We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
547
160
82
46
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
160
82
46
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper east side bemelmans bar elevator operator elevator attendants central park tower room new york madison avenue hardwood floors iconic hotel elevator service luxury hotel home away from home four seasons living room public areas great shopping
Filter
Updating list...
659 - 664 of 883 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

If you are looking for a classic 5 star upper east side luxury experience - look no further. I always prefer upper east or SoHo locations when staying in New York. The Carlyle is my favorite NYC hotel. Whereas the Mandarin Oriental (second best 5 star in NYC) has got a fantastic location and nice rooms, the feeling of classic 5 star tradition blended with the difference in crowd means that the ambience is different in a positive way. From the head concierge that actually knows it all and has been around for a long time in the same hotel, bartenders that makes cocktails the hard way from scratch into perfection till the SPA that is somewhat smaller in size having been fitted into an old building, but designed by someone banned by any 5 star chain hotel due to their extravagance in spending cash on details - the hotel will impress you! Yes, some of the rooms are smaller than you might want, and some are older than I like (somewhat dated), but you feel good being there. There are lots of good local restaurants in the area that makes really good food frequented by locals rather than tourists and the hip crowd - the concierge knows them all...

Room Tip: Updated room with decent size
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gudleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Carlyle is one of the last classic, top drawer hotels in Manhattan. Built in the 1930s, the hotel is now a blend of Art Deco, 18th century French and expensive modernism that somehow all comes together to create a uniquely luxurious environment. I stayed here for one night through Amex Platinum Card Travel which meant I was upgraded to a charming room on the 21st floor -- with terrace! Not large but tasteful, quiet and very comfortable, with every possible amenity. (My only complaint: a hair dryer so loud I had to put foam stopples in my ears to use it.) Very polite and attentive staff, from the front desk to the elevator operators to the dining room waiters. I ate dinner here and had the best coq au vin I have EVER tasted, France included. You really do feel you are in 'the lap of luxury' here, luxury as it should be: tasteful, thoughtful and discrete. The Carlyle remains what upper class used to mean.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a tower room: quiet, light-filled and wonderful views.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivingWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have stayed in many hotels in NYC including the best reviewed and highest priced. The overall experience at the Carlyle is superior to any of them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sloan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel situated in the smart upper east side of New York does everything to restore one's faith in proper hotel management and attention to detail. Everything works the way it should. You are taken up and down in the lift by a smart bell boy and service in every way is what this hotel is about! The rooms are large with incredibly comfortable beds with soft pillows and lovely linen and you can actually see to read at night unlike some of these ultra trendy hotels where it is so dark you need a torch to negotiate your way to the bathroom.

We loved the bar area where you can have any form of meal or drink and the feeling is darkly Moroccan and very comfortable or the Cafe Carlyle where you have dinner and Caberet (if you are lucky Woody Allen performs) but if not, it's usually someone well known.

This is definitely our favourite hotel in New York and the surrounding area is great fun too - very good coffee at Nespresso a few blocks down from the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room to the side of the hotel which was extremely quiet and quite high up on the 14th floor
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gertrudeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I chose the Carlyle to propose marriage. What a wonderful evening we had -- the exquisitely appointed room with stunning terrace, champagne and strawberries, outstanding dinner and breakfast delivered to our door, bubble baths in the soaking tub, warm and friendly staff. All around a fabulous place to stay for a special night. And very gay friendly!!

Room Tip: If you're popping the question, ask for the tower room with the huge terrace.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleNewYork, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

From everyone here at The Carlyle, we wish you a heartfelt congratulations on your recent engagement! Thank you for allowing us to be a part of such a special event for both you and your fiancé.

Sincerely,
Erich Steinbock
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews