We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in the heart of Midtown Manhattan”
Review of Hotel Stanford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Stanford
Ranked #309 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of Midtown Manhattan”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and is always proves to be one of the most inexpensive rooms in Manhattan. Even during the summer they seem to have great rates that beat seemingly any of the competition in this area.

Although it doesn't look much from the outside and even the lobby, the rooms are always clean, and also a fair size, which is unusual for this area. The staff are mainly Korean, as this is the heart of Korea Town, and they are always friendly and very helpful.

A light breakfast is included and is served in the attached coffee shop, which is really not much more than bagels, (which are delicious!), muffins, toast, buns, fruit, oramge juice and coffee, but honestly what more do you need for a day's shopping in NY anyway!

If you are looking for a great litle hotel in amongst some not so great ones, at affordable prices this is definitely one to try!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    777
    326
    85
    62
See reviews for
358
546
69
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sonhomeu
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This may be the best deal in all of NYC! Located right between Macy's and the Empire State Building in midtown, the Hotel Stanford is a true gem. My parents are still raving to everyone in Texas about their awesome stay at the perfectly located Hotel Stanford last fall. Excellent service, rooms much bigger than the NYC standard, breakfast being included, cleanliness standards above and beyond the call of duty, in addition to the ideal location, all combine to make the Hotel Stanford my favorite hotel in NYC!

Room Tip: We were on a lower floor which was nice so we could take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sonhomeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Perfectly located in hectic Midtown (and with 2 blocks from the Bolt Bus stop from DC). The staff is very friendly. There's one slow elevator. The breakfast is included in the lobby cafe but it can get crowded and you'll have to wait. Basic continental offerings but much needed in pricy NYC. Room has no view but with mini fridge, safe, iron and large clean bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McCandlessBus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The hotel location is its biggest advantage. Located in the Garment District near Herald Square is where you wanna go for shopping and/or be in the center of everything. Times Square is 10 blocks away (a ten-minute walk) and there is a subway station less than 20 meters away (34th street - Herald Square) which is a main subway station with several trains running. The hotel itself is pretty basic but clean, comfortable with a friendly staff who are willing to help in any means possible. I was in the city for shopping and I had lots of stuff, they helped us with a vaccum cleaner to use for our space bags for several days. The rooms are a bit larger than those i stayed in other hotels in NYC. The bathroom toiletries are from Bed Bath & Beyond (i loved that!)The breakfast is pretty basic but so is that of all the hotels. Overall, i would recommend for anyone who wants to stay in a decent clean hotel in a great location but on a smaller budget than that of 5* hotels!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ETW_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porretta Terme, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The most valuable point is the perfect position, near Macy and the the Empire State Building, at walking distance from Times Square, beside two metro stops with different directions. We occupied a quadruple room that resulted very spatious and clean. The breakfast room is obtained in the cake-shop of the hotel, so the food resulted only based on bakery products and it may be not suitable for babies, however breakfast included in the price is a value in cental Manhattan. We confirm that the only lift may be not sufficient in some rush hours for an 11-floors bluiding.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bologna60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed at Hotel Stanford in December 2011 with 3 friends. We booked into the Delux Suite which sleeps 4 people comfortably.

Overall, I was extremely impressed with the hotel and it's facilities and found it to be very good value for money.

The hotel was easy to find and the staff were extremely polite and efficient on arrival. We were taken straight to our room on the 3rd floor. The room / suite was extremely spacious, with a seperate lounge area with sofas, a sleeping area with 2 extremely comfortable double beds and built in wardrobe and a spacious bathroom. The room was extremely clean and tidy, with a large flat screen television. My only criticism would be that the fridge did not seem to work, so it wasn't possible to keep anything cold or make ice cubes. Also, there wasn't a great deal of storage space for clothes etc and only a few coat hangers in the wardrobe, but this wasn't the end of the world. The bathroom was also very clean, with a bath and shower (combined), towels and toiletteries changed on a daily basis. Although I did not see the maid, the maid service was very good and we left a generous tip.

Being on the 3rd floor, meant that we did not have to use the lift, which was quite small but perfectly adequate. The reception area was pleasant and well maintained and door staff were very helpful.

The bar on the second floor was also very nice and decorated to a modern standard. It would've been nice if hotel guests had been able to eat breakfast in the bar area, but this wasn't possible. It was a nice place to go and chill out, with free WiFi, and tea and coffee during the afternoon. I didn't have a drink there in the evening, but I believe the drinks were a little bit expensive.

The breakfast area was a little on the small side, but we only had to queue on our first day and the wait wasn't too long. The breakfast is a bit limited, but it was included in the price and meant that we weren't having to look for somewhere to eat every morning and to be honest it was enough to keep us going until lunch time. They serve a selection of cakes, e.g. donuts and muffins, bagels and a limited selection of fruit (usually apples). Drinks included tea, coffee, fruit juice or ice water. It is all self service but you can help yourself to as much or as little as you like. You can't take food up to your rooms (there is an extra charge for this) so you have to sit at one of the tables to eat there.

The location itself is excellent as it is pretty much central to all the main attractions, with the Empire State Building literally a 2 minute walk around the corner. It's also very near to some of the main shops including Macy's 34th Street store and many of the main high street stores. There is a subway station on the corner which takes you pretty much anywhere you need to go, uptown or downtown and the 7 day subway passes are extremely reasonsable if you plan to use the subway a lot.

As for places to eat, there are plenty of places near by. I would definitely recommend Hartlands Brewery underneath the Empire State Building for a traditional American Grill experience. And if you're on a real tight budget, there are a lot of places where you can buy a slice of pizza on the go, or McDonalds, KFC and Subway all within walking distance. Being in the Koreon District there are also a number of Eastern European restaurants nearby. Dwayne Read (Convenience Store) is just a round the corner and is extremely useful for any bits you might need on your stay, from cosmetics to nibbles!

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and New York in general. Staying in a suite was probably better than staying in a standard room, which might be on the small side, but you should definitely give this hotel a go if you're looking for somewhere in a central location, reasonably priced and well maintained! It's not the Plaza, but I would certainly recommend it and would definitely go there again if I revisit New York!

Room Tip: If you want a spacious room go for one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KTReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were surprised to find the hotel and everything around it to be in Korean. The room was comfortable and clean. However, there is only 1 tiny elevator so you sometimes wait a long time. The breakfast offered is just very sweet pastries. There is a bar with half price drinks before 8pm. However, it was deserted most times. Friendly staff and great location. Don't expect to be able to get a taxi though. The street is very, very busy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank techgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#280 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#313 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
#239 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,327 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanford

Property: Hotel Stanford
Address: 43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001-3805
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanford 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing