We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful NYC hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #75 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Sanctuary Hotel. The room was lovely and comfortable (typical for New York, the rooms are small, but adequate). This is by far the quietest New York hotel room I've ever stayed in. I go to NYC to go to the theatre and shop, and this hotel is located close to everyplace I wanted to go. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I definitely plan to stay there again, and would give it my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcdeVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Here at the Sanctuary Hotel New York, the goal is always to create a tranquil, discrete retreat from the hustle and bustle of New York City, creating an atmosphere where every guest has an opportunity to experience their very own "sanctuary".

We are happy to hear that you will be back and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,165 - 3,171 of 4,117 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

A two minute walk from Times Square but, once inside, it provides true sanctuary. Good subway links and close to 5th Avenue shops etc. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very clean and comfortable with iPod dock, flat screen, free wi-fi etc. Good shower in en-suite bathroom. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paperondepaperoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate when guests take the time to write a review about us. It motivates us to continuously do better, so that everyone can experience even more of what we have to offer.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

From Magda in reservations, to Mr. Schwartz our concierge, to Rudy & Olga behind the bar, & Vivienne at the front desk, Sanctuary was just that, a place to get away, relax, & enjoy.

Cheers,

- Sebastian.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perolta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Magda, Jacob, Rudy, Olga and the lovely Vivian will be very pleased to read about your comments.

Thank you so much for posting a review about us. We hope to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I read the reviews prior to booking a room so I wasn't surprised by the tiny room size. Even though the reviews of other visitors commented on how great the staff is .. I wasn't prepared for HOW great the staff is!! They made our stay extra special! They all pitched in with comments and 'lessons' on how to get around NY using the subway system. It was a wonderful experience. I would stay here again .. in a NY second!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

I'm really happy that the staff was able to exceed your expectations. That is simply the best compliment that one can receive. I hope that all your future stays with us will be just as memorable.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I spent 4 nights and 5 days at Sanctuary Hotel. I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in the Hells Kitchen/Times Square/Theater District vicinity. Gorgeous chic boutique hotel, it had (or will have) all the amenities of a larger hotel, with a more personal feel. The concierges remember your faces (and your names!), and there are more than a few cuties. The staff was overly helpful, recommended fabulous dinner ideas and offering to make reservations, snag a cab, etc. The beds are extremely comfortable and the the rooms were very clean.

The only suggestion I would make for Sanctuary would be to place a mirror somewhere in the room other than the bathroom. There were three ladies staying in our room total and getting ready was a bit of a hassle because the mirrors were only in the bathroom. But that is very minor and wouldn't sway my decision to stay there again.

I wish I could have stayed after the roof top bar and restaurant were completed, however, I fell in love with Sanctuary, its staff, and location! It's a must stay!

Room Tip: My first night I stayed in a room with a window facing the streets below. The next nights our window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about us.

We are so glad you all enjoyed your time here with us. The goal is to always create a unique and memorable experience at the Sanctuary Hotel and we are happy to have achieved that.

I'm sorry that you were not able to experience the rooftop lounge yet, but we will be opening next month. We hope to see you soon, so that you can experience even more of what the Sanctuary Hotel has to offer.

Warmest Regards,

Jeremy Poon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This is a lovely hotel in the midst of everything - but quiet because it's on a side street. The staff is excellent! They are in the midst of renovations but you really were unaware unless you looked because there was no noise when we were around. The rooms are very small, but very well appointed except for lighting at the bedside - it was hard to read but they are addressing that problem. We had more clothes than the drawers could hold but endless hangers were available (what I might normally put in a drawer I hung instead). There is a continental breakfast for every guest - quite extensive I might add. The lobby is comfortable and there is wonderful music in the background. We were able to walk everywhere and when we couldn't, a cab was easily hailed for us. We were celebrating our anniversary and we were made to feel special. We will return to this hotel

Room Tip: I did see another room which had windows and was more spacious - but perhaps it would be noisy. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judieb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

We are glad that you chose the Sanctuary Hotel as the place to celebrate your anniversary.

Many guests such as yourself are surprised by our complimentary breakfast. Especially when they see that it is so much more than your standard continental breakfast buffet.

We hope to see you again soon, so that you may experience even more of the Sanctuary Hotel.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

When you book a room in NY, you really never know what you will get but from the moment we arrived, I was glad we were staying at the Sanctuary. The doormen were friendly and helped us every time with our luggage, the door and helpful hints about NY. The front desk personnel were courteous with greetings and needed information. Though the rooms were small (and no view), the décor was new, inviting and the space was well utilized. With free Wi-Fi and breakfast each morning, the price was well worth it. The ladies in the breakfast room were especially nice. Several times I saw people arrive as they were closing the breakfast room down and they would smile, set up a table for them, and make sure they were well fed. I once commented on how good the bagels were and one of the ladies ran to the back and returned with a few bagels for me to take home. And lastly, you cannot beat the location of the Sanctuary. It is ½ block away from the TKTS booth (1/2 price tickets, day of show), 5 minute walk from almost all the plays and across the street from a small grocery store (for all the essentials). Loved our experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you had an opportunity to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast. The breakfast attendants really pride themselves on creating a welcoming environment while making every effort to provide the best services possible.

We hope to see you return in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#68 of 470 in New York City
3,280 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 470 in New York City
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#88 of 470 in New York City
479 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#28 of 470 in New York City
2,437 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $287 - $727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing