We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Mediocre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #363 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
410 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Perfectly Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel because it was associated with the Marriott chain, and because it was in the neighborhood where I needed to be for business. It describes itself as a "high personality hotel" that has recently undergone a "stylish multi million dollar transformation". That makes me worry about what it used to be like! I had an Executive King room that was like a slightly enlarged prison cell (and yes, I am used to traveling in Europe and NyC where rooms are generally smaller). The front desk staff were busy joking around with one another when I arrived, so even though therenwerenfour people behind the counter, there was one person being helped and three of us waiting to check in. The room is small and there are scuff marks on the walls, and other than a lovely looking bed and headboard (prominently pictured in the photos) the rest of the room is out of the fifties. There is a window that looks directly out at a brick wall 2 feet away. There is no concierge level and the elevators are slow and small so that only 3-4 people can get in them at once. It has some old world charm, and the price was not outrageous but me thinks one can do better by way of both rooms and service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenCullen9, Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Greetings, crkport –

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Carlton. I sincerely apologize for the lack of customer displayed by our front of house associates. We have addressed this concern though re-training. The hotel does not have a concierge level as is not a Marriott hotel. We are however excited to be a member of the Autograph Collection which is an affiliate of Marriott and as such we are able to provide our guests with the benefits of the Marriott Reward’s program. We are a franchised property whom maintains our own independence and identity.

Warmly,
Stephen Cullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    800
    373
    182
    116
See reviews for
319
760
144
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have stayed at the Carlton several times. It has a very nice lobby and facilities. and the decor is very nice and modern. We were recently booked through my husbands company for one night at a very good rate. The room seemed smaller than we have had in the past and I asked if we could get a larger room. Despite having this low rate they upgraded us to a very large room with a king and a sofa and chair and a very large bath room. Though the hot water faucet did not work very well and the shower head kept turning towards the wall.
Also coffee is available 24 hours on the mezzanine. Unfortunately 6am is not the time to get some. It was cold and old.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchessnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

On my last visit to NYC I stayed at The Carlton Hotel which is part of Marriott's Autograph collection. As with many of the Autograph collection hotels, it is a classic hotel with lots of ambience. While the rooms are small, they are very nice. I'd have to say that they're as quiet as any in Midtown at the 10th floor level, and both clean and well laid out My particular room had a seperate tub and shower and was quite spacious for Manhattan. The lobby is charming (yes, down a flight of stairs), and the on site dining was great. Although I had issues as I was using Marriott points for my stay, the staff did their best to accommodate my needs. Door/bell staff was fantastic when I needed a cab, and assisting with an umbrella.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

From the minute I walked into the lobby, I was treated with special care and received great service. My corner room was lovely. BUT - holy street noise, Batman - the hotel was built at the beginning of the last century, and it is quite apparent that the windows have not been updated since then. After many years of traveling to NYC, one does expect a certain level of noise - sirens, horns, revelers - but this felt like we had left all of the doors and windows open. And, on the topic of windows, there was a window INSIDE the bath/shower combination, which was blocked by a large mini-blind, which is ok but - yikes - rust and - just yikes. Not a good idea.

Having said that: we experienced wonderfully clean, well-kept, accommodations and a lovely bed with luxurious linens; super fluffy pillows; good lighting; easy to operate ac/heat; had breakfast at the nice restaurant in the building; and the Carlton is just two blocks away from one of the greatest restaurants in Manhattan, Hillstone, on Park Ave. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. (Marriott - please - just invest in some 21st century windows, and we would be ecstatic.) Love the Molton Brown amenities, too.

Thanks for reading this review - hope that enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and buy ear plugs. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopgirlblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Carlton Hotel in NYC is a classic hotel that has been updated. While the rooms are small, they are elegant and the hallways are quiet and nice. The lounge is a wonderful place for a drink. The lobby is charming. When you enter the hotel, you are surprised to see stairs leading down to the check in desk, but there is an elevator to the right that you can use. It seems many people miss that. The hotel is in a good location for either midtown or the village. Staff work hard to accommodate guest needs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtw
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I would have given this hotel a poor review if I were anywhere else besides New York. The rooms are small which is to be expected but the walls are paper thin. I've stayed at the Renaissance Hotel 57 in Midtown and it had more ambience. The Marriott Marquis has larger rooms with less noise above the 30th floor. But the Renaissance Times Square is my favorite! I checked in at 3am and I wasn't offered a platinum arrival gift. I'd have forgiven the desk clerk if the other people in my party were also forgotten, but I was the only one. There was a half filled glass on my desk and an ice bucket full of water. The shower had an open bottle of hair conditioner and a used bar of soap. One robe was neatly tied but the other was thrown over the bathroom hook like it'd been worn. I would have switched rooms but I was tired from traveling. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leondrataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised.....the hotel was a convenience choice being close to the office that I visited, but no regrets for that choice. I checked in at 8am with the expectation that they'd offer to store my bag, but instead they made a real effort to find an available room and upgraded me to an available Executive Room. Everything in my room and hallway seemed well maintained and working, traditional with some modern twists here and there.
My room was very quiet towards the back with windows at two walls, the bed was very comfortable and it's an absolute bonus that this property offer free wifi as standard amenity for all. I will certainly come back to this hotel and can recommend without hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOZBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#290 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,198 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#298 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#327 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Green Hotel in New York City
#194 Family Hotel in New York City
#210 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
#229 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A midtown Manhattan luxury boutique hotel located near the Empire State Building, Union Square and other New York City attractions. Offers vacation packages and special offers, as well as meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel New York City
Carlton Madison Avenue
Carlton On Madison Avenue Hotel
New York Carlton
Carlton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing