New York before, we chose the Washington Square on the recommendation of a friend and am pleased to say that it was a very comfortable stay. Our room, 718, was on the corner, almost overlooking the Square, on the front elevation. It wasn't a large room, but it was comfortable, clean and with the facilities one would expect.

However, the street outside can get noisy in the night, with refuse trucks collecting in the small hours. On one night, the City decided to mend the road opposite the hotel. Jack-hammers at 11:30pm until 2:30am is not something I was expecting. Not the hotel's fault, though, and the desk clerk did go and speak with the workforce on our behalf and offer us earplugs.

The breakfast can either be a cooked or a continental buffet. On our first morning, a Sunday, the continental was in a sub-basement room/bar area and was great. A wide variety of pastures, bagels, etc, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, etc. Later in the week, this room was always closed, and we had to eat in the serviced area. The continental was still gratis, but you had no choice, as the waiters went to the kitchen to fetch the food. The cooked offer, which we ate one morning, was "OK". I didn't write home about it.

Don't try to eat ion the ground floor bar - the tables a rev far too small.

Very friendly doorman, Ronnie, who had lots of hints and advice about visiting the city and excellent desk staff.

Would definitely stay here again, if in the City, but would make sure the earplugs were handy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road would appear to be the better ones, but watch out for some road noise in the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicaUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#96 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#115 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#93 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#129 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#192 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#143 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Property: Washington Square Hotel
Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#150 Family Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing