We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Avalon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$324
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$199/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dream Downtown(New York City)
US$339
US$318
Dream Downtown
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$162
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$180
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$251
US$220
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (878)
Filter reviews
878 results
Traveller rating
545
158
82
46
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
158
82
46
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper east sidebemelmans barelevator operatorelevator attendantscentral parktower roomnew yorkmadison avenuehardwood floorsiconic hotelelevator serviceluxury hotelhome away from homefour seasonsliving roompublic areasgreat shopping
Filter
Updating list...
626 - 631 of 878 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I agree with the earlier reviews. Being on-site over a weekend, with two wedding taking place, 90% occupancy, the hotel runs as smooth as silk. Having brides in the lobby simply steppped up the Carlyle's elegance factor. (It doesn't need much help.)

If you're thinking of staying in midtown, rethink that idea. NYC is hard work... you'll love coming back to the Carlyle and the 76th/Madison neighborhood. Everything is steps away, including the Central Park entrances off Fifth.

Thanks to Kim Manning, Director of Sales - who graciously meets your expectations. Don't miss the Gallery for lunch or afternoon tea!

Room Tip: Tower rooms are charming, although smaller as you reach the top of the tower. All rooms are unique.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbadiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We took advantage of a 3rd night free promotion and booked a room in the Towers on the 33rd floor.
The room was very quiet and comfortable and we had a fabulous view looking uptown and at Central Park over the roof of the Met.
The staff is fantastic, very attentive and friendly, but understated. Even though the Carlyle is known as an old school New York society venue, we felt perfectly comfortable coming & going in sneakers, shorts & t-shirts for our afternoon excursions, while getting 'dressed to the nines' for our evening outings, ending with a nite cap at Bemelmans Bar.
Fabulous location - walk to Central Park, the Met & other museums, short train ride or cab to midtown.
We felt so at home we didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the Towers - the views are fabulous and there are only 5-6 rooms on each floor.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCtraveler1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our second stay at the Carlyle. We loved it. We had a corner room on the 8th floor. The room was impeccably decorated, immaculate and very comfortable. The staff was warm and gracious. The location provides an oasis in the midst of the city with easy access to everywhere. Just all very well done.

Room Tip: The corner rooms offer an extra window and more sunlight...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogi825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our first stay here having previously used the plaza and Pierre in new York.
Our room on the eleventh was very comfortable , the bathroom perhaps a little too small,after a days sight seeing it was so nice to come back to , a bit like home.
The staff are as pleasant and efficient as you could wish for, the breakfast buffet knocks spots off both the plaza and the Pierre plenty of choice , lunch in the gallery a rather jewel like area with
Excellent food , the gazpacho -much better than when we ever have it in Spain , the crab cakes
A particularly new York speciality , very good indeed, these two dishes we had nearly every day.
Then of course the dark and sexy bemelmans bar world famous , here it's forever night, with a
Pianist and band in the evening -fun.
Not forgetting the cafe Carlyle with it's cabaret , we were lucky to catch woody allens last night on june 18 , unforgettable experience in the delightful room with its pretty murals on the walls it's sharp service, and good food , not brilliant but acceptable.
The location on Madison is just right a step away to central park to the frick etc.
This is where to stay in new York .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanEastSussexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had the chance to stay in the City on a recent weekend and checked into the The Carlyle for the first time in about 10 years. It remains one of my favorite hotels. I had a north facing room on an upper floor in the tower with views of Central Park.

The room (queen bed with great linens) was modest in size, but comfortable. Furnishings might have seemed dated, but recognizing that much of it was Dorothy Draper allowed an appreciation of the classic look. Everything was impeccably clean. Bathroom was well appointed with toiletries from Kiehl's and the house bar soap that I instantly remembered from years ago. The bathroom had no shortage of mirrored surfaces (to the point of being a bit much). Closet space was abundent. Service was great, from the front door to reception to the maids, elevator attendants (!) and bell staff. Suit and shoes pressed and polished in short order on Saturday afternoon. Climate controls worked nicely. Only drawback: the obnoxious charge for WI-Fi access. At this price point for a room, Ido not believe that one should not be asked to pay. But I suppose at this price point, one should not be thinking too much about another $15 per day.

The hotel is well located at Madison and E. 76th. Not the best location if you want to do the usual tourist thing, but exceptional for shopping on Madison, access to Central Park (one block), museum mile, the 6 train at Lexington and E. 77th and only a few minutes walk to Sushi of Gari (not to be missed, reservations recommended).

Room price for the weekend was comparable to Four Seasons and Peninsula, and while those hotels are more modern and attractive in their way, the same price would have yielded me an interior or adjacent building view at those properties, and nothing can beat an upper east side location with a good view of the park for a fun and relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Splurge on the tower, north or south (not east) facing.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6101FCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews