We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than the first time!”
Review of Hotel Stanford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Stanford
Ranked #307 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Rio de Janeiro
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Even better than the first time!”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

In September 2011 my husband and I went back to Stanford and stayed for 9 nights in a brand new bedroom, very confortable, clean. They always treated us very well, always with a smile. We received a lot of packages from Amazon and they left in our bedroom. As we already knew, the location is excellent, Manhattan midtown, near all the subway options. Besides all of it, the rates are not expensive, considering the location and the quality. I recomend to all my friends and certainly I´ll be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniva_rj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    785
    329
    86
    62
See reviews for
362
556
69
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel was a very pleasant place to stay. It is right near Herald Square and Penn Station, so public transportation was a breeze. The room was comfortable and clean, and the hotel staff were uniformly pleasant and attentive. There is an ample and good free breakfast in the morning, consisting of bagels, donuts, muffins, coffee, and juice. It is all one would need for a stay in New York, and the price is amazingly reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TGH56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feenagh, county limerick
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here for my 40th b-day, for 4 days. 3 guys in one room , 3 girls in another, 2 double beds, in each.
Worked out well, great location regarding bars, shops, restaurants, subway etc.
St Patricks weekend.
Skipped breakfast every morning, went over to speedys, fresh juice is amazing.
Legends bar next street to catch the premier league, great bar!
2nd time staying here, would deffo recommend. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gortnagluggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and is always proves to be one of the most inexpensive rooms in Manhattan. Even during the summer they seem to have great rates that beat seemingly any of the competition in this area.

Although it doesn't look much from the outside and even the lobby, the rooms are always clean, and also a fair size, which is unusual for this area. The staff are mainly Korean, as this is the heart of Korea Town, and they are always friendly and very helpful.

A light breakfast is included and is served in the attached coffee shop, which is really not much more than bagels, (which are delicious!), muffins, toast, buns, fruit, oramge juice and coffee, but honestly what more do you need for a day's shopping in NY anyway!

If you are looking for a great litle hotel in amongst some not so great ones, at affordable prices this is definitely one to try!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonhomeu
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This may be the best deal in all of NYC! Located right between Macy's and the Empire State Building in midtown, the Hotel Stanford is a true gem. My parents are still raving to everyone in Texas about their awesome stay at the perfectly located Hotel Stanford last fall. Excellent service, rooms much bigger than the NYC standard, breakfast being included, cleanliness standards above and beyond the call of duty, in addition to the ideal location, all combine to make the Hotel Stanford my favorite hotel in NYC!

Room Tip: We were on a lower floor which was nice so we could take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sonhomeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Perfectly located in hectic Midtown (and with 2 blocks from the Bolt Bus stop from DC). The staff is very friendly. There's one slow elevator. The breakfast is included in the lobby cafe but it can get crowded and you'll have to wait. Basic continental offerings but much needed in pricy NYC. Room has no view but with mini fridge, safe, iron and large clean bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McCandlessBus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The hotel location is its biggest advantage. Located in the Garment District near Herald Square is where you wanna go for shopping and/or be in the center of everything. Times Square is 10 blocks away (a ten-minute walk) and there is a subway station less than 20 meters away (34th street - Herald Square) which is a main subway station with several trains running. The hotel itself is pretty basic but clean, comfortable with a friendly staff who are willing to help in any means possible. I was in the city for shopping and I had lots of stuff, they helped us with a vaccum cleaner to use for our space bags for several days. The rooms are a bit larger than those i stayed in other hotels in NYC. The bathroom toiletries are from Bed Bath & Beyond (i loved that!)The breakfast is pretty basic but so is that of all the hotels. Overall, i would recommend for anyone who wants to stay in a decent clean hotel in a great location but on a smaller budget than that of 5* hotels!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ETW_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#291 of 466 in New York City
2,531 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#242 of 466 in New York City
2,298 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
#296 of 466 in New York City
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#320 of 466 in New York City
2,715 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 466 in New York City
788 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#269 of 466 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stanford

Property: Hotel Stanford
Address: 43 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001-3805
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stanford 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing