We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Washington Square Hotel (West Village) in the Spring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Washington Square Hotel (West Village) in the Spring”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

It's always an adventure and fun to drive into Manhattan, especially in the rain. Particularly true, when you place your trust into a GPS rather than rely on long-term memory. The GPS took us from NJ through Staten Island to Brookly and over the Brooklyn Bridge rather than under through the Holland Tunnel (long-term memory). So we save a half-hour on traffic and drove through 3 of the 5 boroughs only to find a street fair along Waverly Place in front of the hotel. So, we found our intended parking garage two blocks away and jettisoned the SUV to the street smart guy who was happy to park it deep and forget about for a few days. Only two blocks and we had packed light so we strolled over with suitcases through the food vendors and artists along Waverly. Hotel staff happily greeted us a little before 3 PM, heard at least 3 different languages immediately which confirmed WSH as a European traveler favorite, and ushered us to our comfortable room with a large bath, comfy beds/pillows, free wi-fi, and continental breakfast. Rooms are not large but adequate and well-maintained. Remember, it's location, location, location! We went for a walk in Washington Square Park (built for the100th anniversary of honoring our first elected president) and found a great place for fresh Italian hot chocolate with double expresso) and got re-oriented to the habits and culture of the CITY. Located between 6th (Ave. of Americas) and 7th, WSH is a great base to explore the Village or hale a taxi for downtown (financial district or the place where all our money got lost) or mid-town and fan out shop, search for food, clothes, fabrics (check out West 40th near NY Times building and the foodie places along 7th Ave or the high-end shops over on 5th Ave. Every block east-west or north-south is an adventure as the pulse of the city grabs you. Have fun! Oh, yea! NYC water (by aqueduct from upstate NY) is better than bottled, so fill up before you hit the streets.

Room Tip: WSH is 9 floors with 2 lifts (elevators). If you want a bit of quiet and a view of the village at r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnfam105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    624
    165
    51
    26
See reviews for
269
535
112
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, CT
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

All the reviews about a great value and amazing location are true. We had the cheapest room, a Superior Double, which was more than adequate. Immaculate, and loved the vanity. Really didn't need anything else and we will book it again.

Still, if you need to be there more than two nights I'd suggest upgrading to a room with either more space, OR MORE IMPORTANTLY, a window looking out over the street. I needed to checkout or have some daylight shining in by then.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ski_Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The room is very big, and fairly nice. The bathroom is lovely. The staff in the breakfast room ignored us for 30 minutes while chattering amongst themselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Waverley Place -- it's quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTNHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Lovely little room newly refurbished and luxuriously decorated with taste. Extremely quiet because on the back. The corollary is that there is not much wind or light, despite the fact that I was on the 8th floor out of 9, so I had to leave the airconditionning on at all times, but you can’t have it all. Free WiFi in the room. Big enough safe in my room to store my small Vaio laptop. Sumptuous breakfast. They call it modestly: “complimentary continental breakfast” but nowhere on the continent you would find such a great breakfast. Everything you need is there: OJ, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, toasts and several kinds of breads, croissants… And of course the location, in the heart of the Village, straight at the corner of Washington Square.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cham0is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We've just returned from a 4 day stay at the Washington Square Hotel and cannot sing its praises enough. The location is simply excellent. As first-timers in NYC it was great to stay in an area as laid back and lovely as Greenwich/West Village. You are a stone's throw away from endless bars, restaurants and of course the beautiful Washington Square park but still within walking distance or a cab/subway ride to the major sights. We actually walked the entire length of 5th Avenue from just outside the hotel, which was a great way to see New York by foot.

In terms of facilities, the room price included a continental breakfast which consisted of fruit, bagels, croissants, biscuits and muffins, plus yoghurt and cereal. We only ate the breakfast twice as we were spoiled by numerous diners, brunch venues, but it's adequate and will set you up for the day. Our room was admittedly tiny, but we spent very little time in there. It was immaculate in condition and very comfortable. A nice touch is a coffee machine and crisp white bathrobes. We didn't use the hotel bar but it looked lovely and the hotel is equipped with a gym (if you have the inclination, but I'd recommend pounding the streets to get your exercise).

The staff were also incredibly attentive and helpful. Always polite, the door staff were particularly friendly, offering shopping, eating and transport advice on our way out every day.

Things to do in the area that I'd recommend:

Walk along University Pl. (turn left out of the hotel and walk along Waverly Pl. till you see it) - loads of nice shops and cafes. We had brunch at Jacks outside in the sunshine, great menu and good service.

Go to Bleecker St. If you like live music you'll love it there, there's tons of live music bars, most with singers/bands/open mic nights on nightly, most free entry.

Eat at the Good Stuff Diner: a short walk along 6th Avenue. Simply the best breakfast I have ever eaten and a must for those wanting the quintessential NYC brunch experience. I'm still disappointed I only got to go there once.

I can't think of any negatives with this hotel, perhaps except the size of the rooms, but that's New York. All in all, great value for money, fantastic location and brilliant staff. I will be recommending the Washington Sqare to everyone I know who's planning a trip to New York, and I hope to go back there soon myself!

Room Tip: The smaller cheaper rooms are tiny and have no view, but this is typical of NYC and you really shoul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmaclarekidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel more than 5 times during the last few years. If you want to be part of the West Village, I know of no better choice. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are typical NY-size. The entire facility is clean. There's a lot going on in this unique, central area, and the Washington Square Hotel makes you feel like part of the neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Property: Washington Square Hotel
Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#149 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing