We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel. Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #37 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Fabulous, well located hotel. Very friendly staff, especially the concierge who was a great help in organising a theatre visit for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186478Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Thank you for your review; it is always a pleasure to hear feedback from our guests. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, property, and our staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,678)
There are newer reviews for The Iroquois New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,599 - 2,605 of 3,678 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at the Iroquois Hotel as a result of the hotel we had intended to stay at being booked out for 2 additional days we needed to stay in NY. The location of the hotel was the second most best thing about the hotel, the best was by far the service. The Concierge, Vanessa, was exceptional as was Theodora in the restaurant and the desk staff were also very good. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Unfortunately the hotel suffers from simply being a heritage building and as a result is very gloomy and dark. The bathroom is much smaller than we have ever experienced but that may not be out of the ordinary in New York and only one lift working meant continually having to wait . They have however done their very best under the circumstances to provide good quality linen etc. Our big disappointment was the hotel claimed not to have bed bugs and that is unfortunately not the case as I suffered from multiple bites in bed. Eradication of bed bugs is not easy, almost impossible and pest people just checking each week does nothing to solve the problem and it is rife in New York at even some of the best hotels.

Room Tip: I would think it is important in New York to have a room at the rear and high as noise is a problem...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterLeafMilham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Mr. LeafMilham,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad to know you enjoyed our service during your stay.
That being said, I was shocked to read of your claims of bed bugs at the end of your review. Please know we take these accusations seriously. We perform an extreme and thorough inspection when any possibility of bed bugs is reported to us. This procedure is done in addition to our weekly preventative maintenance. I am confused by your review as nothing was ever reported to us. Had we known about your bites sooner, we would have made the room you stayed in out of order immediately. Fortunately, no guest who has stayed after you has reported anything either. As part of our preventative measures though, we have arranged to have your room examined thoroughly by professionals to insure it is safe for future guests. Again, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, but we kindly ask you to please report matters like these as soon as possible in the future so we may take the proper steps to insure the safety of our guests. -Caroline Lakin, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel is small luxury hotel staffed by the most phenomenal people!!! From the time you to step on to the front door, check in, to time you get to your room the experience is truly outstanding. The conceirge staff, Sergio and Vanessa are incredible. They know you by name, they are warm and professional and cannot do enough for you just so that you can navigate the city well and have the best reservation at the best restaurants. The bell hop team are equally helpful topping off the experience in a memorable way. As it was raining one morning, the bell hop was quick rto offer an umbrella, which shocked me. Ireem at the front desk did everything to accomodate my requests of whuich there were a few of them. She was cordial, helpful and as accomodating as the circumstances would allow. The area is at the center of many poignant and great places in Manhattan. The theatre district was a stones throw away and shoppingall around you, Many convenient but elegant restaurant to dine and enjoy. I would stay here again for all the reasons sited but most importantly becaue of the fine staff

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabre144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your kind compliments of our staff, it is always very rewarding to hear that one’s hard work is noticed and appreciated. While our location is convenient and ideal for many travelers we strive to go above and beyond the many other hotels in the area. Thank you for your recognition and we hope to see you on a future stay.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Nice hotel . Got a good rate at 220 a night. Was here for play and broadway. Location is very good so good that cab driver refused to take us to play which was only two blocks away. Room is small especially bathroom but it's the trade off for being in the city. Parking garage across the street . Clean room with modern decor. No noise with the exception of a loud rude guest who was talking loudly in hallway at 5 am. Did not try hotel resturant because I didnt see anything I wanted but tripadvisor reviews are good. One flaw was I asked housekeeper who was in hallway for additional flat sheet and she replied to call later and that there was not any. I did call later in the evening and was promptly brung up. For the convience of being close to time square and broadway at the same rate I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

I'm pleased to hear you chose to stay with us for your theatre night in the city. I apologies for the noise in the hallway, we would have been more than happy to have spoken with the individual who was interrupting your evening. If an issue ever arises please do not hesitate to contact the front desk. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again on a future trip.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Located near the theaters and great shopping this hotel has been only perfect on every one of our many stays. The desk crew always remember your name and your preferences concerning the location of your room. we have requested early check in and we recieved that perk. The bellman have been at this hotel forever and for good reason-they know their jobs and are always up-beat. Now the rooms, we have always stayed in one of the suites which are spacious and comfortable. There is a sitting room, separate bedroom and bathroom with a spa tub and a stall shower. Did I mention the robes and slippers, newspapers and special stuff like berries and nuts, cheese, bottled water, chocolates that just "appear" in your room. When we bring our teenage grandsons we get a suite with an adjoining room for them and it is roomy enough for the four od us. It just does not get any better than this. We will be back in October.

Room Tip: There are nothing but good rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crab99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience; it is always a pleasure to welcome back frequent visitors, so I am just as pleased to hear your positive opinion of the property. We do our best to make a home away from home for our guests and I'm pleased to hear that we have succeeded in making your family comfortable. We look forward to seeing you in October!

Thank you again,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The Iroquois is conveniently located near the Theater District, but just far enough away from the noise of Times Square. The staff was courteous, friendly, and extremely helpful. The room was very comfortable and very clean; amenities were great - slippers, paper, and delicious treats (chocolate covered strawberries or cookies were waiting for me when I came in at night). The library up front spoke of another era, when hotels were more than just a bed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettenandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Thank you for you sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, I'm pleased to know that you found our property clean and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back on a future trip!

Thank You,

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our second stay at this ideally located hotel. The rooms are a good size (for NewYork), clean, quiet (we faced 44th). The staff are very helpful. Sergio, a concierge, was of great assistance; arranged transportation, restaurants, next visit we'll give him some notice and have him secure tickets to shows and our pickup at the airport. Most of our meals we ate, out but the dinner in the hotel was good; chef Jason came by with his personal touch. Morning coffee was available but perhaps an all day coffee / tea bar in the library might be appreciated. Only one elevator was in service while we were there but we weren't in a rush. One in our party checked before hand, bedbug registry. Iroquois, justifiably has a clean bill. Our group decided that NY will be an annual event and The Iroquois will continue to be our NY base.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

I'm very happy to hear we were able to welcome you back for a second stay with us at the Iroquois! Thank you for your suggestion of the coffee/tea bar, as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our service, as well as our property, such suggestions are most helpful. That is the very reason you found only one functional elevator during your stay. I apologize if it was any convenience for you but it will be much faster when the renovation is complete. Thank you again!

Warm Regards.

Kelli Phillips
Assistant Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#63 of 468 in New York City
3,225 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#103 of 468 in New York City
791 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#60 of 468 in New York City
6,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $306 - $747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing