We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Washington Square Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The Bentley Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$336
US$281
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Parker New York(New York City)
US$415
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
US$295
US$234
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$634
US$617
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$197
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$239
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$140
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (1,542)
Filter reviews
1,542 results
Traveller rating
606
671
181
57
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
606
671
181
57
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreenwich villagewaverly placecontinental breakfastbob dylanbagelsgreat locationnew yorkrooms are smallart decofresh fruitdeluxe roomboutique hotelbrick wallaround the cornerlower manhattanstreet noisesubway station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
905 - 910 of 1,542 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Right in the middle of Greenwich Village, just off Washington Square Park sits this small perfect hotel. Small rooms, great value, clean, and with simple style. Super friendly staff. It feels like you are living in the neighborhood. Near NYU. I think I will always stay there when Im in NYC.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

It's always an adventure and fun to drive into Manhattan, especially in the rain. Particularly true, when you place your trust into a GPS rather than rely on long-term memory. The GPS took us from NJ through Staten Island to Brookly and over the Brooklyn Bridge rather than under through the Holland Tunnel (long-term memory). So we save a half-hour on traffic and drove through 3 of the 5 boroughs only to find a street fair along Waverly Place in front of the hotel. So, we found our intended parking garage two blocks away and jettisoned the SUV to the street smart guy who was happy to park it deep and forget about for a few days. Only two blocks and we had packed light so we strolled over with suitcases through the food vendors and artists along Waverly. Hotel staff happily greeted us a little before 3 PM, heard at least 3 different languages immediately which confirmed WSH as a European traveler favorite, and ushered us to our comfortable room with a large bath, comfy beds/pillows, free wi-fi, and continental breakfast. Rooms are not large but adequate and well-maintained. Remember, it's location, location, location! We went for a walk in Washington Square Park (built for the100th anniversary of honoring our first elected president) and found a great place for fresh Italian hot chocolate with double expresso) and got re-oriented to the habits and culture of the CITY. Located between 6th (Ave. of Americas) and 7th, WSH is a great base to explore the Village or hale a taxi for downtown (financial district or the place where all our money got lost) or mid-town and fan out shop, search for food, clothes, fabrics (check out West 40th near NY Times building and the foodie places along 7th Ave or the high-end shops over on 5th Ave. Every block east-west or north-south is an adventure as the pulse of the city grabs you. Have fun! Oh, yea! NYC water (by aqueduct from upstate NY) is better than bottled, so fill up before you hit the streets.

Room Tip: WSH is 9 floors with 2 lifts (elevators). If you want a bit of quiet and a view of the village at roof top level, ask for a room on 7th or above.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelnfam105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

All the reviews about a great value and amazing location are true. We had the cheapest room, a Superior Double, which was more than adequate. Immaculate, and loved the vanity. Really didn't need anything else and we will book it again.

Still, if you need to be there more than two nights I'd suggest upgrading to a room with either more space, OR MORE IMPORTANTLY, a window looking out over the street. I needed to checkout or have some daylight shining in by then.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ski_Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The room is very big, and fairly nice. The bathroom is lovely. The staff in the breakfast room ignored us for 30 minutes while chattering amongst themselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Waverley Place -- it's quieter!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTNHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews