We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #313 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Central to Times Square. Clean but small rooms. Ours was a little dated but I believe they are renovating the rooms. Bathroom small but clean. The staff were friendly and you have to show your room key before heading in to the elevator area. This was nice because it just added that extra bit of safety to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bubblyblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,542 - 3,548 of 10,092 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed at this hotel on our first ever visit to New York, my husband and I were a bit apprehensive after reading mixed reviews. No need to worry, lovely hotel, friendly staff.
The foyer of the hotel was beautiful, decor from like being in the era of the 40's-50's. The room was bigger than we expected after people telling us hotel rooms in New York was rather compact not in this case. Decor kind of was a bit dated but room was clean that's all that matters, the shower was really good lots of hot water and the pressure from it was exceptional as in other hotels I've been in the water from the shower just trickles out.
All in all if your looking for a clean hotel near to Times Square ( just a walk to end of street and you're there) this could be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank denwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Just come back from our stay for 4 nights at The Edison. All I can say is WOW!!!!!

On arrival, as it was our Wedding Anniversary we got upgraded to a Junior Suite which was fabulous. The reception staff were really helpful and polite and the Door Staff were absolutely brilliant.

Make sure you ask for a high floor!!!! On the next block is a fire Station!

The Hotel is extremely clean and the room was really spacious and had a coffee machine. And a HUGE bed which was amazingly comfy with the squishiest pillows ever!!!

The room did have Air Con but it was a little noisy for us so ewe unplugged it, but the room was still cool enough even though it was 85F outside at 10pm as the room didn't get any sun x

Location was just perfect!!!! Half a block away from the red steps in Time Square and for us, literally round the corner from the Theatre we had booked to see our Broadway show. It was a short walk to the nearest subway station but a very short walk to Time Square and 20-30 minutes walk to Central Park

There is a Cafe Diner, but we didn't use it.

The hotel shop is extremely well priced! We found it to be far cheaper for the same T-Shirts than in the Souvenir shops.

We flew in to JFK and then jumped on the Air Train up to Jamaica Centre and got Line E at archer Avenue on the Subway! The whole transfer for the 2 of us cost $15 and then it was a short 10 minute walk from the subway station to the hotel. Simple and very very easy.

Highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: High Floor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Was in this hotel for three nights .rooms are very small but finished very nice. The little cafe beside hotel is very cheap and food is good . It is right beside Times Square . Staff were helpful and gave a lot of info about the area. ( was in Vegas 4 nights the same week so maybe was a bit spoiled with the space we had in caesers palace ) overall a nice hotel

Room Tip: Inside rooms away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This older hotel is definitely one of the best. This is our second stay. Excellent is all ways. We enjoyed the free wine and cheese. The restaurant that is attached served very good food and definitely was a lot for the buck. Our four-day stay was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We paid ahead and head pizza every night. What a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

This is a GREAT place to stay in NYC! You are one block away from Times Square and the staff is as friendly as can be. They will even hold your travel bags after you check out of your room so that you don't have to lug then around the city with you before you leave to catch your flight. The only drawback is that the single full size bedroom was just that. A room with just enough room to move around the bed. I will definitely stay there again but next time I'll stay in a bigger room. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTurner72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

60 paces from Times Square! Convenient to everything you want to see the first few times: theater, hop on/off buses, great restaurants! Hotel was Deco style, had a cafe for eat breakfast and run. Deli next door. Our room was a bit musty smelling which we only noticed when walking in. The bed was actually "short sheeted". Now I know what that means. I uncovered it for the maid the next AM and it didn't happen again. Price was affordable. We were there to sleep, nothing else. It was fine.
There was a guard before the elevators who needed to see hotel key before passing to them.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank teenagerm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 471 in New York City
4,941 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,236 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#304 of 471 in New York City
5,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 471 in New York City
7,462 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#201 of 471 in New York City
9,992 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#183 of 471 in New York City
8,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $160 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing