We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveller rating
562
164
83
46
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
164
83
46
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper east side bemelmans bar elevator operator elevator attendants central park tower room new york madison ave hardwood floors iconic hotel elevator service home away from home luxury hotel living room four seasons higher floor few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
692 - 697 of 904 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in late september. The hotel itself is very beautiful. The rooms are very spacious and cozy. Everything about the hotel is trying to show it's class and it works. They even have men working in the elevator pressing the buttons for you (which I actually found annoying, especially since they only operate 1-2 elevators at a time instead of all 4 and sometimes you had to wait for the elevator a couple of minutes). The spa is nice. The location is spot on on upper east side and only few minutes walk to Central Park. The service level at the hotel is exceptional. This kind of hotel is perhaps not my first choice but I can understand why people like it. The biggest flaw was the sleep quality. Eventhough I was at the end of my floor I still could hear alot of noise during the night/early morning when people where walking to the elevators or their rooms. Considering how expensive the hotel is, not getting a good night sleep was a major let down.

All in all a nice hotel at a great location.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hundurinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I was on a business trip in New York which I combined with a family vacation, travelling with my wife, 3 kids and a nanny. The hotel is situated a block away from Central Park and along the shops of Madison Avenue. Our stay was great, the hotel staff really tried to look after us and surprised the kids with a special treat for Halloween, decorating the rooms with spider webs, pumpkins and the like. Best of all, when you're staying at the Carlyle, you have a porter in each elevator (which can be a bit slow when it's a busy time of the day), the Bemelman Bar had Paul McCartney show up when we were there, the Carlyle Cafe features Woody Allen performance every Monday. Rooms are good size for NY, although bathrooms only have one sink! I loved the hotel and will be back, very child friendly too!

Date of stay: October 2011
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mazy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Always a classic. Even interior rooms have alot of natural light. Wonderful beds. Great upper east side location. Feels like home.

Room tip: Stayed in 1 bedroom suite, with 2 bathrooms. Lovely interior room,
Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This was my first time staying at the Carlyle. As someone who loves walking, the location is perfect for walking to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park. Everyone from the front desk staff to the doormen were always smiling, helpful and friendly. The rooms could use a little updating but the bathrooms were gorgeous. Overall a fantastic stay and would definitely return!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We spent a romantic weekend at the Carlyle on recommendation from a friend who raves about their service. Even though we were primed to expect the best, the hotel exceeded our expectations in all categories. The Carlyle is a European-style hotel decorated with a perfect, elegant blend of modern and classic -- everywhere you look it is relaxing and beautiful (and their floral arrangements, including gorgeous live orchids, are from one of the finest florists in Manhattan). Every single member of staff we encountered was not just courteous and helpful, but genuinely friendly, and happy to go above and beyond. We had bad weather our second night and needed to run a quick errand a few blocks away, so we asked them to call us a taxi -- instead, they put us in the hotel's courtesy car. The next day, we were running late for an appointment and needed something picked up about 10 blocks away -- they went and got the item and put it safely in my room. Our waiter pointed out the charming details in the hand-painted wallpaper in the dining area. The elevator attendants and front desk staff remembered our names. These are all just small examples of the seamlessly fabulous service they offer. Our room was superb -- comfortable bed, good water pressure in the shower, spotlessly clean. Room service was excellent. The location was perfect for us as well -- a quieter part of the city right by Central Park. All in all, a dream.

Room tip: Choose a higher floor (and the proper side of the building) for good views of Central Park.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LiteraryChick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews