We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,780)
Filter reviews
1,780 results
Traveller rating
364
875
374
100
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
875
374
100
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bagels penn station the empire state building korea town great location around the corner new york times square free breakfast slow elevator herald square twin beds stayed here for nights tea coffee small fridge same block budget hotel
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,780 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

Visited this wonderful city last year in June.
Check in was very smooth. Very helpful door man.
But I was very disappointed with the room size. I requested a room on a higher floor which is what I got but with very bad WiFi connection and a small bed.
Best part is the location as you can get to anywhere you want without any trouble.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Enrika Love L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanfordNY, GA at Hotel Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Dear Enrika

Thank you for sharing your experiences with Hotel Stanford. We appreciate you chose us, and we are glad to know our staff were helpful. We were disappointed to hear that room size was not ideal, we would try our best to accommodate your request. Thank you for helping us improve, and we look forward to host you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

I have mixed reviews about this motel and it's management relating to my overall experience..... Would I stay here again? Probably not because I think there might be better alternatives......

Our flight into New York from LAX got cancelled due to bad weather. We arrived into New York the following day and proceeded to Hotel Stanford and was told that as we were "No Show's" there was no room available for us. Every airport in the NYC district had cancelled their flights. If I ran a motel and had a whole lot of "No Shows" I would put 2 and 2 together and wait till the next day for people to arrive and not just cancel their bookings..... LUCKILY for us.... Hotel Stanford were extremely helpful and upgraded out double booking to a King Suite. I think we were the extremely lucky ones and anyone that tried to check in after us got refused accommodation as there were no rooms available even though they had booked.

The staff are all very friendly and Extremely helpful

The rooms are very basic. Very comfy bed. Very small fridge. If they added tea and coffee making facilities and a microwave in the room it would have been ideal. The last night we got moved to a Queen suite - the room was very spacious and bathroom renovated but the bed was made not well and we had to continue to get up during the night. It was like the bed was made with flat single sheets

Breakfast is very basic with tea and coffee. Cereal and bagels with coffee and juice. No bacon and eggs but at least it's something to kick start your day.

The hotel is in a pretty ideal location. It's a short walk to Penn Station and Times Square.

It's got free WiFi. It's a bit slow.... But it's free (faster if you want to pay for it).

With a few minor changes this could be an excellent motel.....because we got well looked after I would give it 7/10 only because they luckily accommodated us as a "No Show"

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanfordNY, GA at Hotel Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Dear Robert

First of all, thank you for sharing your experiences with Hotel Stanford. We are proud to hear that our staff were friendly and extremely helpful that accommodate you to upgrade your room. We are trained to satisfy our guests needs as much as we can. I also a little regretted to hear that the amenities is less than ideal, but we appreciate your feedback very much. We are thankful for all the issues you pointed out for us. Thank you for help us improve, and we look forward to counting our advantage, and resolving our shortcomings. We hope you have a great day, and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018

We knew the hotel from 2 previous stays in 2009 and 2011 and it has steadily worsened over the last 9 years. Unfortunately in the last year only the hotel lobby and the adjacent hotel bar and restaurant had been renovated, the rooms are pretty old and rundown. The information in the hotel guide in the rooms regarding the hotel facilities are not updated, so i.e. the TV program channels are no longer correct and you can not learn how long and where breakfast is been served because there is still the breakfast room indicated that it was before the renovation ..

The headboards on the beds were peeled off, black hair (daily new) were on the beds and in the blankets. NO HEATERS IN THE BATHROOM (PRETTY bone-chilling in the cold(er) season) and the window was taped with blue duct tape but despite of that the room was clean.

Air con can not be adjusted precisely despite a thermostat. Our bathroom door could not be closed because the frame was warped. Our complaint was received in a friendly manner, but it was not until next morning and after my repeated demand that someone was sent to look at it. According to this handyman, the warped frame was caused by a water damage in a room one floor above ours 14 days!!! ago and he really did his best to fix it. Our request for another room was rejected politely but firmly.

Some members of the reception team speak very bad English.

The complementary internet is too slow and does not work reliably. This is not acceptable in 2018 and charging a fee for faster and more stable Internet is just profiteering. NY City's on-street internet was MUCH faster and more stable than the one provided by the hotel.

The breakfast is typically American with cardboard or plastic crockery and cutlery and very very monotonous. Every day there are bagels, cereal, milk, orange juice, water, tea (peppermint and chamomile, (There was only one tea bag of Earl Gray tea on the first day and has never been replenished), apples, bananas, yogurt, coffee, cream cheese, butter and a single sort of 'jam' -Grape Jelly. I was in the happy situation to like Smucker’s Grape Jelly ... my partner unfortunately NOT!

Dear Hotel Stanford..I would very much LOVE to help as a consultant in terms of breakfast !! Only 20% improvement in the direction to European breakfast standards would certainly be a tourist magnet !! I also like to help with the updating and restructuring of the 'wine bar', where there is provided daily free tea and coffee. Feel free to contact me maybe we together achieve the 4 th star!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Great spot.Hotel has one lift so be prepared to wait.Breakfast boarding but plenty of places to go to eat near by.Rooms are small so booked a suit which was a great size.Bar upstairs should be held just for guests so you can find a seat.Staff definitely not chatty at the bar here.No the friendliness hotel but location makes up for it.i would book again due to location.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank teresah207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanfordNY, GA at Hotel Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Dear teresah207

Thank you for leaving us this detailed review. We appreciate that you are satisfied with our room size, and we are grateful for your feedback on our breakfast and lounge bar. We are regretted to hear the inconvenience that you have met, and we aim to improve our service for the best hotel experiences. We look forward to having you again in the future for a better experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018

This relatively small hotel suited us perfectly and was fantastic value in Jan/Feb. We paid a total of £165 (including taxes) for two nights for a double room (very good size) with good bathroom, free breakfast (cereal, bagels, muffins etc), and free wifi that actually works. It's not the swankiest hotel in the world but it's clean, friendly, and brilliantly situated for tourists - 2 mins walk from Macy's 10 mins from Times Square and central for going downtown or uptown. There's a comfortable lounge, with complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits during the day, which turns into a bar at night. The Stanford was a great find and we would definitely go back.

Stayed: January 2018
3  Thank suzcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStanfordNY, GA at Hotel Stanford, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Dear suzcad

Thank you for leaving a detailed review for Hotel Stanford. We are very pleased to know that you are satisfied during your stay. We aim to provide the most affordable price and most comfortable accommodation for our dear guests. We are proud to hear that you have enjoyed our room amenities, breakfast, and lounge room. We are grateful that you have chosen Hotel Stanford for your stay. We look forward to hosting you again next when you are in New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews