We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveller rating
562
164
83
46
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
164
83
46
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper east side bemelmans bar elevator operator elevator attendants central park tower room new york madison ave hardwood floors iconic hotel elevator service home away from home luxury hotel living room four seasons higher floor few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
729 - 734 of 904 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My first trip to New York and this hotel definately catered to us. It was my birthday and received two upgrades and a note from the chef. This is definately upscale and fits the east side venue. There was coffee service outside the cafe for those early risers with a few mini muffins. A few mornings we just eat breakfast sitting in the lobby people watching. The fitness center is very adequate and the business center has both a mac and windows computers.

The front desk was very friendly. Everyone here knew who we were after the first night. The room was spacious, the bathroom large and the amenities top notich.

Great location to walk Central Park and the Museums. We walked only a few blocks down and caught the subway for a ride to China Town, Brooklyn bridge...It was only about a $10.00 cab ride down to Times Square/Rockefeller Center

Great staff and top notch service

Date of stay: February 2011
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I've stayed here five times. The hotel expresses the best of NY grace style, from the fabulous art deco lobby to the public rooms. Not too big but not boutique and with great staff, it's the best place to stay in New York (the St Regis is good to but not at all as personal or cosy).The rooms are spacious and well kitted out with lovely soap and toiletries. Try and get a renovated room - some of the basic rooms are awaiting refurbishing. It's expensive, but worth it; book a deal including breakfast and free internet (I like whatahotel.com) - you also save on rack rates and may get a room upgrade.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanosporumandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Beware the spider beetles in your bed at the Caryle. They look like bed bugs and they do bite. The one I found was examined by a "professional" and declared not bed bug. Took four days to be identified as said beetle, after repeated requests for information. 10 bites on torso and thigh.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shein_deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleNewYork, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

I remember your stay here and our conversation we had one morning in our lobby. Please allow me to extend my sincere apologies for the interruption you experienced during your stay. As you confirmed, the insect was verified by a pest control professional as a beetle. We apologize for the delay in obtaining the verification of the insect type from the pest control company and have personally requested that, in the future, they will respond to us within 24 hours of the service call.

Our goal is to provide you with exceptional service and to ensure each and every one of your stays with us is a most pleasant and memorable one. I regret we were not able to uphold that goal on this occasion as this particular issue is something we treat very seriously. We hope you are feeling better and we wish to thank you for your understanding in this matter.

Sincerely yours,

Erich Steinbock
Managing Director


We look forward to welcoming you back to The Carlyle in the not too distant future. In the meantime, if I may be of the slightest assistance to you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at (212) 570-7100.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2011

spent a winter's evening at The Carlyle...dinner at Cafe Carlyle, cabaret show and overnight accomodation...using major credit card reservation service, had early check in, late check out, spa credit and breakfast....caliber of service was outstanding from start to finish...hefty price tag but generally worth it....gorgeous room, fabulous table for dinner, incredible performance by cabaret singer, outstanding service from start to finish
one hitch: as hotel guest, surprised that we were hit up for 15.00/pp cover charge while standing at bar waiting for table (jazz trio on break) and were, subsequently, charged 30.00/pp to sit at table for 2nd round of drinks (this time, the trio performed)...our cover charge was greater than cost of drinks, as only 2 out of 4 had 2nd round.... ordered/picked up drinks at bar ourselves - no table service other than the bill being delivered to our table, with the added cover charge...just wasn't right...could understand if you were not hotel guest and stopping in for drinks...but, seemed excessive and definitely soured the feel of evening
if you are looking for a special place for special evening, the Carlyle can be the place - just make sure you've got deep pockets...
FYI: simple breakfast for two exceeded $85 -

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We spent 3 nights at this wonderful, unique, small but beautifully run hotel.
The service was exemplary.
The staff were courteous, attentive and friendly.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Old fashioned style (if only other hotels would copy this).
The lift attendants wore white gloves
The flower arrangements were superp.
The restaurants were fabulous,
The bar was atmospheric with a great pianist.
We experienced an utterly pleasurable stay.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madeleine_rijndorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews