We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of NY history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #195 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Adams, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A piece of NY history”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The Algonquin is a funny place, there is a tremendous amount of history here, evident by the traditional furnishings in the lobby. There is custom wall paper in the hallways of New Yorker cartoons featuring The Algonquin. The bar is swanky and fun - the kind of place you wouldn't be surprised to see a celebrity or politician in the corner (not that we did). The gin and tonics met the higher end of NY pricing, but they were strong and welcomed on a hot summer day. The lobby/lounge was to feature an evening of song by noted (rising?) opera singers, which we missed because we had plans - but I bet it was great!

I was surprised (even though I shouldn't have been) at the number of languages spoken by the staff - this is an accommodating group. The bellmen allowed us to borrow an umbrella, which was very nice.

The odd part of the hotel is the rooms - they have a more modern feeling to them. The furnishings feel out of place, and too 'young', like if you let your 13 year old daughter decorate a room in her grandmother's house.

But, hey - you don't go to NYC to stay in your room, so I say, "who cares?"

The plumbing is antiquated.

Easy walk from Grand Central, not too bad to get to the theatre district. Even if you don't stay here - it's worth stopping in!

Room Tip: Higher rooms would have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    690
    204
    111
    66
See reviews for
296
840
126
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

very old. Everything seemed old. rooms are tiny. And did i say old.
clean but old. no problems with service.

Room Tip: ask for a good room. thats how
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManiBagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Elegant, festive ambiance for Thanksgiving/Christmas. Quiet, cozy rooms. My husband & I enjoyed our 5th stay w/in 2 years. Our package included a full, scrumptious breakfast that was served quickly and perfectly by Chuck when we explained our rush to meet family for the Thanksgiving parade. Coffee refills were prompt & plentiful. We enjoyed the "Algonquin" & "Matilda" cocktails that also came with our package in the classic, elegant lobby. We especially enjoy seeing so many veteran employees each visit and learning their history & sharing family stories. It is a testament to management that employees stay for decades. Jeannie at the desk is always in a good mood & quick to advise of new restaurants & local activities. As always, Edwin at the front desk is top notch w/ impeccable service, kind words, & outstanding attitude. He took us on a tour of the gym and other areas we had not previously seen. The location to Grand Central,Times Square is a huge plus. We walked the see the Hugh Jackman play, Central Park ( definitely eat at The Boathouse), and 5th Ave shopping. Those other guests who have long lamented the decor of the rooms will be happy to know the hotel is CLOSING for several months for total renovations ( yes, plumbing, bathrooms too!) We are confident that the upgrades will be classy and in keeping with the heritage of this important landmark. We are hopeful the crown molding and antique sconces in the lobby get to stay.Unfortunately, the best part of the hotel and the true reason we stay here ( Matilda, the famous Algonquin cat) was banned by Mayor Bloomberg's administration during our stay. Matilda is as famous a tourist attraction as is Lady Liberty or the Empire State Bldg. and brings $$$$$$$ to NYC. The hotel markets her important status through packages that include a replica stuffed cat. She even has a book written about her legacy. The Algonquin has a history of feeding starving artists, writers and cat rescue. The Algonquin graciously hosts an annual Matilda party raising thousands of dollars for helpless animals that is covered by local & national news. Who is next to be banned , Eloise at the Plaza? The Algonquin staff has remained quiet and classy regarding this somewhat ridiculous situation. Touche to the NY Post & NY Times for covering the story. Bravo, Edwin, Jeannie, Gary, Chuck and staff for all our wonderful stays. We will be back to our new rooms and our lovely visit with Matilda next year

Room Tip: Ask for quiet, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zazafras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I love NYC & I love History....put these two together and you get The Algonquin! The Algonquin is rich in history, Style & class. The location is great. Close to Broadway. The only NYC Location I know of where you can enjoy a 5 star dinner and take in a fabulous show at the same time! The decor is classic and some of the rooms hardware & bath styles are classic which make the stay nastalgic. If you go ou must try the signature "Algonquin" Cocktail made famous by the the round table in 1920's . If you find the review helpful let us know!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neduardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Yes, it's true the rooms are small, but this hotel is full of history and charm. Beware of the drink prices; ask for a drink menu so you'll know what you're getting into ($20 per cocktail). It's worth it to have one drink in the lobby, take in the decor, and do some people-watching. The bed was very comfortable, with nice linens. The location is great if you're going to the theatre, and it's also easy to walk to Grand Central Station.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPCV8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This is the hotel of choice for me when I stay in NYC. It has such rich history and such wonderful character but on my most recent stay there [12/8 - 12/11], I must say that they failed miserably especially given the price - around $600/night with all fees/taxes/services charges tacked on. The doormen were rude; bellhops absent; seating in their renowned restaurant and bar pitiful. I will have to take a second thought when I go back in February. They are planning on closing down for renovations for a very short time after the Holidays and it appears that they've already shutdown with their service. I was extremely disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators and stairs -- more toward the "wing" parts of the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folly Beach, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This hotel gas some of the most helpful and courteous employees in NYC. The building is full of historic charm. The restaurant is very good, especially the weekend brunch. The standard room has only a queen bed, pretty small, but elegant. Nice window seat, upscale amenities. The best location you could have for theatre, shopping, nightlife, a short 2 blocks to Times Square. I would absolutely go there again,

Room Tip: Ask about a nice street view, we looked directly into an office building across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
3,615 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
2,207 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#120 of 467 in New York City
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
2,344 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 467 in New York City
6,431 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing