We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but don't expect first class facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #313 of 471 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Booked this hotel as liked the idea of the 1930's Art Deco theme. But then 1930's should not mean run down. The general appearance of the room was a litttle tired. A lick of paint here and there and some general maintenance would not have gone amiss. The bathroom was basic although it looked like some mould in the corner on the ceiling. The shower did not always have hot water. It would also have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The beds were made daily and fresh towels provided. We only had breakfast in the hotel cafe which had a good choice and service was good. This hotel is ideal if you want to be close to the hubbub of Times Square and close to theatres. Our room overlooked the Barrymore theatre. During the night it could get quite noisy but we started to get used to it. Overall, this hotel is ideal for budget travel to New York.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank global-ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,229 - 6,235 of 10,102 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Edison Hotel. It is in an ideal location near Times Square however that is all it has going for it. It is a 1930's art deco style large hotel that has had little updating since. Our room on the 18th floor was small, dark and dingy. Bedding was creased and did not look laundered. No tea and coffee facilities in room. Electric sockets were black and burnt and there were trailing wires. Staff in Edison cafe were abrupt and rude. We were charged for viewing films in our room we did not view. I would certainly not return or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigmyle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Travellers that search a clean hotel in a low price in the center of New York, Edison hotel is a very good choise. I stayed there with my husband 3 years ago and we were very pleased as the hotel was near to everything. You can go to central park on foot, the metro station is next to the hotel, and u never feel alone because Time Square is always full of people.
The hotel room we stayed was quite small, without view, but it was cheap (110$ per night) and clean. We didnt stay in the room at all,only for sleeping, so we didnt care about the view. As I saw there were bigger rooms than ours but i guess they are going to be more expensive.
Anyway, if u need cheap,clean hotel in the center Edison hotel is the best choise.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anastasias22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Welcome to the City. The hotel is old but clean. The rooms are a little on the small side but hey this is New York. You pay for space to the max. But when you're in TIME SQUARE you don't stay in the room. The room is only a rest stop.

When I travel to a big city or popular destination I know the people who works there are providing a service for the money and if you're not spending money don't expect much more than the min.

The Edison is located in TIMES SQUARE, and the energy you feel being there is electric.
If you're looking for polished chrome fixtures in the bathrooms, microwaves, flat screen TVs, plush beds, etc...this isn't the place. It did have cable, not sure about wifi, etc....

The best thing we liked was the location.
Worst thing, we drove a car and parked our car ourselves, as a result we were responsible for getting our bags to and from parking garage, across and a short walk down the street

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbrown70731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

This is great hotel to stay in if you want a reasonably priced hotel right in the middle of Manhattan. Only a 2 minute walk from Time Square and a Metro station, the location cannot be beat.

The room was on the small side, but what do you expect in New York? Bathroom was clean and the maids did a great job everyday (clean towels daily etc). Very quiet for the location, did not have any problems sleeping at all. The people at reception were always helpful, so was the concierge.

We didn't eat at the Cafe as there are so many places close by that do good food. We tended to grab breakfast from 'Carve' which is a 2 minute walk on the corner of W 47th and 8th Ave - H&H Bagel with cream cheese and a coffee for $2 - you can't go wrong.

If you want a basic hotel in a great location at a good price then the Hotel Edison is for you.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rawkus02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

If you are a cost conscious traveler looking for a clean, comfortable room in a great location near Times Square, this hotel can't be beat. Our room with two double beds was simply furnished. The bathroom was quite small but certainly adequate. We ate breakfast at the hotel diner. Even though it was very busy, the service was fast and the food was good. This retro hotel is reasonably priced in an expensive area of New York. It is showing it's age, but it is still charming.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We stayed at the Edison for a few nights in April. It was adequate.
On the plus side it has an excellent location; it is relatively clean and safe and has a nice lobby. Others have commented that there is no security, but they now have staff at the lobby elevators at all times asking to see a room key before you can go up.
On the negative side, the rooms are VERY outdated and dingy. The couch was torn and stained, the carpet was worn and our curtains didn’t close. The shower felt like I was being pressure washed by scalding water. The staff at the café was very rude, I even heard other hotel guests mention the same thing!

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay in the heart of New York, this is it! Just don’t expect too much.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allen133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 471 in New York City
4,953 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,256 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#304 of 471 in New York City
5,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#183 of 471 in New York City
8,352 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 471 in New York City
7,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $141 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing