We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Ranked #152 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel was amazing. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are very clean and large. Three of us shared a king room with a sofa bed and were completely comfortable. Free breakfast every morning which includes waffles, oatmeal, omelets, fruit and many other items. The location is absolutely perfect for everything we did. It is steps away from Gershwin Theater where we saw Wicked. There are many great restaurants right around the corner in Hell's Kitchen and it is two streets away from the heart of Times Square. There is also a Rite Aid right next door. I will defintely stay here every time I return to New York City.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,614
    1,766
    384
    96
    48
See reviews for
2,080
1,254
187
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

This place was perfect for our trip. rooms were very clean and spacious, free breakfast, great location. everything was within walking distance and if it wasn't, the subway stops were just a couple blocks away. most of the staff was very nice. there were a few front desk people that just acted stuck up but lucky for them dumb people like that won't ruin my vacation. but the others were very helpful in recommendations of restaurants and tours. All in all i would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaMa6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denham Springs, La
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Can't beat this location . Easy walk to Broadway and Times Square. Friendly staff , clean and comfortable beds. Looking forward to visiting NYC again soon and will book our stay with this Hampton. CVS next door and a great grocery store less than a block down that we grabbed salad and soup from to eat in room before an evening show . We ate at Thalia twice and enjoyed it immensely , it is also about a half block away. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovejack02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

As the title suggests, we feel that this Hotel is very nicely placed for attractions, theatres and restaurants. One avenue from Times Square (and Broadway), you just simply cross the road, walk 250 yards and Times Square is looking at you!
The Hotel staff are very friendly and attentive, the rooms are absolutely fine - clean, tidy, decent size for a City Hotel and everything works well. Good continental breakfast is part of the deal and there is a good selection from fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, toast and sticky buns, waffles, scrambled egg and sausages plus decent coffee! A great base to stay at.
Plenty to do in NY? Second time we have been, but still left not seeing it all!
If you want a nice and easy way of starting off your visit and want to tour around some, then there is a Gray line shop just 3 streets down from the Hotel. Here you can buy 1-3 day 'hop on hop off' bus passes and they either run uptown or downtown. To start the uptown loop it is a few yards away from the shop, the other loop is from Times Square so it couldn't be easier. So a nice way to get taken around with very good commentary from a guy or girl on the bus delivered often with some good humour mixed in! So you can simply plan your visits around the relevant stops made by the buses.
We also used the underground/Metro which is perfectly easy to get you about - ticket machines are straight forward enough, but if in doubt there are plenty of people around to ask.
Then of course there are the cabs, got to be done! Just fling yourself out in the road a bit and you will get a cab OK and they were not as expensive as we thought they might be.
I am sure readers most probably know where they want to go already, but a few thoughts:
9/11 Memorial Gardens - very poignant and you cannot but help to be affected by it. We were in NY 4 years ago and at that stage ground zero building was going on, but still below ground. Now the new tower is looming over the skyline and whilst not finished, it is now taller than the Empire State building.
Once you have left the Memorial - Brooklyn bridge is across the road and is certainly worth walking across and good photo opportunities. Or get back on the bus and next stop is Wall Street and just below this is Battery Park. Here you can buy tickets to go on the ferry to Liberty Island and Ellis Island (it stops at both in the same trip). Of course the Statue of Liberty is iconic and a 'must do', but Ellis Island is also well worth a visit and the museum there is very interesting around the history of immigration into the United States.
You can also take the Staten Island ferry from Battery Park and this is absolutely free - so if you want to take pictures of the New York skyline or photograph the Statue of Liberty, then this is a good way of doing so.
Empire State building - you know you need to do it! I would personally buy a fastpass on the website as if you are limited in time this is a good way to sneak past big queues.
Rockefeller Center - well worth a whizz up to the top and there are some great views from there.
Central Park is lovely and you can't go to this City without a walk in the park! Zoo at the South East end, boating lake south west end.
There's loads more to do, but finally one other thing you should do is go to the theatre. This time we went to see Ghost (theatre just down the road) and it really was an excellent show. Very funny at times, sad at others but the special effects are stunning and you leave feeling you have been thoroughly entertained!
So, if you are going to New York - you will have a great time.
If you are thinking about it - for goodness sake just get it booked!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sandyman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Spent Mother's Day at this wonderful hotel with my family. So close to everything, amazing staff, comfortable rooms. We will definitely choose this hotel for our next trip to NYC!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at this property with a group of students. I was so impressed at the wonderful healthy breakfast offered and coffee and tea throughout the day with afternoon cookies and fresh apples.
The hotel is literally 3 short blocks from Time Sq and so centrally located to everything. Great location, great staff, very clean big rooms for NYC hotel.

Room Tip: All the room I saw were great no issues with the rooms whatsever
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schoolchef68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel was picked for several reasons that were important for our family. Location (close to Gershwin theatre with Wicked) and subway stations, free Breakfast (hot with plenty of choices), free 24 hr coffee/tea/hot chocolate and apples for snacking, Queen beds instead of double beds. Our family has 2 teens so breakfast saved us a bundle each day. Coming back to the hotel after our busy sightseeing days, the free hot drinks and apples were a welcoming touch. We also appreciated the queen beds instead of doubles which with teens sharing a bed is a must for keeping the peace. Next door to the hotel are plenty of food choices and a drug store for things forgotten. Laundry mat down the street was helpful when drenched with tennis shoes at Statue of Liberty (45 minutes later and 6 quarters problem was solved). Hotel was even able to accomodate a late check out after they checked their schedule when we asked them. We were able to leave directly from hotel to airport which was a nice way to end our stay since we were exhausted. No complaints.

Room Tip: We loved 3rd floor so when elevators got busy we just ran down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moosers1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,440 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#224 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#139 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,205 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#163 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Address: 851 Eighth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Times Square location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including daily hot breakfast, Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North is a newly renovated, contemporary hotel with ideal Times Square location that is steps from Broadway theaters, Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, TKTS discount theater ticket booth, The Museum of Modern Art, Carnegie Hall and Restaurant Row. Located on Eighth Avenue at 51st Street in the heart of Times Square, the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, lively nightlife, shopping and New York City’s best sightseeing. The hotel is close to all major subway lines, a few blocks from Jacob Javits Convention Center and Port Authority Bus Terminal plus is convenient to all (3) area airports.The hotel features 300 oversized, modern guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, lap desk, large work desk with ergonomic chair and Cloud Nine, the Hampton Bed Experience. COMPLIMENTARY, HOT BREAKFAST is offered daily to each guest plus On the Run Breakfast Bags™ are available from the front desk Monday through Friday, for guests who are “on-the-go.” Additional complimentary amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours per day, local telephone calls from guestroom and complimentary USA Today® (Monday through Friday). Hampton Inn® Manhattan Times Square North also has a gift shop and full-service Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk onsite. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Valet parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. 24-hour Security onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Inn Times Square North Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn Manhattan
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Times Square North
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing