We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value near Times Square and Central Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blakely New York
Ranked #135 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights in March 2012. The hotel is perfectly located, friendly, accommodating, & nicely appointed. The rooms are large and well supplied, with very comfortable beds. Cleaning service is thorough and helpful. All inquiries were answered with a cheerful attitude. We paid $225 per night which includes a continental breakfast ($2 tip expected per person). We stayed on a lower floor because of complaints about the elevator and street noise. We had no view, but we were usually only in the room at night when getting ready for bed. I have previously stayed on the upper West side for less, but the savings in taxi and subway fares makes up for some of the cost of the room. I would not hesitate to stay again. Only two drawbacks: the free breakfast was only average and the wifi internet is spotty and painfully slow. As for breakfast, I walked to the Westway diner (9th & 44th) about 1/2 mile away on two mornings and had an excellent NYC diner experience for $7.

Room Tip: Lower floor due to slow elevator.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bronson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
There are newer reviews for The Blakely New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Comfortable and cozy a small boutique hotel conveniently located in the center of Manhattan so it is east to get to anywhere from the hotel. This hotel is a quiet respite at the end of a busy city day. The elevators are a bit slow but the rooms are elegant and extremely comfortable. The rooms are small but wonderfully decorated and contain a small kitchenette type area with a sink. I have stayed here for years with my children and for us it is the perfect home away from home in a busy city like New York.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at the Blakely Hotel New York for 5 nights. This was a birthday trip with my partner. The Hotel is ideally situated on 55th Street between 6th and 7th Avenue. Times Square and Central Park are within walking distance and the subway and hop on hop off buses are right nearby too. We stayed on the 13th floor facing the rear of the hotel, you can hear the traffic but it didn't affect our sleep. The room had a mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities, also a microwave. The room was very clean and we also had maid service everyday. The only criticism I would have is that there wasn't enough wardrobe space, only one small area for hanging! Plenty of drawer space and also a free safe, ironing board, iron and hairdryer supplied. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and recommended a fabulous restaurant which we went to during our stay. The breakfast was continental but limited choice. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for a city break in New York.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor if possible
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheena1962_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This boutique hotel is charming and sophisticated. Centrally located, the decor is old world charm and comfortable. The bar and restaurant are cozy and the food and drinks are great! Our room, a one bedroom suite, was spacious, comfortable and very well appointed. We had room to host 7 for cocktail hour. The room had a mini bar area with sink, glasses, a few dishes and a microwave. The bathroom (and I LOVE a fantastic bathroom) was exceptional. The glassed in shower and marble tile were beautiful. We had 2 televisions, an extremely comfortable bed and the room was quite with very litte street noise (we were not on the 55th side of the building). The concierge staff was extremely helpful and accommodating!! Very reasonably priced. As it is an older building, the elevators are small and slow but, hey, we were on vacation! We would definately recommend the property and plan to stay there again!

Room Tip: Our room, on the back side of the hotel, was quite. We did not hear much street noise or anything f...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWeisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed there in May 2011 and came back with the kids in October 2011. It was a great experience. The room was big, nice w/ big beds, andthe bathroom is spacious. Staff was very good and ready to help. Locations is fabulous, probably the best thing about the hotel! You are a few blocks away from Central Park and all the best NYC corners!
Breakfast is honest, the room staff is a bit slow.
We would definetly come back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iholender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

1. Largest rooms in NYC
2. Great location in mid town
3. Affordable rates with the essentials included: breakfast & wi fi
4. Desk/concierge staff very helpful /Breakfast room staff is slow
5. Elevator is very slow

Room Tip: Ask for room on low floor because the elevator is very slow. Take the steps.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cargo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Blakely probably isn't for everybody but it was great for us! Our son was singing at Carnegie Hall and we sought a nearby location through Luxury Link. (By the way, we got a good price, bottle of wine and were upgraded to a suite through this website) My husband who goes NYC often in the advertizing business said it is the nicest and biggest room he's stayed in in New York. The kitchenette was a plus. The bathroom, lounge bed for our college age daughter, the comfort of the beds, staff, wi-fi was all exceptional. The concierges directed us faultlessly to Italian, Chinese, and American grill restaurants that we couldn't find in guide books that were delicious, reasonable and perfect! Location, location Location is right! The little lobby, no skyline and slow, small elevators all should be noted for people who are seeking these things in the Big apple. We met many loyalists who consider this part of the
Blakely experience and we hope to join them as repeat customers in future visits.

Room Tip: They started us on the 13th floor which smelled like smoke. We asked for a change and were pleased.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heartjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#113 of 468 in New York City
1,717 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#180 of 468 in New York City
3,539 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#118 of 468 in New York City
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,809 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#156 of 468 in New York City
643 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#191 of 468 in New York City
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blakely New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blakely New York

Address: 136 W 55th St, Bet. 6th & 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $318 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blakely New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Midtown Manhattan Central Park West, steps way from Times Square and 5th Avenue Shops. A 4-Diamond Property, continuously voted as one of the top independent hotels by US News & World Report - 2014 - 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Blakely New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blakely New York Hotel New York City
Blakely Hotel New York City
Blakely New York City
Blakely New York Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing