We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was excellent, great location and one of the few hotels that offers free breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Service was excellent, great location and one of the few hotels that offers free breakfast!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a long weekend getaway in New York. The location of the hotel was great - one minute walk to Times Square. Make sure you book a Deluxe room or above, as we booked a Standard Queen and the room was really small. When we asked the manager if we could change rooms, we got a free upgrade to a Deluxe room which was much more spacious! We were very grateful for this. The service was prompt and the newly renovated hotel is very appealing. One of the few hotels in NYC that offers free continental breakfast with your booking.

Room Tip: Book Deluxe or above, as standard rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
It was my pleasure to be able to assist you.

We try very hard to ensure that everyone is comfortable with their stay. We also make every effort to maximize the use of space in all our rooms, while keeping in mind, that the goal is to create a warm, inviting and comfortable atmosphere.

Many guests do like the additional space in our deluxe rooms and I'm happy that you had an opportunity to experience it.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,601
    1,089
    243
    69
    27
See reviews for
634
2,070
144
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just returned from our trip and stay from this hotel.
Excellent service, really helpful staff and the most comfortable beds you can ever imagine. Great location for the major attractions, but they are happy to guide you to the more resonable locations in Brooklyn, Soho and Greenwich.. The staff are a credit to the hotel and standards are first class. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireblackthorn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sanctuary Hotel on tripadvisor.

Many guests such as yourself really enjoy the comfort of our beds, especially having the pillow-top mattresses and Frette linen sheets.

We hope that your next visit with us will be even more enjoyable.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have not stayed at the hotel, yet ... so this is a review of the awesome hotel bar. First and foremost, the reason why the bar is amazing is because of the bartender Rudy. I have been there many times and every time I go I am greeted with a friendly smile and a delicious drink. I feel that having a great bartender can make or break a bar, and Rudy MAKES this bar. He is friendly and courteous and is always good for conversation and a stiff drink. Don't know what you want? Let him know what you like and don't like, and I promise he will make you the perfect drink. They even have a great happy hour. Wine, beer, mixed drinks, you name it. And 100% try the truffled potato chips, yum yum yum yum. Located right by times square and rock center, without the annoying touristy crowd, this is a bar to stop by. And I believe they are opening a rooftop bar .... rooftop bar in midtown? YES PLEASE! Stop on by, you will probably see me at the bar chatting with the amazing bartender and drinking delicious drinks. Be sure to ask for Rudy, you will be happy that you did.

Cheers!

Nicole

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for such great feedback about our Bar/Lounge.

Rudy will be so excited to read about your comments.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bend, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The staff at the Sanctuary Hotel were the friendliest and most helpful hotel staff I have ever had. The location was wonderful. The decor has a Spa quality......very pleasing. I shared a room with my two twenty-something daughters. All of the mirrors were in the bathroom, so getting ready to go out was a little crowded. Loved the rainfall showers. The beds were extremely comfortable. I would heartily recommend this hotel while staying in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaPeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We are very happy to know that you and your daughters enjoyed your time here at the Sanctuary Hotel.

We would love to see you back with us soon for another visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Huntington
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed at Sanctuary last summer! The staff were very welcoming and the rooms and decor are fabulous! I cant wait to see the finished package! I plan on reviewing them again this summer! I am looking forward to seeing their rooftop bar! This is an amazing HOTEL. Please keep me on your mailing list, looking forward to staying with Sanctuary again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILLGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for this "Amazing" review of us. The staff will be delighted to read about your comments.

Should your travels bring you back to New York City, please think of the Sanctuary Hotel.

We hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The major pluses:

+ Location is excellent, between the 6th and 7th avenues, very close to Times Square, a few minutes walk from the MoMA, Rockefeller Center, Bryant Park etc.

+ Very, very stylish boutique hotel with a lounge bar atmosphere, reminiscent of the Buddha bar and similar places. The lobby and bar area, with the fire place etc are really beautiful. The facade and hotel entrance is quite impressive too, especially at night when illuminated.

+ The king bed rooms are very nice and OK in size for NYC, at least those with a front view. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived and we were upgraded to the suite on the upper floor - which is fantastic (too bad we could only get it for the first night - we were ready to pay almost any surcharge to keep it).

+ Rooms are well equipped, with iPod docking station, large flat screen TV, light dimmers, safe, etc.

+ They have very, very nice and spacious showers.

+ They have a good, complimentary breakfast buffet and happy hour at the bar from 5 to 7pm.

+ And last but not least the staff is one of THE BEST I have had in any hotel. Extremely nice, friendly and helpful. Some do speak French. They were kind enough to lend me a laptop to do my online checkin for my next flight, and they printed the boarding passes for me at the reception.

... and a few minuses...

- Some rooms are really not so nice! We had originally booked a room with two queen beds, which was very small, was located in an annex and didn't have a true window - only a small translucent opening allowing dim daylight to enter the room - very depressing. Luckily the helpful staff was able to move us to a king bed room with a street view, which really saved our stay! We thank them again.

- The bathrooms open directly to the bedroom and can only be isolated by a curtain. You may like it or not...

- Some details: I couldn't find the bathrobes avertised on the web site, nor slippers, nor complimentary water in the room. And only the suite had a coffee machine, and even there it wasn't a real espresso machine. And the housekeeping staff seemed particularly parsimonious with the resupply of small amenities like soap and shampoo...

But provided you get the right room this is a really great place to stay - the "boutique hotel" concept at its best!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view! And treat yourself to the suite if you get a chance (there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lablanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We always appreciate when guests of ours take time out of their busy schedules to post such a wonderful and detailed review.

I'm very happy to hear that you had the opportunity to experience our suite and the upgraded amenities of our deluxe rooms. We make every effort to maximize use of space with all our rooms. Not all of our rooms have a front view of the street, but we try to make it up with a innovative, warm and inviting design. The most important detail is to ensure that our guests are comfortable. Our unique glass-encased showers are usually a well accepted feature of our rooms, especially with the rain-showerhead fixtures that most guests rave about.

In efforts of contributing to being more eco-friendly, our housekeeping staff are trained to conserve and not let anything go to waste. All additional amenities are always readily available upon requests.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to see your return to the Sanctuary Hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

great experience -was prepared for the smaller room (it is New york) but it was so luxurious and comfortable -from the moment you enter the hotel attention to detail -great location named perfectly

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us on tripadvisor.com.

We are sorry to hear that you were only able to spend 1 night with us. We would love to see you back soon, especially when the rooftop lounge opens next months.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#60 of 467 in New York City
3,195 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#24 of 467 in New York City
2,376 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 467 in New York City
384 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 467 in New York City
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of multiple hospitality awards including International Hotel of the Year at the European Hospitality Awards, the Sanctuary Hotel is a leading Manhattan Lifestyle design hotel that delivers a unique approach to service that is beyond expectations with Sanctuary Hotel very own S.T.A.R. Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. Sanctuary Hotel New York is conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym Passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing