We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An almost perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CAlifornia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An almost perfect hotel”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Washington Square Hotel is a charming little inn across the street from Washington Square Park, right in the heart of the Village. It's impeccably maintained, with a pretty little lobby and well-appointed, if tiny, rooms.The room was quiet and featured an amazingly comfortable bed. It's definitely a good value for the money. Continental breakfast is included, and in New York City, that represents a substantial savings. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
There is no business center, so if you need a boarding pass printed, you'll have to ask the front desk, but they make up for it by offering free wi-fi. There is a small restaurant and bar off the main lobby, but in our three day stay we never saw it open. Instead, we were directed downstairs to a very nice bar/restaurant. My ONLY issue with this lovely hotel? The bar closes at MIDNIGHT. And they are very adamant about it - at 11:20 they start warning you about last call. In NEW YORK CITY? Not that there is any shortage of nightlife in the neighborhood, but still, we saw several very disappointed people drop in and be told that the bar was no longer serving.
All that aside, I loved this place and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SportsFan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    622
    165
    50
    26
See reviews for
269
533
111
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Right in the middle of Greenwich Village, just off Washington Square Park sits this small perfect hotel. Small rooms, great value, clean, and with simple style. Super friendly staff. It feels like you are living in the neighborhood. Near NYU. I think I will always stay there when Im in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

It's always an adventure and fun to drive into Manhattan, especially in the rain. Particularly true, when you place your trust into a GPS rather than rely on long-term memory. The GPS took us from NJ through Staten Island to Brookly and over the Brooklyn Bridge rather than under through the Holland Tunnel (long-term memory). So we save a half-hour on traffic and drove through 3 of the 5 boroughs only to find a street fair along Waverly Place in front of the hotel. So, we found our intended parking garage two blocks away and jettisoned the SUV to the street smart guy who was happy to park it deep and forget about for a few days. Only two blocks and we had packed light so we strolled over with suitcases through the food vendors and artists along Waverly. Hotel staff happily greeted us a little before 3 PM, heard at least 3 different languages immediately which confirmed WSH as a European traveler favorite, and ushered us to our comfortable room with a large bath, comfy beds/pillows, free wi-fi, and continental breakfast. Rooms are not large but adequate and well-maintained. Remember, it's location, location, location! We went for a walk in Washington Square Park (built for the100th anniversary of honoring our first elected president) and found a great place for fresh Italian hot chocolate with double expresso) and got re-oriented to the habits and culture of the CITY. Located between 6th (Ave. of Americas) and 7th, WSH is a great base to explore the Village or hale a taxi for downtown (financial district or the place where all our money got lost) or mid-town and fan out shop, search for food, clothes, fabrics (check out West 40th near NY Times building and the foodie places along 7th Ave or the high-end shops over on 5th Ave. Every block east-west or north-south is an adventure as the pulse of the city grabs you. Have fun! Oh, yea! NYC water (by aqueduct from upstate NY) is better than bottled, so fill up before you hit the streets.

Room Tip: WSH is 9 floors with 2 lifts (elevators). If you want a bit of quiet and a view of the village at r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnfam105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, CT
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

All the reviews about a great value and amazing location are true. We had the cheapest room, a Superior Double, which was more than adequate. Immaculate, and loved the vanity. Really didn't need anything else and we will book it again.

Still, if you need to be there more than two nights I'd suggest upgrading to a room with either more space, OR MORE IMPORTANTLY, a window looking out over the street. I needed to checkout or have some daylight shining in by then.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ski_Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The room is very big, and fairly nice. The bathroom is lovely. The staff in the breakfast room ignored us for 30 minutes while chattering amongst themselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Waverley Place -- it's quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTNHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Lovely little room newly refurbished and luxuriously decorated with taste. Extremely quiet because on the back. The corollary is that there is not much wind or light, despite the fact that I was on the 8th floor out of 9, so I had to leave the airconditionning on at all times, but you can’t have it all. Free WiFi in the room. Big enough safe in my room to store my small Vaio laptop. Sumptuous breakfast. They call it modestly: “complimentary continental breakfast” but nowhere on the continent you would find such a great breakfast. Everything you need is there: OJ, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, toasts and several kinds of breads, croissants… And of course the location, in the heart of the Village, straight at the corner of Washington Square.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cham0is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel

Property: Washington Square Hotel
Address: 103 Waverly Place, New York City, NY 10011-9194
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#149 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Hotel has provided a haven for writers, artists and visitors to Greenwich Village for more than a century. Today, savvy travelers enjoy stylish accommodations, warm service, fine dining and easy access to the best of lower Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Washington Square
Washington Square Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing