We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blakely NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #135 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bernalillo NM
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blakely NYC”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Based on a recent three-night stay, I give the Blakely an Excellent rating. It is a small, quiet, well-appointed hotel with first rate staff. The location is an easy walk to Times Square and the theaters (but away from the crowds) and a shorter stroll to Central Park, which provides walking access to the great museums. Critically, it is very near our favorite breakfast spot, the inimitable Brooklyn Diner on 57th. The staff were very friendly and cooperative. Our first room overlooked a noisy construction site but we were promptly moved to the other side of the hotel upon request. The rooms are spacious by NY standards and well furnished. The Blakely will be our first choice on future visits.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    549
    113
    30
    16
See reviews for
412
498
48
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braga, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I had an excelent stay in this hotel! Staff very friendly and helpfull, the rooms were very big, we were travelling with a 2 year old baby and had very good conditons to stay with her. Very clean. The hotel has breakfast included wich is vey good, but this is the only not 5 rating, as there isn't a lot of variety, just 3 types of bread and 2 types of cake and juice, but this is not really a problem, as there isn't lack of food.
The location is amazing, just 5 minutes from times square, 5 minutes to central park and Rockefeller center. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelderBCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel really exceeded our expectations. My husband and I started our honeymoon here before moving on for the rest of our trip. We arrived on New Year’s Eve at 10pm so we were expecting the hotel to be busy and staff to appear be hassled.

As we managed to get the room for a good price we didn't expect much so we really were surprised. We had an awful flight and felt very weary when we arrived so were relieved when we found the receptionist to be extremely helpful and the concierge was very friendly. The room was clean and spacious with wealth of amenities including an iPod docking station and a kitchenette with a microwave and coffee machine (perfect!)

We were based on the fourth floor and expected to hear a lot of street noise (it being New Years Eve!) but wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. The breakfast was basic but considering how rare it is to find a room with breakfast included, in a midtown location there was absolutely nothing to complain about. We had plenty of coffee refills, pastries, cereal and fruit which set us up for the day very nicely. I actually quite liked where we had our breakfast as it felt very cosy. The midtown location is spot on, few blocks down from Central Park and about a 15 minute stroll to Times Square so we were able to be part of the New Year’s celebrations. You would never get anywhere as friendly, spacious, clean and as close to the action in London for the price we paid. We could not have asked for more. A wonderful hotel, I highly recommend it and will definitely stay again on our next trip to New York.

By the way if you do stay here, there is a nice little art shop a few doors down worth a visit, a handy subway at the end of the street (which we didn’t use as wanted to walk everywhere) and a nice bar on the corner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Good location in midtown. The suites are spacious and good for family or group of friends at a reasonable price in a pricey town. Continental breakfast is included so you can start your day without looking for a place to drop $30 for a meal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Spending 4 nights in this hotel at beginning of round the world trip. Found the location unbeatable and price good. Staff have all been very helpful ie. blown light bulb replaced immediately and more coffee capsules arrived speedily so would recommend this small hotel. Other reviewers have commented about the lifts/elevators. In January this has been no problem, so no long waits. Others have mentioned breakfast which, I would agree, could do with a little improvement. It would be nice to have healthier choice cereals for example and a wider choice of fruit. The staff there have been fine, no rudeness but we did find the tip voucher a little strange.

My only criticism of the place is that it does look a little tired and dark. The whole decor needs subtle lifting, both the lobby and rooms. Ours was a good size, as was the bathroom so good comfort feeling here but I did want to take the decor by the scruff of its neck! It deserves it ....

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Langalenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSWEGO
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This hotel exceeds all expectations. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. Location, Location, Location. Half a block from subway. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrap53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is really pretty picky to mention, but the elevator service in the hotel is really a bit of a problem. During our visit, only one elevator was operating most of the time. You really had to add an extra 10 minutes to any planned meeting times!

Elevators aside, The Blakely is outstanding. Spacious, comfortable rooms, well decorated and comfortably appointed; modern plumbing and bathrooms; free wifi internet access with really good bandwidth; breakfast included; wonderful Midtown location on (by Manhattan standards) a quiet street. Back in the "picky" department, the bath towels will soft and fluffy could have been a bit larger.

The staff was universally thoughtful, responsive and available. I had left my iPhone in my room when I checked out. By the time reached the ground floor and before I had missed it, housekeeping had found it, called the front desk and brought it to me!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hct1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
1,665 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#178 of 467 in New York City
3,498 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#116 of 467 in New York City
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
2,755 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#142 of 467 in New York City
640 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#203 of 467 in New York City
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Property: The Blakely New York
Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing